We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Place - Charm and Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Verde Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Monte Verde Inn to your Saves list
Monte Verde Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Monte Verde St at Ocean Avenue, #831, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Terrific Place - Charm and Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This place is a little gem. Reception staff were really helpful - great restaurant tips and Big Sur guide. The rooms were full of character and warming. It is right in the centre of town and eat to walk to the beach and shops. Free parking and a lovely breakfast basket in the morning with pastries, juice, fruit and yoghurts. We had 2 rooms and both were lovely.

There is also a seating area at the rear and if you ask they will put a log on the burner for a nice place to sit in the evening. When you are done here the beds are really comfortable with 'collapse into' mattress toppers.

If you need a place to stay in Carmel I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    73
    16
    14
    4
See reviews for
29
155
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cupertino, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I could not believe how friendly the staff was! They walked us to our Casa Queen room, poured us a glass of wine, and made sure a little inconvenience was fixed immediately (along with giving us a bottle of wine as an apology!). When we couldn't attend the evening social, Lisa saved some of the food for us to enjoy after our night out! We were moved to Queen Room 8 overlooking the courtyard our second night, and loved it. The Inn's location is wonderful (we never needed our car), and if you're in Carmel to get out and see the sights, stay here as a very convenient, inexpensive home base. I preferred the unique Monte Verde Inn room over the downstairs Casa de Carmel room we started with. We will definitely be back - although if I expected to spend a lot of time in my room, I'd spend the extra money and book the condo to have the living space and view (we took a peak, and it's beautiful!).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix AZ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Checked into room 101. Small but comfy. The young man who checked us in and out was very helpful and gave us great tips on the area. Was only there for one night. Would highly recommend for short visits. Check out their web special rates for affordable rates in desirable Carmel location within walking distance of dining, shopping and beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We booked the King Casa, but on arrival were told they had a lovely room, across the street, in the back....but constantly insisted it was a lovely room. Well, rustic, clean, but not the room we had booked. The website showed a very modern room, we got a old style motel room, with a partial closet, that housed the fridge. The skylight directly focused the morning light at about 5 on the bed, so sleeping in is not an option. The bed was comfortable, duvet a lot out dated, buy clean.
Would I recommend this place, no.

Room Tip: Possibly the King casa, if you can get it, we didn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This inn features rooms that are on the smaller side, but extremely cozy. The country style decor and the in-room fire places give Monte Verde a great feel. The inn hosts a wine and cheese hour with live music during the weekend which is beautiful way to spend the early evening. In addition, the free in room breakfast is a cute bonus feature.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were able to stay here through Groupon and the manager was kind enough to extend the time period for me since that was the only weekend I could make it. Very hospitable staff, the room was small but very pretty (love the colors on the bed) and everything worked. The water pressure wasn't very strong in the shower. We thought the breakfast was more than enough - especially lots of fruit that was very nigh quality. I had no issue with noise and slept well. The wine was very good. I didn't have a dog with me but think it's great that it is dog friendly. We would return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The service upon check in was adequate and the location is absolutely perfect. It is set right off the main road exactly halfway to the beach and halfway to the beginning of the town. The room we stayed in the room 8 and for the price it was good enough, however I was glad I did not bring the dog because there would literally be no where for him to sleep and he's a chihuahua. The bathroom was super tiny as well (see pictures) and the fan was super loud. The electric fireplace was broken when we arrived which they did offer to fix, but the maintenance came at a bad time so we declined. Room 8 also faces the back seating area so you can hear when people are out there. Also the people above us were easily heard as well. I have no idea what they were doing but it seemed that all they did was walk around the room in the early hours of the morning and the late hours of the night .It did not bother me too much, however I could see it being incredibly annoying to others.

The breakfast was a super sweet pastry, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, and a piece of fruit. It was adequate enough to hold you over until you found a real breakfast/brunch place. The parking is extremely tight. We opted to park down the street since it was difficult to get out of the parking spaces. The manager's reception on the weekends was nice enough. There was cheese and meats as well as dips and chips. Like others I would also describe this place as quaint and since I got a good deal it was definitely worth it. I would not pay peak prices though. If there was a good deal I would go back only because the staff is friendly enough and the location is unbeatable.

Room Tip: Room 8 faces the back porch and directly under another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Verde Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Verde Inn

Address: Monte Verde St at Ocean Avenue, #831, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Monte Verde Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please call us at 831-6246o46 for special promotion. Tucked into the famous artisan village of Carmel-by-the-Sea are two classic country-style bed and breakfast inns - Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel. Located in the Heart of Downtown Carmel- foot step's to the beach and moments away from World Class shopping, dining and local attractions. Each of our guest rooms are individually appointed with distinctive furnishings, warm cozy beds, and gas or electric fireplaces- creating an enchanted ambiance of romance and comfort. All rooms have a private bath, flat screen television, telephone, free WiFi, Gilchrist & Soames luxury bath amenities, hairdryer & iron, a decanter of our signature Sherry and Gourmet coffee & Tea's. A healthy light breakfast is included and delivered to your door each morning. Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel are ideal for romantic getaways, honeymoons, families with children, vacations with friends, personal retreats, and business travelers alike. Both inns offer pet friendly rooms. The location of these Carmel-by-the-Sea bed and breakfast inns is perfect for easy access to Carmel beach, the finest restaurants, unique shops and well-known art galleries. The majestic Big Sur and Point Lobos Reserve are just a short drive south; the opulent Pebble Beach is adjacent to the north. The magnificent Monterey Bay Aquarium is just minutes away! And there are at least 15 world class golf courses within a 10 minute drive. We welcome your visit to Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel - an extraordinary travel experience you will remember ... And aspire to relive often! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monte Verde Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Verde Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Verde Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.