We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable Christmas!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge
Junipero Street and 3rd Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Happy Birthday Pkg
Ranked #9 of 31 Carmel B&B and Inns
San Francisco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A memorable Christmas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

It was our first Christmas in many many years without the kids visiting so we decided to take the dog and spend the holiday at the Ocean View Lodge. We had the nicest time even thought it rained two out of the three days we were in Carmel. We stayed in room 204 which was an end unit with a view of both Junipero and 3rd St. The welcoming fireplace mantel was decorated with greenery and white Christmas lights and we had firewood each day to create a toasty celebration during our stay. Each morning we had a lovely basket of breakfast items and the local newspaper at our door at 7:30 AM. We went grocery shopping at Bruno's Market, a short distance down Junipero (walkable),and made Christmas dinner in our well-equiped kitchen. There was a small park behind the building to walk our lab and we drove to the ocean and ran the waves on Christmas morning. We would definitely stay again. Thank you Ocean View Lodge of a memorable Christmas!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HorizonCarmel, Owner at Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Where has the time gone?! What terrific photos! You certainly captured the spirit of the holidays at The Lodge. I particularly like the picture of your dog lounging by the fire. It's amazing how comfortable our 4 legged guests feel at The Lodge. Thank you for sharing your holiday with us. We are so pleased it exceeded "everyone's" expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    60
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
35
99
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had a nice quiet, clean room (#103) with a 48” flat panel TV and a partial view of the ocean (but it was enough to get you invigorated). The room had a toaster, frig, microwave, coffee and coffeemaker with all the additives (half and half, sugar, stirrers, etc.). Every morning we found a breakfast basket outside of our door. The basket included more than enough to get us started for the day (it included fruit, bagel or breakfast rolls, OJ, milk...probably more but that is what I can remember; we stayed four nights and, each day, the items in the basket changed). The bed was very comfortable and outside distractions were minimal to non-existent. The office staff was very friendly and helpful…real down to earth people who knew their jobs and Carmel. The only drawback was that there was no elevator and we had to carry our luggage up a flight of steps to our room.

To save a few bucks on food, we stopped twice a Bruno’s Grocery and Deli at the corner of 6th and Junipero (just two blocks away) and got deli sandwiches which we could order and could see them made right in front of us. Bruno’s also has more takeout items (soup, pizza, burgers) and does a brisk business. So we had a great couple of meals back in our room.

We really enjoyed our stay in Carmel and the Horizon Inn was a perfect place for us to stay.

Room Tip: If you are particularly interested in a full ocean view, we found #103 to be idea. There is also a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed at the Horizon Inn during my mother/daughter trip in mid-November and it was very enjoyable! We stayed in a room with two double beds and it was quiet, spacious and clean. Nice flat screen TV, bathroom area and kitchenette with a fridge and sink. Comfortable beds. Great restaurant recommendations by the front desk (try Grasing's!). I find it so charming that we got a picnic basket filled with goodies each morning and appreciated the healthy options. Fruit, yogurt, cereal. It was simple and wonderful.

I wish they had a way to purchase movies (On Demand) or each room was equipped with a DVD player. There just isn't much going on in the evening in Carmel. Just something good to know before coming....if you want to watch movies in your room, it's best to bring your laptop to do so. Also, I accidentally sliced my fingers while trying to open one of the room's windows that was stuck and was very surprised that the front desk did not have any band-aids or first aid materials! No biggie though. There was a little mart a few blocks away.

These two things did not impact my rating though. I really loved staying here. Other reviewers have made this note as well...if you or any of your travelers have a difficult time walking up an incline, just be prepared to take a taxi back up the hill to the hotel, or maybe have the "able-bodied" person run up the hill and then drive back down to pick up the other person. That's what my Mom and I did. She can walk around fine on flat ground for the most part...but walking up an incline for a few blocks was hard on her knees. No problem for someone in average to good shape though. And it really isn't too far of a distance to the shops/restaurants which is very convenient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We went to Carmel in the off-season for a mini-babymoon and got a great last minute deal at the Horizon Inn. We had a king with fireplace and partial ocean view. It was lovely and the staff was super friendly, helpful and down-to-earth. We loved that it was close enough to town to have a good walk to the beach and surrounding shops/restaurants, but not right in the middle of the fairly packed downtown area...and thankfully it was not frilly or overdone. Unfortunately, we could not take full advantage of the breakfast in a basket, because my husband and I both have allergies, but we loved the unique idea! Very comfy bed and pillows. Also loved having the kitchenette to keep us well-fed in between meals and the wonderful patio where we could stare out at the california coastline. With most everything being so incredibly overpriced or too overdone in Carmel, this was a perfect choice...A wonderful stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HorizonCarmel, Owner at Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
From one parent to another I can remember how important those "babymoons" were. I'm so happy you two enjoyed your time away at our Inn. Great that you could take advantage of our off-season rates and make the most of your travel budget. I'm sorry you weren't able to take full advantage of our breakfast basket. We try to provide an array of choices so we can meet the majority of our guest's needs in some way. We are very happy to hear that you will be returning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We wanted a hotel that was an easy walk the hotels and shops for our two-day stop in Carmel. We also didn't want to shell out $300 plus a night since this was just one among several stops for us along the Central Coast. Horizon Inn definitely delivered on what we were seeking. Tucked up Junipero, it takes about ten minutes to get to the heart of Carmel. There are plenty of shops and restaurants closer (including a wine shop just a block away). We like being able to walk off a meal so it was definitely welcome to have a little bit of a walk back after dinner each night. Like a lot of the hotels in CA, this just has that vintage, motel feel. I liked the balcony where we enjoyed our breakfast in a basked each morning. I also liked that we had a small kitchenette for chilling wine and making coffee. The decor of the rooms could certainly be updated, but I liked the location on the edge of downtown Carmel and I thought the price point was fair, especially with breakfast delivered to your doorstep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights at the Horizon Inn in October 2012 having based our choice of hotel on Tripadvisor reviews. There are many well rated hotels in Carmel which makes it difficult to choose a place to stay. But the Horizon Inn received particularly good ratings and we were certainly happy with our choice. Our room on the second floor was large and very well appointed with a counter, bar fridge and microwave; clean and quiet: and with a small balcony with a peek a boo view of the ocean. A tasty continental breakfast (juice, fruit, cold cereal and a pastry) was delivered to our room each morning. Friendly, helpful staff. The hotel is four blocks away from Ocean Ave. in a quiet neighbourhood and, as other reviewers have noted, walking back to the hotel requires a moderate but doable climb.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

What a really nice place to stay and close to everything. The room was nice featuring kitchenette, fireplace, tv, internet service, refrigerator, and a unique breakfast service. The staff was friendly, helpful with recommendations and did everything possible to make our stay perfect. My husband made use of the pool and hot tub. Great shower and we hope to return sometime in the future and will definitely stay here. Thanks, Joyce & Keith

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HorizonCarmel, Owner at Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
It's always nice to hear when our own Carmel Chamber of Commerce refers business our way. We take great pride in belonging to many of the organizations in town that promote tourism and aid visitors in finding accommodations. We are especially happy to hear that you were pleased with their referral.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge

Also Known As:
Horizon Inn & Ocean View Hotel
Horizon Inn And Ocean View Lodge
Horizon Inn & Ocean View Hotel Carmel
Address: Junipero Street and 3rd Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious & attractive rooms, some with balconies, partial to full ocean views, stone fireplace and jacuzzis. Outdoor spa w/FP. Free Continental Brkfst to room. Free WiFi. Ocean View Lodge Rooms are pet-friendly cottage like suites with wood burning fireplaces and separate master bedroom. Cont. Brkfst to room. Free WiFi. Both properties are non-smoking and offer 100% off-street parking. Ask about our economical pet-friendly Annex rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge to your Saves list