We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a vacation.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adobe Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Adobe Inn to your Saves list
Adobe Inn
Dolores and 8th, P.O. Box 4115, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Now and Save!!!
Ranked #13 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great place for a vacation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have stayed here for several years during "car week". As always, this time was great. Large comfortable room, good complimentary breakfast along with other goodies that the manager, Sergio, put in our room. He goes out of his way to make his guests comfortable and if there are any requests, he does his best to be of service. The staff is very friendly and helpful, too. The parking garage (with elevator) under the hotel is a big "plus" because the parking in Carmel is very crowded. You will be able to walk from here to most of the restaurants and shops. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAdobeInn, General Manager at Adobe Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you so much for deciding to make us your family destination this time around in Carmel, and for taking the time to leave such a nice review and I'm glad to hear that your stay with us again went well.
We looking forward to welcome you back!

Best regards,
Sergio Javier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    87
    29
    14
    7
See reviews for
70
147
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A lovely hotel just off the main street in central Carmel, close to restaurants and a great cafe located one block away.

Friendly staff, breakfast available in your room in the morning, we had a large room with a balcony and nearby trees giving privacy. A fireplace in the rooms for cooler nights. A small (heated) pool is available but the sea is close

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

beautiful location, great Customer service,
if there is one thing that we would like to be better, it is the breakfast, as they serve only muffins.
We like to have fresh bread and butter + somothing like cheese or meet ot put on it.
we asked bread, and received croissants which is also good.

we would definitely come back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had a wonderful time with the family. Can walk everywhere you need and they have a garage to park the car indoors which is great in Carmel. Having the balcony to set out and enjoy the day was wonderful and very nice for the children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAdobeInn, General Manager at Adobe Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Dennis C,
We would like to thank you for choosing to spend your family time at Adobe Inn. Glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Sergio Javier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The staff at Adobe were fantastic. Friendly and responsive to requests. You felt instantly at home when you got to the room which was a good size, had a lovely balcony looking towards the ocean and to top it all a roaring log fire. Centrally located for the middle of Carmel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larkspur
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed two years ago and returned recently, but I'm afraid the place has gone somewhat downhill. Our room was spacious and quiet, but there were so many maintenance issues that we're not inclined to return. The worst problem was the hot water, which worked intermittently. One of the room keys didn't work (and, by the way, these are the old fashioned metal keys, which at best aren't as secure as the plastic cards.) The fireplace didn't work - and in Carmel it's nice to take the chill off in the morning, even in July. There was a burned out light bulb, and the refrigerator could not be opened without the door hitting the shelf.

Adding to the disappointment was the fact that the Adobe Inn's outstanding restaurant and bar are now closed. The hotel still delivers a small breakfast to the room, but it is really minimal - a sweet muffin, granola, and fruit.

I'll be watching further reviews to see if the hotel's maintenance improves. If so, this could yet be a decent value for pricey Carmel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAdobeInn, General Manager at Adobe Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
I would like to thank you for returning at Adobe Inn and submitting a review of our property. We truly appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay with us. My sincere apologies that you didn’t get to enjoy your stay with us to the fullest of your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the things that didn't go well, and rest assured that we will address each area of your concern. In hopes that you will give us another chance in the future, please don’t hesitate to contact me as I wish to ensure you'll have a lovely stay.

Sincerely,

Sergio Javier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Adobe Inn in Carmel. What a great experience! Spacious room with a fireplace, large bathroom and dressing area. Even received complimentary continental breakfast. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Would definitely recommend, and we would definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAdobeInn, General Manager at Adobe Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Aracely L,
We would like to thank you for choosing to spend your family time at Adobe Inn. Glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards,
Sergio Javier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adobe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adobe Inn

Address: Dolores and 8th, P.O. Box 4115, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Western Adobe style, rooms with balcony or patio; located just a short walk to the village shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Adobe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adobe Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adobe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.