We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay - would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coachman's Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Coachman's Inn to your Saves list
Coachman's Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   San Carlos Street, Between 7th and 8th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Second Night Free!
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Livermore, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay - would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Location is great. We had a deluxe king room which was a nice size and included a fireplace facing the bed. The room was clean and nicely appointed, although the carpet could have used either a good cleaning or updating. The staff was courteous and accomodating. The breakfast choices were limited, but it was delivered to the room. The room included a Keurig coffeemaker which is a step up from the standard drip coffeemaker. We had a room on the top floor. I would recommend that as the rooms below us were situated over the parking. I would also recommend that you ask for a room off the street (San Carlos) to make it even quieter. We never heard our neighbors. There is construction next door, but since we stayed on a weekend it wasn't an issue.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We love those Keurig coffee makers as well - finally, hotel coffee that you can actually drink! A quick note on carpeting - we have plans over the winter to do a soft goods renovation that will remedy some of the wear issues. One of the things about being so popular is that there is a constant need to replace and replenish and we feel blessed to have owners that don't mind spending money on upkeeping the property to high standards. Please come back and join us next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    50
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
21
88
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jundiai, Brazil
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Carmel is so pleasant to be that anyplace will be good.
Coachman's although has a cozy atmosphere that makes you feel home instead of at a hotel, the location is perfect and the staff very kind.
The breakfast is tiny but delivered to the room in a very funny recipient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thanks, Luiz. When you come back to the States, please see us again! Carmel is such a charming town and you could spend a week visiting the surrounding Monterey Peninsula and not see and do everything.

Karen, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed for one night travelling along the coast. Friendly staff. Clean newish rooms. Only down side was the building works going on. Breakfast is a little limited. Quite expensive but then Carmel is not cheap. Receptionist helpful and recommended a good restaurant to eat at, Basil,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. We do wish the construction was not taking place but around town there are always building renovations taking place (part of Carmel life I suppose). Building takes place only on weekdays from 8a-5p. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and Basil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is an excellent place to stay near downtown Carmel with access to shops and short drive or long walk to the beach.The room was very clean (a bit dated) the staff courteous and accomodating. At the time of our visit there was construction on an adjacent property and that noise was distracting but started at about 8 AM and ended after 5 PM. I found this to be the only real negative aspect of our visit.
The property accepts dogs but requires notice for certain rooms. I accept this policy for the comfort of all. We would have brought our dog had we known. The website where we found this property and booked the room stated "no Pets" but the manager assured us they just need notification should guests bring their dog/s.
We loved this Inn! We will return - sometime soon.

Room Tip: Parking IS an issue. It is first come first served. If sold out the parking will probably be full on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! We are currently refreshing our rooms heading in to the Fall/Winter as we continuously make upgrades to the comforts of the hotel. Yes, parking can be difficult at times at most Carmel hotels/inns due to the small nature of our town (just one square mile in size) but there is always a place to park on adjacent streets. Please come back and see us soon!

Karen, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The location is perfect, and the team at the motel is very nice and hardworking, but they are held back by two major issues. First, the rooms (or at least ours - located on the ground floor near the office) need some TLC. The room and bathroom felt old - but clean - and could use a renovation or at least furniture replacements. Second, the hotel is unlucky to have new construction right next door. While the works didn't happen during our sleeping hours, they make it unpleasant to be at the hotel during the day (nap time). The motel has great potential, and after the construction is finished, the owners should put some money into the product.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
We are sorry to hear that your stay did not go well. This is a review of the caliber we have not received in over four years so we take it very seriously. On a positive note, we are currently ordering items for a soft goods renovation that will begin this Winter. Owning a successful hotel is all about continual upgrades which we are fortunate our owners have always been willing to do. You are right about the construction next door (not associated with us) which has been proceeding quickly. Please contact our front desk if you plan on spending a lot of time during the middle of the day and we can provide items to conceal the noise (fans, white noise, etc..). Construction takes place during daytime hours and concludes no later than 5 PM. Thank you for your stay!

Kindly,
Karen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Don't get put off by the chintz and flowers.

We booked this hotel when we arrived in Carmel as it was central location. We saw the signs and pulled over so we didn't have the chance to review the hotel in depth.

We were made to be very welcomed and just as we arrived the cookies and cider came out. We were shown to our rooms which was on the first floor and as we walked out of reception the hotel looked pretty with all the flowers boxes in bloom. The exertnal passage was spotless and most rooms had different types of chairs which you could sit out on.

The room was spotlessly clean. In all the hotels I've ever stayed (many of which are 5*) I don't think I've ever stayed somewhere so clean. The room was an excellent size with a good and new bathroom. The rooms also had shutters which made the room beautifully dark.

There is a spa and sauna on site, you have to ask at the desk for the code and then you can have that space to yourself for an hour.

There is also a large terrace which has table and chairs which to sit out on and we enjoyed drinks in the evening there. At one point a humming bird hovered over our table - that was a sight to hear and see.

We originally only booked into one night at the hotel but we enjoyed Carmel so much and the hotel was spot on we choose to spend an additional night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad that you decided to stay for more than one night as there is so much to see and do on the Monterey Peninsula. Many of our housekeeping staff has been with us for 10+ years and they take great pride (as do we) in the hotel.

Karen, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Coachman's Inn has a lot going for it. Rooms are nice for the price. The location is great- but not right now. The reason is that there is construction going on next door, making for a lot of noise between 8 and 5 weekdays. The price really should be adjusted for this, or at least people should be informed of the issue when booking. I say this as a former executive with over 20 years experience in the resort business. Bottom line, good choice for the weekend. Weekdays not so hot if you like to sleep past 8 am. Also, the breakfast in a bag is very sub standard at this price point.

Room Tip: There is no room that can escape the construction noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. Yes, we do have a small structure going up next door to the inn. With most of Carmel there is typically some type of small renovation or construction of a home in several places around our small town. We do apologize for the noise. As part of their permit, they do need to keep construction between the hours of 8 AM and 5 PM on the weekdays. Most of our guest tend to be out sometime between 8:30 - 9:30 AM to head out for sightseeing (downtown shops, beach, over to Monterey or down to Big Sur etc...). We wish there was no additional noise but unfortunately beyond our control. The efforts next door should be done fairly shortly.

Kindly,
Karen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coachman's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman's Inn

Address: San Carlos Street, Between 7th and 8th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coachman's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coachman's Inn has 30 spacious, comfortable rooms, a friendly, knowledgeable staff, and thoughtful amenities. Guests appreciate all these attributes, but perhaps most attractive of all is the location. Step out the front door and the charm of Carmel-by-the-Sea is in every direction. The white sand beach? A five-minute stroll. The Sunset Center, Monterey's premier arts venue? One block away. Boutiques, restaurants, galleries and wine tasting rooms? You're surrounded! One of the newest locations to be added to the Four Sisters Inn Collection, the Coachman's Inn resembles more of a small hotel than a bed-and-breakfast inn. Guests enjoy a light Continental Breakfast each morning brought directly to their guestroom. Romantic escape or girlfriends' getaway, the Coachman's Inn has a guestroom that is just right. Each of our newly updated rooms features a private bath, and king or queen bed with luxurious linens. Some rooms offer two queen beds, or inner doors connecting two rooms - perfect for families or friends traveling together. Some rooms have cozy fireplaces or jetted spa tubs. Our innkeeper will help you select the guestroom that best suits your needs. Rates include: -A Light Continental breakfast delivered to your room each morning -Large, flat-panel television and DirecTV service -Wireless Internet service -In-room Keurig coffee maker, mini-fridge and microwave -Two plush, cozy bathrobes and signature amenities -Freshly baked cookies each afternoon -Use of hot tub and dry sauna -Onsite or convenient street parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coachman's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman`s Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coachman's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.