We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge to your Saves list
Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge
Junipero Street and 3rd Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50% Off Enhancements
Ranked #10 of 29 Carmel B&B and Inns
jdrio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The experience actually began before our stay. It seemed like all the rooms with view were going to be taken but I tried asking them via email. They responded almost immediately, they had a room that was perfect for us. With fireplace, ocean view, balcony, etc.

The room was exactly as the photos in the website. The view was amazing, spending time in the balcony was a pleasure: the hotel, although busy, was quiet most of the time. The breakfast basket, the jacuzzi and the parking lot were pretty convenient.

The hotel is not right on the beach but it is a nice walk away. You have a small market and several nice restaurants on Junipero street. Also, Ocean Av. is full with nice restaurants and shops.

All the staff was great. It was a surprise to meet John, who was not only pretty familiar with our country but also very fluent in spanish. But not only him: all of them were very nice and helpful.

The cherry on top of the sundae was this: we forgot one of our bags in the hotel. We called from the airport and they confirmed they had it. They were nice enough to have it shipped to us in one day. We can't be more thankful.

Room Tip: Try to stay in one of the second-floor rooms. They view's totally worth it (check my photo)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    64
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
41
115
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I had a good first impression of this inn when I called to make a reservation. Their on-line calendar showed they (as everywhere else in Carmel) were almost completely booked the weekend we wanted to visit and I couldn’t find three consecutive nights in the same room. The woman on the phone was extremely pleasant and helpful, and managed to accommodate us. On arrival, we were welcomed with similar friendly and efficient service and, in fact, every staff contact of our three night stay was pretty much perfect. The room was really clean, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast, delivered to our room (and different every morning), was much better than we expected it would be, with fresh local pastries, fruit and cereal or yogurt. Since we were accommodated in the last room in the place, I wasn’t going to be complaining that it was a bit dark and a bit noisy (next to the stairs and across from the housekeeping room), but based on the excellent staff, the nice outdoor areas and the comfort of the bed, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umatilla, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I'm staying here with another couple (family) and we really like it. We searched all over carmel for a hotel that is close to shops, close to beach, has a jaccuzzi and parking and this is the only place. The price is good for what you get. The breakfast basket dropped to your door so you don't have to rush down to get food and can sleep in. The cottage is charming. Our cottage 201 is the very first unit on the right, has less stairs to climb. The kitchen table has windows where you can see the ocean (partial view). Fire place with wood ready to burn very cozy, lots of windows makes it cheery. Shower pressure is nice! Most hotel rooms have weak shower pressure, this one has high shower pressure. Only reason this is not a 5 is the street we are on is a truck route. Even with windows closed you hear them.we are from the city so we are use to this others may not.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

One night stop. It was very clean and comfortable. Cleaner and more well maintained than any other inn we stayed at. Breakfast was a pastry, boiled egg, juice and a muffin. If the price is right and in your budget then you won’t be disappointed with the room. We had a partial ocean view. It looks exactly as posted in other traveller’s photos. It is pretty and worth waking up to in the morning. The staff was very knowledgeable and offered wonderful service

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

A recent stay at Horizon Inn was a one-night, "passing through" visit. But the hotel turned out to be a pleasant surprise. A friendly & helpful staff, a short walk to town and reasonable rates (at least for this town) all made it a worthwhile stay. If luxury is your objective, look elsewhere. But if function and convenience at a fair price are your goals, then Horizon Inn is your place.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We enjoyed our king ocean view room. It was very clean, well equipped and had a very comfortable bed & bedding -- great sleeping with heavy curtains that keep the room dark and away from busier streets so quiet. Easy walking distance to Ocean Ave. A little farther to beach, but still doable.

The picnic basket breakfast is a nice touch and includes pastry, juice, fruit and cereal. The coffee could be improved. We ended up going out for good coffee.

Nice hot tub area that was enjoyable.

Free wifi in room usually worked well; slow a couple evenings.

Staff friendly and helpful.

Parking included.

Overall, we were satisfied. All the prices in this town are high.

Room Tip: We liked the balcony with ocean view, although it is often foggy in mornings and are looking over ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My family and I visited the Horizon Inn motel from England for one night as part of our drive down Highway 1 from San Francisco to Los Angeles. When we booked our holiday we had no idea that our one night in Carmel was to clash with a classic car show held in Pebble Beach!! When we came to book somewhere for the night, many places were either full or charging extortionate rates due to it being a very busy time. The Horizon Inn however had a room left, so we promptly booked it as Trip Advisor had good reviews, We lucked out as it was a great little place. The lady on the desk was very helpful, the guy we booked with was great and the room was large, pretty and very clean, with a jaccuzzi in it which the kids loved. Location is great just up the hill from the main town (5 minutes), very close to some nice looking restaurants (we went to the Forge in the next block) andit was probably 15 minutes to trghe beach but as you walked through the town centre you would not notice the time.

There was also a little patio in the motel with a hot tub which the kids quickly went to. We plan to go back to California ASAP and the kids will not want to go without at least 2 nights at the Horizon Inn.

Parking in next to the motel and included and there was a lauderette nearby which was very useful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge

Address: Junipero Street and 3rd Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious & attractive rooms, some with balconies, partial to full ocean views, stone fireplace and jacuzzis. Outdoor spa w/FP. Free Continental Brkfst to room. Free WiFi. Ocean View Lodge Rooms are pet-friendly cottage like suites with wood burning fireplaces and separate master bedroom. Cont. Brkfst to room. Free WiFi. Both properties are non-smoking and offer 100% off-street parking. Ask about our economical pet-friendly Annex rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Inn And Ocean View Lodge
Horizon Inn & Ocean View Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.