We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved our honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge to your Saves list
Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge
Junipero Street and 3rd Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 Nights and Save 5%
Ranked #8 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Saved our honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I drove up from San Diego for our honeymoon with our two 100 lbs Akitas and checked in at a hotel we had stayed at before with our dogs. We then learned that they were no longer pet friendly and were unwilling to make any accomodations. We would have happily paid for cleaning and all the other associated costs of bringing your pets with you, but they weren't interested. As I tried to negotiate a refund with the hotel and Expedia, my husband was trying to find another place to stay. Enter Horizon Inn. Lacey, John, and Pam couldn't have been nicer. We ended up with a lovely cottage with an ocean view, jacuzzi tub (used that every day), fireplace (used that at least once a day), a daily breakfast picnic basket, and perhaps the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. They had biscuits for our dogs and there were even dog bowls in the room. We've already planned our return trip in December. I would recommend Horizon Inn and Ocean View Cottages to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    75
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
48
125
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los osos
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Staff is friendly and seems to really care about your experience at the inn. Room was spotless, spacious, and nicely decorated, nice fireplace, location in walking distance of great restaurants and downtown. Quiet, charming, well-maintained--we would definitely stay again. Lovely breakfast baskets every morning outside the door. Only complaint would be the dressing-area lighting, although maybe it was just as well that I couldn't be obsessed about appearance for a few days!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My son and I stayed at the Ocean View Lodge (which is part of the Horizon Inn property located directly across the street) over the July 4th weekend. The cottage (room 206, upstairs no ocean view, wood burning fireplace, pet friendly room) was adorable. The room was comfortable and boasted the deepest biggest in room Jacuzzi I've ever seen. Housekeeping was so nice and attentive. Views of the woods were pleasing. Would stay again and would like to try one of the ocean view rooms at Horizon Inn :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I'm almost afraid to write this review because now everyone will know about this wonderful find!
The location was nice; it was close to all the shops/restaurants, but just far enough away to enjoy peace and quiet. The room was very clean and decorated nicely. The hotel staff were friendly and most helpful. My favorite part of the room was a mini kitchen, with a plentiful breakfast basket delivered right to our door!
My only regret is that we could not stay longer. :(

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay at Horizon Inn, it is well situated for the beach and town. We drove there from SF airport and we had a very comfortable room. Breakfast is brought to your room in a basket and the room is cleaned daily.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

A beautiful, clean, quiet inn. Easy access to town. Friendly, helpful staff. Beautiful balcony, great views, nice spa. Really comfortable bed. The picnic basket continental breakfast is a wonderful treat! Will definitely go back !!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My family stayed here to attend a wedding. The front desk alerted us to the shuttle that was picking us up, otherwise we would have had to drive. The morning breakfast basket was just what we needed. Some rooms had fireplaces, but ours didn't. I didn't miss it but good to know they have some. Loved having a hot tub in this sometimes foggy area. Really kind front desk too. Parking was great too. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge

Address: Junipero Street and 3rd Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious & attractive rooms, some with balconies, partial to full ocean views, stone fireplace and jacuzzis. Outdoor spa w/FP. Free Continental Brkfst to room. Free WiFi. Ocean View Lodge Rooms are pet-friendly cottage like suites with wood burning fireplaces and separate master bedroom. Cont. Brkfst to room. Free WiFi. Both properties are non-smoking and offer 100% off-street parking. Ask about our economical pet-friendly Annex rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Inn And Ocean View Lodge
Horizon Inn & Ocean View Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.