We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge

Save Saved
You added Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge
Junipero Street and 3rd Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Extra Person or Pet
Ranked #10 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quiet Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I surprised my wife with a trip to Carmel for her birthday. The staff was great and welcoming, and did a great job setting up the room with the 'birthday package' I bought. Most of the places in Carmel are rather expensive, and I thought this place was the best bang for my buck. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be pretty quiet. The rooms with the ocean view and fireplace are a little more exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    62
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
38
106
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The Horizon Inn was a wonderful place to call home for the few days that we were in Carmel. Here's the highlights . . .

LOCATION: Perfect for us - far enough away from the hustle and traffic of Ocean Avenue, yet close enough to walk anywhere fairly easily.

THE ROOM: Upstairs #121, had a nice ocean view and in the evening we could hear the waves in the far distance. The bed was VERY comfortable, the fireplace added a nice ambiance and the mini kitchen (fridge and microwave) was nice to have. Plenty of space to move around and lounge. Good storage and closet space (comfy robes were hanging there!). Clean, clean, clean. Lighted makeup mirror = bonus!

BREAKFAST: The breakfast basket was simple and offered something different each day (3 mornings), and came with a USA Today. Coffee maker makes a few cups of coffee.

THE STAFF: Everyone was very helpful & friendly!

Though we've stayed in more opulent hotels, the excellent rating applies. We would stay at Horizon Inn again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado hills
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

I wasn't sure how I would feel a about this place, but I was pleasantly surprised! We had room 120 and it was spectacular. The room has a fireplace, flat screen TV, Internet is free. There is a refrigerator and microwave. They provide luxurious bathrobes and a picnic basket in the morning with lots of goodies. Definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We chose an upstairs room so we could have the view to the bay and it was worth it. A quaint motel within easy walk to downtown Carmel shops and restaurants. Clean and comfortable but breakfast was very average. An added bonus was a laundromat and dry cleaners in the building next door. The person at check in was very helpful with dining recommendations etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I was skeptical about this place at first because I'm the kind of girl who likes the modern luxurious hotels. I was pleasantly surprised!! What a quaint little bed & breakfast! They give you a picnic basket every morning full of breakfast goodies, they leave it at your doorstep! We had room 114, definitely the room with the best view. We had our own private balcony, view of the mountains and the ocean! We watched amazing sunsets right from our balcony. Most bed & breakfasts can have an "old" feel to them, but not this place! The bathroom was very modern, even had a light up makeup mirror! Our room was very clean. The room also had a fireplace which gave it a very cozy feel. Staff was very friendly and we would recommend this place to anyone looking for a cozy romantic place to stay with an amazing view!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is our second stay at the Horizon Inn. We returned because we liked it so much. Our hotel needs are for a clean room, comfortable bed and a warm shower. The Horizon Inn meets all those qualifications and MORE! First, there is plenty of counter space in the bathroom. This is really important for all those products I use on my face and hair. There's a lighted magnifying mirror in the bath as well, great for these aging eyes. The beds are extremely comfortable and breakfast is left at your doorstep in a basket. Not need to get dressed and lumber out to eat steam table food with strangers. The location is wonderful, just two blocks to the main street, Ocean Ave. There's plenty of parking at no charge. The staff is very helpful and kind and the price is so reasonable. Honestly, I think this is the best value in Carmel.

Room Tip: Some rooms have ocean views, some have fireplaces. They have a property across the street for those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

just far enough removed but still within easy walking distance from the hustle and bustle of Ocean Ave on a busy weekend, my wife and I found Horizon to be the perfect place to stay. Helpful and pleasant front desk staff. We were able to check in early on Friday afternoon, 3/7/14. our King room with a fireplace was quite spacious and clean and nice to relax in after a long day of hiking Point Lobos. The breakfast basket on our doorstep each morning was a nice and welcomed touch.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge

Address: Junipero Street and 3rd Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious & attractive rooms, some with balconies, partial to full ocean views, stone fireplace and jacuzzis. Outdoor spa w/FP. Free Continental Brkfst to room. Free WiFi. Ocean View Lodge Rooms are pet-friendly cottage like suites with wood burning fireplaces and separate master bedroom. Cont. Brkfst to room. Free WiFi. Both properties are non-smoking and offer 100% off-street parking. Ask about our economical pet-friendly Annex rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Inn And Ocean View Lodge
Horizon Inn & Ocean View Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.