We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service and generosity in a very quaint inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Verde Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Monte Verde Inn to your Saves list
Monte Verde Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Monte Verde St at Ocean Avenue, PO Box 394, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing service and generosity in a very quaint inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We booked the Monte Verde Inn at the last minute, and only mentioned it was for our honeymoon in passing once we got there. Once they found out, Leora went out her way to make our stay very special. Not only was the suite upgrade they offered us amazing, they also offered us a complimentary bottle of wine to celebrate our marriage. Their service was stellar and family friendly. It turned out to be the perfect spot for us; an easy walk to town and the ocean, yet small enough to be personal and have great character. We couldn't have asked for a nicer honeymoon spot. We'd easily and happily recommend this place to friends and family, with the one exception that we hope it doesn't become overcrowded. This place serves as a shining example of just how far a little generosity and personal touch can go to make your stay truly memorable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    67
    15
    14
    3
See reviews for
29
148
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We came to this B&B though a Groupon or Living Social deal. Always had wanted to stay in Carmel and be able to walk to restaurants and the beach. This place filled those wishes . We stayed in room #12 in the back over the courtyard , which was small, but elegant. The bathroom was large , with a oversize shower and a bathtub. We did not get a chance to view any other room, but we were satisfied with ours and would definitely come back in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is a great little inn. We have stayed here twice now and will stay again. The beds are comfy, the rooms are clean and the staff is very accommodating and helpful. The breakfast basket, and the sherry are a nice touch. It can also be said that it is very central and reasonably priced for the area.
Thank you Leora

Room Tip: Try the family suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Live part time in nearby Pebble Beach and wanted to experience a stay in Carmel. Couldn't have picked a better place with over the top helpful and friendly staff (Leora and Lisa). Room was clean, cozy and quaint with french doors leading out to the deck. Falling asleep in a comfy bed to the sounds of the waves and dancing flames from the fireplace each night, made perfect for a good night's rest. Continental breakfast delivered at our door each morning was perfect. Great location with many fine restaurants and shops just steps around the corner. Will definitely stay there again and recommend this "gem" to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Such a cute and cozzy hotel. European/french style. The best was the bottle of wine and the little breakfast basket at the door in the morning, it was so good that we went to the same bakery afterwards.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The actual Carmel setting is a "5" and this room (#10) is about a "3.5" but it is, after all, in charming Carmel, in the very heart of it, for that matter. The little property consists of 10 rooms and the last 2 rooms (9 and 10) are in a small little structure that could pass for a big shed, lacking any charm whatsoever. The main building contains the other 8 and they looked far more interesting, at least it appeared so, from the outside.

Room #10 was roughly 12 x 15 feet, contained a king-size bed, 2 nightstands, a bench at the foot of the bed, one chair, mini cube frig, and electric space heater which is really needed in those chilly evenings. There was a small shower in a small bathroom. No dresser so pack lightly and rely on a suitcase. The closet is micro-mini and shares its space with that cube refrigerator. A small narrow table holding the coffee and sherry sits over the electric heater.

Sometime after 8 in the morning, a knock on the door announces "breakfast has arrived!" Inside the Easter basket there is a small bottle of juice to share, 2 yogurts, 2 bananas, and a bag of 4 breakfast bakery items. Coffee is in the room.

On Friday and Saturday evenings, there is a wine and cheese hour, but, as we did not find out about it until we checked out, there is no review here for that event.

Carmel is a little slice of paradise, measuring about 6 blocks by 6 blocks at its most significant core. For all the food, wine tasking, shopping, strolling, and enjoying you can pack into a full day or two, this location is pretty ideal.

In the "plus" column is the comfort of the bed, the quiet setting, and the decanter of dessert sherry provided in the room. A (provided) fire log in the outside fire pit is a great way to sit and enjoy the evening with other guests. The young man at the front desk was extremely helpful with his personal recommendations for places to eat (or to not eat). Also, the map he provided (www.carmeltreasuremap.com) was so very helpful. Located a short walk to the beach on Monte Verde and Ocean Avenue, this property is situated perfectly.

In the "minus" column: the room was pretty rustic, sort of a cross between a cottage and a cabin. The comforter and pillow shams have seen better days and would be considerably improved if the bedding was updated like shown on the website for the property (hotel style, scrap the "way-past-its-expiration-date" bedding). A little table for eating the breakfast treats would be helpful, too, but there are trays out on the back patio area and one of those works out well enough for breakfast (bring inside the room). The room had no microwave either. The inexpensive aluminum blinds in this room didn't look as nice as the wooden shutters we saw on the main house. This little shed-like structure is set up against another motel-like property. So, opening blinds is really not an option as people are passing by the windows all the time. The back patio could use a sweeping.

Maybe next time we'll try the main house.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Fantastic place -- the staff was incredibly nice and friendly. Thanks for all the chocolate Liora ;-)
The bed was super-comfy, the shower was really nice. Breakfast was a real breakfast -- not just bread and coffee. I am a yogurt eater, so was pleased to have yogurt at breakfast. Coffee was really good. Very quiet location for good night's sleep. Spent an evening by the fire talking and drinking wine with Dana and Pete and visiting with their dog, Cooper. Although dogs are welcome, don't worry if you're allergic. Our room was so clean that I had no reaction to any pets that have stayed there before. Ate breakfast on our private patio. Couldn't have been a better stay. Great deals from January - March (wish we could come back then). We were lucky to arrive before the Christmas rush (and highest prices). I'm not sure we could have afforded to stay there at that time.

Room Tip: All are beautiful. We especially liked #9 with its private patio and easy access to fireplace patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Verde Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Verde Inn

Address: Monte Verde St at Ocean Avenue, PO Box 394, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Monte Verde Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the famous artisan village of Carmel-by-the-Sea are two classic country-style bed and breakfast inns - Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel. Located in the Heart of Downtown Carmel- foot step's to the beach and moments away from World Class shopping, dining and local attractions. Each of our guest rooms are individually appointed with distinctive furnishings, warm cozy beds, and gas or electric fireplaces- creating an enchanted ambiance of romance and comfort. All rooms have a private bath, flat screen television, telephone, free WiFi, Gilchrist & Soames luxury bath amenities, hairdryer & iron, a decanter of our signature Sherry and Gourmet coffee & Tea's. A healthy light breakfast is included and delivered to your door each morning. Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel are ideal for romantic getaways, honeymoons, families with children, vacations with friends, personal retreats, and business travelers alike. Both inns offer pet friendly rooms. The location of these Carmel-by-the-Sea bed and breakfast inns is perfect for easy access to Carmel beach, the finest restaurants, unique shops and well-known art galleries. The majestic Big Sur and Point Lobos Reserve are just a short drive south; the opulent Pebble Beach is adjacent to the north. The magnificent Monterey Bay Aquarium is just minutes away! And there are at least 15 world class golf courses within a 10 minute drive. We welcome your visit to Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel - an extraordinary travel experience you will remember ... and aspire to relive often! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monte Verde Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Verde Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Verde Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.