We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good mid range small hotel in Carmel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adobe Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Adobe Inn to your Saves list
Adobe Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Dolores and 8th, P.O. Box 4115, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
West Vancouver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good mid range small hotel in Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We ended up with a very nice large room on the top floor. The rooms vary quite a bit in price, size and view etc. Best to ask what rooms are available and look at them. the bed, linens, etc were all good quality. the breakfast delivered to your room a very nice touch and a good continental breakfast. The central location is a bonus too...a few minutes down the hill to the beach and great restaurants steps away. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAdobeInn, Manager at Adobe Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking some time to share your thoughts with us and everyone else. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    97
    30
    15
    8
See reviews for
80
158
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

My wife and I recently again visited Carmel CA--a town with many delightful hotels. On this vacation we chose to stay at the Adobe Inn without first having made reservations. We liked that the hotel was just two floors, was not sprawling and has a lovely garden. But more so it was the welcome we received that drew us in. For us, while the establishment is obviously important--it is the people who make the difference and General Manager, Sergio Javier made the difference for us. What a nice guy! Welcoming, charming and with a great sense of humour--we felt so at ease. And his lovely assistant/daughter, Stephany and assistant Cynthia addressed our requests and needs professionally and with grace. While the Adobe Inn itself provided most comfortable accomodation--we sincerely thank Sergio and the young ladies for their gracious welcome.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room with a balcony on the street, was quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santos, SP
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I chose to stay at this Hotel because I liked the photos and the reviews in Trip Advisor.
I was there in Mach 2014 with my husband and my two sons, 18 and 21.
I really loved the Hotel !The rooms were wonderful !
The breakfast was taken to our room and was very good !
It is a great place to stay !

Room Tip: If you are with kids, like I was , stay at room 32. It has two rooms , two bathrooms , fireplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAdobeInn, Manager at Adobe Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
We enjoyed welcoming your family to Carmel. Thank you for giving us a chance for your family getaway. I hope that we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

My husband and arrived this week for a four day return stay in Carmel. First visit to Adobe Inn. Greeted promptly and courteously by Sergio the General Manager. Our room was not ready as we arrived a couple of hours early. Sergio made suggestions for lunch, gave us a $20 coupon toward a lunch in town, took our bags upstairs, and placed our Champagne on ice with a nice white rose awaiting our entrance. The bed was very comfortable and the view in Room 29 was excellent. The seaview was so nice. We had a special visitor a seagull came to our balcony to greet us every morning. Nice continental breakfast choices delivered on a silver tray - nice touch. Great location in town. The only reason I could not give a 5 star is that the inn itself is somewhat dated, and could use some refreshening - but don't let that stop you. We will definitely be back again! Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room on the top floor for a beautiful view. Room 29 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAdobeInn, Manager at Adobe Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are glad that you had a wonderful and relaxing stay with us and in Carmel. We would love to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Great accommodations. The bottom floor room had a big balcony but the outdoor carpet needed replacing and the balcony could use some beautification with plants etc. Sergio and staff were fabulous and moved us upstairs the next day. The room was larger and the balcony a bit cleaner looking but smaller in size. The location was perfect and the price very affordable. It's a great place to stay when visiting Carmel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAdobeInn, Manager at Adobe Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to tell everyone your thoughts. Also, we will try our best to take better care of our balconies and thank you for bringing it to our attention. I appreciate your kind words and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We visited between Christmas and New Year's and had a wonderful time. The staff was great and Sergio Javier, the General Manager, went out of his way to be pleasant and to accommodate us. Our first room was on the corner and not our first choice. The next day they upgraded us to a King room with a huge deck and an ocean view which was perfect for us, and for our Havanese Princess :-). The property is in a fantastic location one and a half blocks off Ocean Ave. and easy walking distance to EVERYTHING. The room was spotless, the bed comfortable and the parking extraordinarily convenient underneath the building. We absolutely will return on our next visit to Carmel.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the King rooms with a fireplace and balcony. The first floor has a partial ocean v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAdobeInn, Manager at Adobe Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
It was a pleasure for us to welcome you to the Adobe Inn. We are happy to hear about you pleasant stay in Carmel. Thank you for sharing your experience with every one else. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

upon arrival staff was very friendly and helpful. accomodation was spacious and clean(we had upgraded to ocean view). breakfast was simple but good. ideal location for shopping and dining. just a couple of blocks to beach. when I visit Carmel this is where i'll stay, again and again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAdobeInn, Manager at Adobe Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
We would like to show our gratitude for choosing to share your thoughts with everyone. We appreciate your kind words about the Adobe Inn. We will love to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Adobe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adobe Inn

Address: Dolores and 8th, P.O. Box 4115, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Adobe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Western Adobe style, rooms with balcony or patio; located just a short walk to the village shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Adobe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adobe Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adobe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.