We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good burger at a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 400 Degrees Gourmet Burgers & Fries

400 Degrees Gourmet Burgers & Fries
Mission and 7th, Carmel, CA
831.244.0040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 152 restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout
Description: 400° Gourmet Burgers & Fries features mouthwatering handcrafted burgers and fries using only the best ingredients and cooked to perfection on our custom cast iron griddle. Other menu options include housemade seasonal sodas, shakes, scrumptious salads and a large selection of artisan beers and wines. The restaurant’s dramatic, modern interior offers combined counter and table service indoors or outdoors on the dog-friendly patio.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good burger at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were tired of the fancy restaurants and 400 Burger was an excellent alternative. Cute retro décor, order at the counter, and its brought to your table. Pretty good burger and fries. we were there late and no many other customers, but the place was clean and servers were friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

56% Recommend
    23
    19
    13
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oberlin, LA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Burger Joint in ritzy area, not common”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Visited during our visit to Carmel, CA on September 1, 2013. I felt the food was overpriced, but inline with other parts of this high dollar town. Typical burgers and fries. Nice location and clean building. Will not return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayshore
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great burger and beer special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Went all around town trying to find good burger and beer place and found 400 degrees.
Had tv's , quiet, not many people, but cool atmosphere, and nice service from the guys. We both had a great burger, plentiful fries, and they TOLD me there was a tap beer special on the Heineken, right up my alley, think t was $3 each, nice. Lots of places don't bother telling u and unless u look closely u never know. (Hooters in Hollywood). Really liked it ther. Had shakes too but didn't try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not so Much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a Groupon so we gave it a shot. While the food was above average, except my husband did not like that his burger was sloppily put together with all the ingredients globbed on one or another part of the burger, the service was just okay. When we arrived with our dogs, it is advertised as a dog friendly restaurant, the first thing gentleman at the front said/asked if they were service dogs? What? No greeting, they are little dogs, no vests . . . OMG Also we were told to get our own water - again What?

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Decent atmosphere for overpriced mediocre food - not worth stopping by.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Unlike other reviewers, I felt the service was decent. However, the food was definitely overpriced and burgers lacked seasoning. I joked that my husbands bubba burger grilled at home had more taste! I had the Kobe burger and didnt really like it. My husband had the signature 400 degree burger which was slightly better but still lacked seasoning. The decor is a modern version of Johnny Rockets. It's great for families but not a good value. Two burgers, a milkshake & fries plus tax & tip is about $40. I dont usually judge food on price if it's tasty but in this case, its definitely not worthwhile for average food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 400 Degrees Gourmet Burgers & Fries also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to 400 Degrees Gourmet Burgers & Fries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 400 Degrees Gourmet Burgers & Fries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.