We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Verde Inn

Save Saved
You added Monte Verde Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Monte Verde Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Monte Verde St at Ocean Avenue, PO Box 394, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 29 Carmel B&B and Inns
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is an amazing place, we have really enjoyed our stay here.. The room was perfect and very very clean, bed so very comfy, wifi, sherry, quiet and had a great nights sleep.. Defiantly 5 stars.. Thank you for a great stay..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    64
    14
    14
    2
See reviews for
29
143
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We chose Monte Verde inn for a one-night stop in Carmel based on tripadvisor reviews. The very pleasant young man at reception told us that our queen bedded room had been upgraded to a king size room, which was at the back of the hotel. In fact, we think it was once a stable. Although nicely decorated and appointed and very clean, with what was a comfy bed and reasonable shower room, the closet was filled with a small frig which meant we couldn't hang up the hanging suitcase we had with us (we were on our way to a wedding in San Francisco). The nice touch was bottle of sherry and sherry glasses waiting for us, but the breakfast the next day, delivered to our door at 8.45 as promised, was only a couple of cold pain au chocolates, some yogurt (which my husband doesn't eat) and a packet of craisins and a bottle of juice-drink. Not terribly appetising.. The receptionist did suggest some restaurants in town and we took him up on his suggestion, but the restaurant was pretentious, fairly expensive for what it was and overrated. More fools us for eating there. A big plus, tho, for this hotel, is the free parking and the position of the hotel which, as mentioned by other reviewers, is in the heart of the town and near the beach, and easy to find. It also has a pleasant little courtyard in which to sit and drink your sherry, but overall, we wouldn't return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I booked a night here for myself and my husband. We were living in Pebble Beach for a year and had always wanted to do a staycation in Carmel. Check-in was smooth and easy. We were given a bottle of wine and 2 wine tasting passes to Chateau Julien. We relaxed in our room for a bit and set off to be tourist in one of our favorite towns. Our bed slept very comfortably. The shower was nice and warm and the towels fluffy. Breakfast came to our room via a basket. It was all charming. We loved our stay here and if we ever visit Carmel again, as we have moved now, we would definitely stay at Monte Verde Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My then-fiance/now-husband and I were planning our June 2013 destination wedding in Carmel. In Aug 2012, we were looking for a hotel to block off a set of rooms for our guests. We looked at over 20 hotels/inns/cottages and felt that this was the best one that fit our needs and aesthetics. We were looking for a sweet non-cookie cutter hotel that had a little special something. As soon as we took a look around, we knew that this was the place. The rooms and courtyard were so charming, the location was amazing; close to the beach and downtown, the prices were reasonable, and the staff was incredibly kind and helpful. Leora, the manager, helped us choose rooms to block off and was always available and helpful to our guests as they booked their rooms. She was always prompt to answer our emails and any questions that we had.

We ended up booking room #11 for 3 nights. We're so pleased with the room.

The night before the wedding, because of some unexpected weather issues, we were not able to have our sunset beach bonfire the next day. Instead of having to cancel, we were able to have our bonfire in the courtyard at the Inn and it was really wonderful. The day after the wedding, they gave us a complimentary goodbye champagne brunch. It was beyond anything I could have asked for. The food was unbelievable (catered by Lisa) and they also had someone there playing guitar for us. There are not enough good things I could say about this place and the people who work there. They helped make my wedding weekend unforgettable. I can't wait to go back on my anniversary. All of our friends and family who stayed there also enjoyed themselves immensely. Even my tough to please mom was delighted. :)

Room Tip: Even though the Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel are all part of the same Inn, we definitely prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This place is a little gem. Reception staff were really helpful - great restaurant tips and Big Sur guide. The rooms were full of character and warming. It is right in the centre of town and eat to walk to the beach and shops. Free parking and a lovely breakfast basket in the morning with pastries, juice, fruit and yoghurts. We had 2 rooms and both were lovely.

There is also a seating area at the rear and if you ask they will put a log on the burner for a nice place to sit in the evening. When you are done here the beds are really comfortable with 'collapse into' mattress toppers.

If you need a place to stay in Carmel I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I could not believe how friendly the staff was! They walked us to our Casa Queen room, poured us a glass of wine, and made sure a little inconvenience was fixed immediately (along with giving us a bottle of wine as an apology!). When we couldn't attend the evening social, Lisa saved some of the food for us to enjoy after our night out! We were moved to Queen Room 8 overlooking the courtyard our second night, and loved it. The Inn's location is wonderful (we never needed our car), and if you're in Carmel to get out and see the sights, stay here as a very convenient, inexpensive home base. I preferred the unique Monte Verde Inn room over the downstairs Casa de Carmel room we started with. We will definitely be back - although if I expected to spend a lot of time in my room, I'd spend the extra money and book the condo to have the living space and view (we took a peak, and it's beautiful!).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix AZ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Checked into room 101. Small but comfy. The young man who checked us in and out was very helpful and gave us great tips on the area. Was only there for one night. Would highly recommend for short visits. Check out their web special rates for affordable rates in desirable Carmel location within walking distance of dining, shopping and beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Verde Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Verde Inn

Address: Monte Verde St at Ocean Avenue, PO Box 394, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Monte Verde Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the famous artisan village of Carmel-by-the-Sea are two classic country-style bed and breakfast inns - Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel. Located in the Heart of Downtown Carmel- foot step's to the beach and moments away from World Class shopping, dining and local attractions. Each of our guest rooms are individually appointed with distinctive furnishings, warm cozy beds, and gas or electric fireplaces- creating an enchanted ambiance of romance and comfort. All rooms have a private bath, flat screen television, telephone, free WiFi, Gilchrist & Soames luxury bath amenities, hairdryer & iron, a decanter of our signature Sherry and Gourmet coffee & Tea's. A healthy light breakfast is included and delivered to your door each morning. Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel are ideal for romantic getaways, honeymoons, families with children, vacations with friends, personal retreats, and business travelers alike. Both inns offer pet friendly rooms. The location of these Carmel-by-the-Sea bed and breakfast inns is perfect for easy access to Carmel beach, the finest restaurants, unique shops and well-known art galleries. The majestic Big Sur and Point Lobos Reserve are just a short drive south; the opulent Pebble Beach is adjacent to the north. The magnificent Monterey Bay Aquarium is just minutes away! And there are at least 15 world class golf courses within a 10 minute drive. We welcome your visit to Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel - an extraordinary travel experience you will remember ... and aspire to relive often! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Monte Verde Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Verde Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Verde Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.