We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room and underground parking a huge plus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adobe Inn

Save Saved
You added Adobe Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adobe Inn
Dolores and 8th, P.O. Box 4115, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 29 Carmel B&B and Inns
Galion, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice room and underground parking a huge plus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was probably my 5th trip to Carmel and first time staying at the Adobe Inn. We were greated at check-in by a very pleasant young lady and were given room 36. Room was nice/clean and had a great balcony which we used everyday. The fireplace was also a great touch. We only had the continental breakfast 1 out of 3 days and it was very good. It is great that they actually deliver it to your room. In past trips to Carmel, parking is really a headache. None of the other hotels I have stayed at had provisions for parking and you are pretty much on your own to find a spot. The underground garage at the Adobe is very convenient and everything is within walking distance!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    82
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
66
141
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed 1 night in the Adobe Inn. We had 2 large rooms, everything there what we needed. Little breakfast comes to your room in the morning. Carmel is a wonderful little village and we would have loved to stay another day.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

after all the reviews we were a bit hesitant on what to find. when we arrived we were given a room with a queen size bed but on the ground floor which we didn't like that much. after inquiring the manager changed us to room 28 without extra charge on the first floor with two queen size beds, terrace and a gas fire place. the room was quite large and we could get a glimpse through the trees of the Pacific. wifi was free and worked well in our room. as for the TV,yes it was awkwardly placed in a cupboard, but seriously, if you come to Carmel for watching TV..... the personnel was very friendly and accommodating, the breakfast was very decent and given the location (close to Ocean Ave, all decent restaurants were only 1 to 2 blocks away, and the beach just a couple of blocks down on 8th) this place merits four stars.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We paid $260 , and for that price we had no Internet in the room. Breakfast, which consisted of a muffins each and 2 slices of banana, 2 grapes and a tiny bowl of cereal, the all lot served in the room without a table to eat it on, just our knees !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Calling personally to book the Horizon Ocean View Suite - because we wanted an Ocean View - we paid a lot of money to look at the tops of trees and old dirty furniture!
What a HUGE disappointment. I even reconfirmed and made sure we had a view and the booking was good, and when I confronted the manager with the picture on the hotel web site he was more than sheepish, but it was too late to find another hotel.
Sheer misrepresentation, and a damper on our vacation.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have been staying there for about four years. We don't usually make reservations. But too say that they have recently remodel is a bit much. And their bathrooms need to be re-done. The shower head squirted water rather than streaming. It is a lovely setting. Lots of flowers and a very friendly staff. They serve breakfast, but nothing special. We loved our room. And will stay again. Our little dog is always welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed in Carmel after driving the pacific coast highway. This is a beautiful little town very quaint and pretty, it had a great beach which unfortunately we could not enjoy as the weather was not great when we were there with sea mist. The Adobe Inn is in a great location in town for shops and restaurants very quiet with great under ground parking. Our room had a fire which we did use one night,(even in August) fridge coffee maker and sofa so it was a good size. The complimentary breakfast was ok coffee or tea cearel and a muffin, which was delivered to our room at a time of our convenience .

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor which I think was better than the first we could just say see th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adobe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adobe Inn

Address: Dolores and 8th, P.O. Box 4115, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Western Adobe style, rooms with balcony or patio; located just a short walk to the village shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Adobe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adobe Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adobe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.