We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Verde Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Monte Verde Inn to your Saves list
Monte Verde Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Monte Verde St at Ocean Avenue, PO Box 394, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
california
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I and my DH arrived late and true to their word a key and instructions were left under the front door mat leading us to our cottage room..They had even left a cone to hold us a parking spot though another guest moved it and parked there haha, So not their fault, we still found a spot! The room was clean and inviting upon our arrival though a bit cramped for us as we had a large dog crate. Again, not their fault. The bed was soft as a cloud and we slept like happy babies.

We had a bit of trouble the next morning and the ONLY reason I am mentioning it is because it all turned out spectacularly. When we awoke in the morning we had no electricity. This was due to older electrical wiring in this and the adjoining courtyard room and is completely remedied now so don't fret there people. They arranged space for us to iron clothes and get ready for our day.

This was a big weekend in Carmel, being the annual Poodle day and the town was booked solid. The staff at Monte Verde bent themselves over backward in an attempt to secure us lodging and in the end, someone cancelled at their sister location Casa de Carmel but if that hadn't been the case we still had a room ready for us in another location they had chosen.

Friday and Saturday nights are met with a bountiful wine and Hors d'ouvre presentation in the courtyard and as another reviewer remarked, this is not the generic cheese and cracker platter but a lovely selection of seasonal goods, lovely cheeses, and quality wines. Add to this the pretty lights and plants and you have a little fairy land. On Saturday they included a quitarist/singer to make it truly wonderful. Oh yes, and the breakfast baskets are of the best quality as well with local pastries and fresh fruit.

All told, we so enjoyed our stay that we will gladly return and in fact, have already booked our next visit!

See Casa de Carmel review and please give Monte Verde a visit. Such nice people and lovely clean rooms!

Room Tip: Remember to be honest with the reservation desk as to your needs as rooms in Carmel all run on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    67
    15
    14
    3
See reviews for
29
148
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
SanFrancisco
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My girlfriends and I (party of 3) needed a great place to stay. Comfortable accomodations for 3
adults can be hard. We stayed in a room," the family suite".This room has 2 Queen beds, very
comfortable,good linens, and a twin daybed.The Queens are large so can also be shared. The daybed is in another area, so you can have privacy but close to the main bedroom. Very nice updated bathroom with freestanding tub and seperate shower.
The bathroom is all travertine stone. 2 TV's if you need.Cute little electric fireplace. A very nice continental breakfast is brought to your door step
in the morning. Fresh fruit, ham and cheese croisants, muffins, yogurts, hard boiled eggs, beverages.
You are in the heart of Carmel. Close to the beach, 1 block from Ocean Avenue where all the restaurants and shops are. Park, check in, no need to drive anywhere.
Bonus, on the weekends, wine and tasty apps are served complimentary in the early evening. With a bonus, Larry plays guitar and is very knowledgable about the area.Thanks to Sue for the delicious sage and gruyere bread pudding. The front desk is Very helpful too. Prices are good for the area.
All good , go!

Room Tip: The website and the front desk will be very helpful in choosing your room. This is a small Inn, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I didn't even stay here but I have to give a huge shout out to the staff. My husband and I had spent the week in San Francisco for business and traveled down the PCH as I was dying to see Carmel and Big Sur (having never been to CA before). We were going to travel back up to spend the night by the airport for our early morning flight but after arriving in Carmel we decided to stay and explore as it's so charming. We stopped at the Monte Verde Inn to inquire about a room but we were told they were sold out but they invited us to sit on their porch and gave us a list of all the inns to call. They circled their favorite ones and knew which ones might have availability and best of all they gave us a complimentary glass of red wine and coffee and kahlua. They could not have been more sweet and helpful. I will definitely stay there the next time I'm in Carmel. We ended up staying at the Horizon Inn, which was very lovely and spacious and they gave us a beautiful picnic basket of delicious breakfast items as they knew we had to leave so early in the morning. Bottom line, the inns in Carmel are the way to go. Something tells me they're all terrific.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for one night during a drive through California. We arrived at the Inn later than check-in time and they had left a little note for us under the floor mat with clear directions to our room as well as a key. The room itself was very cute, however, very small. Not a lot of space for 2 people. A side table was set up in the bathroom for the coffee maker. We had a small balcony but it looked right into the building next to us. However, amazing complimentary breakfast came with it (croissants, buns, great juice, yogurt and fruit) and the staff are spectacularly nice. A plus is that it has free wifi. Given the area and season, it was a relatively good price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a long weekend. My room was 2112. It was perfect, quiet and three blocks from Carmel Beach. The staff was very accomodating from the time I booked my stay. It's perfectly located, close to stores, coffee shops and resturants. Parking can be a challege after 6 pm everywhere. I suggest leaving the car parked while at the hotel until your ready to drive down the coast or venture out. Upon checking in I recieved $25.00 off of dinner at a local resturant and a great bottle of Chardonay from a local winery. Loved the fresh pastries, boiled eggs, breakfast bars and fruit delivered to my door in the morning. Nice touch! GREAT place for a romantic stay or a quick getaway!

Room Tip: Loved my room. Nicely decorated, quiet and I like being on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is the most quant little hotel gem to stay at in Carmel. Minutes away from the beach, shopping, and eating attractions, all within walking distance. The staff is more than helpful and accomidating, Ali spent time with me helping me decide on the perfect restaurant for my birthday. When I arrived to my room there was a nice bottle of wine, and a birthday card! Nice personal touch! The photos do not do this place justice.The rooms in the back are quiet and quant and a couple of them are larger with bear claw bathtubs. Everytime I visit Carmel this will be the place I will stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter and bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful little boutique-style hotel, great location, friendliest staff and best service we've encountered on the west coast. Why can't all hotels be like this?? Thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Verde Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Verde Inn

Address: Monte Verde St at Ocean Avenue, PO Box 394, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Monte Verde Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the famous artisan village of Carmel-by-the-Sea are two classic country-style bed and breakfast inns - Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel. Located in the Heart of Downtown Carmel- foot step's to the beach and moments away from World Class shopping, dining and local attractions. Each of our guest rooms are individually appointed with distinctive furnishings, warm cozy beds, and gas or electric fireplaces- creating an enchanted ambiance of romance and comfort. All rooms have a private bath, flat screen television, telephone, free WiFi, Gilchrist & Soames luxury bath amenities, hairdryer & iron, a decanter of our signature Sherry and Gourmet coffee & Tea's. A healthy light breakfast is included and delivered to your door each morning. Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel are ideal for romantic getaways, honeymoons, families with children, vacations with friends, personal retreats, and business travelers alike. Both inns offer pet friendly rooms. The location of these Carmel-by-the-Sea bed and breakfast inns is perfect for easy access to Carmel beach, the finest restaurants, unique shops and well-known art galleries. The majestic Big Sur and Point Lobos Reserve are just a short drive south; the opulent Pebble Beach is adjacent to the north. The magnificent Monterey Bay Aquarium is just minutes away! And there are at least 15 world class golf courses within a 10 minute drive. We welcome your visit to Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel - an extraordinary travel experience you will remember ... and aspire to relive often! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monte Verde Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Verde Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Verde Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.