We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value with an Ocean View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge to your Saves list
Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge
Junipero Street and 3rd Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing value with an Ocean View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I often come to Carmel and last time we booked a room at the Horizon Inn. We were upgraded to a partial ocean view and was amazed! Most places would call that a full ocean view. Since the Inn is up the hill a bit, one of the advantages is that you can see the ocean off the private and beautiful balconies in the rooms. The bed and bedding was soft and so comfy. We took a dip in the lovely tiled spa and found the service to be delightful.
We booked using the sites last minute deals and boy did we get a great one! Horizon is perfect for the money and we throughly enjoyed staying here- we will stay again soon I am sure.
The hotel is about a 5 or so minute walk from the center of downtown but not bad at all. My husband and I enjoyed walking off our dinner and did not find it to be strenuous at all.
Again- perfect for what we were looking for and will stay again!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    67
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
43
121
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

My husband I just returned from a week in Carmel where we stayed at the Horizon Inn, room 115. I was nervous about the ocean view based on some other reviews complaining about the rooftops but it was wonderful. Yes, there were rooftops between us and the ocean but the hotel is uphill enough to provide a great view overall. I think people fail to realize that there aren't hotels right on the beach in Carmel, only private residences. The room was small but like everything else in Carmel, they make the most out of a small space. The jacuzzi tub was right next to the fireplace, which was great and there was plenty of room for all our belongings with a deep dresser and closet space.

We interacted with both the day and evening office staff and everyone was extremely friendly and very helpful. I read some complaints about the breakfast baskets but we thought it was perfect. The picnic basket arrived like clockwork every morning by 7:30 with pastries, cereal, milk, orange juice and fresh fruit. Since we were there several days, they provided something a little different each day. It was just right for starting the day and kept us from needing to dine until early dinner. The hotel also kept us supplied with coffee, tea, cream and sugar so we never ran out. We picked up a few extra goodies to keep in the fridge and the kitchenette was just right for our needs.

I do agree with others that if you have trouble walking uphill, you might want to stay at a lower location. It's about 4 steep blocks to Ocean Ave for shopping and dining. We were fine with it and actually needed to walk off all the great food every night but I can see where some might have an issue with it. Hotels located lower down the hill won't have an ocean view though so it's a definite trade off. Also, this hotel was so quiet that sometimes it actually felt like we were the only ones there, even though we could clearly see they were booked. Very nice. And laundry right down stairs, another plus. Our room was listed as being ground floor so I assumed we would have another room above us but that's not the case. No one above or below. Perfect. Wifi worked great in the room and free parking right inside the courtyard was perfect. Jacuzzi and outside fire seating area were available too but we ended up running out of time.

Oh and we also had a beautiful big flat screen tv in our room, even though we rarely turned it on. Several great bistros were open late so we rarely made it back to our room early enough to watch tv. One place we stumbled upon that probably ranks as the best night of our trip was Bistro Beaujolais. It's tucked away so you might ask the front desk how to get there but it was amazing. Great food, gourmet dessert and fantastic wine but the best part was the courtyard with a large fire pit and live music. Along with several other couples we spent the entire evening drinking coffee and wine, listening to Mark Banks play while enjoying the fire and good company. We were so lucky to find that place.
A.W. Shucks is another recommend. Best clam chowder and fish & chips. Alex the bartender there was full of great information about places to see in the area.

Hope this helps. I would definitely stay at the Horizon Inn again and after just returning home, we both miss Carmel already!

Room Tip: Room 115 or the one adjoining it (116?)...perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Thank you for all the lovely suggestions and tips for staying in Carmel. We certainly appreciate the fact that you let others know how much you enjoyed your stay at the Horizon Inn. Next time you are in town you must try our newest Italian restaurant, Vesuvio, just 3 blocks from our inn. It has a very unique roof top lounge complete with heat lamps and fire pits. It is our goal to make every visit to our Carmel property one you hate to see end.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, MI
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

My husband and I decided to splurge a bit on a hotel in Carmel, CA on our trip to the area. We decided to stay two nights and really enjoy the area, and the Horizon Inn had received excellent reviews on TripAdvisor. We reserved a king-room with a balcony overlooking Carmel Bay, and it also had a fireplace and small kitchenette. The hotel was also conveniently located near all shops and restaurants in Carmel; however, if you have trouble walking or up hill, you may wish to stay closer to town. Carmel is a hilly town, so navigating hills is a necessity when staying here. Our room was very comfortable, and I loved the gas fireplace and balcony overlooking the bay. In the morning between 7:15-7:30, they bring a basket of breakfast items for each room. They do not knock on the door...they just leave it at the door...I just happened to wake at 7:30, so I brought the basket in the room. My husband and I didn't enjoy it until later when we got up. Ended up having breakfast in bed with fruit, cereal, juice and pastries. Parking is at a premium in Carmel, and parking is included at the Horizon Inn. The staff is pleasant and helpful, and there are laundry facilities close by. All in all a great stay and location.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Wow! More great photos. We really appreciate that guests take the time to document their stay and share their experience. I always tell our guests that "Yes, we are on a hill but Carmel is a walking town and what better way to work up an appetite or work off a gourmet meal!" I'm glad you didn't let the 4 blocks to Ocean Avenue detour your choice to stay at the Horizon Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We just came back from a weekend getaway to Carmel. We stayed at Horizon Inn/Annex property for two nights and definitely recommend this place. Here's why:

-Reasonably priced. We found a last minute deal on their website and saved 10%
-Location. Nice walk to downtown and the beach. Everyone complains about the hill but we are from San Francisco, the 'hills' in Carmel are nothing!
-Clean rooms & dog friendly Our room was clean and we had our dog with us. I believe the Annex is reserved for those with dogs; our room did not smell like dog nor could we find any trace or scent that a dog had stayed at our room previously
-Continental breakfast delivered at your door every morning.
-Friendly service
-Free wifi; had to log into work for 30 minutes on our last morning and had no issues with connectivity

The only thing we asked for is to upgrade the tv! It was small and it was really old. The city of Carmel closes at 9 so we spent our nights hanging out in our room and watching tv. I usually don't whine about hotel tvs but there was nowhere to go past 10 pm so I would expect that hotels around in Carmel would have nice tvs or offer movie channels.

Room Tip: Book on the website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
So glad you enjoyed your recent stay at the Annex. I especially like the photo of your 4 legged companion on the balcony enjoying the view! Rest assured I have looked into your comment about the TV's in the annex and agree that a larger screen is needed. We recently upgraded 5 deluxe rooms at the Horizon Inn to flat screens and I have requested that those larger TV's be put into the Annex. As for the channel line up, we get over 90+ channels with the upgraded Comcast service and for Carmel by the Sea that's big news. Thanks for taking the time to write in and send photos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We booked a smaller room with two doubles. I worried that it would be too small and tight for our family. The room turned out to be very cozy but with extra room in the kitchen area to have some room away from the others. The beds were so cozy and comfortabe and also warm with the cooler weather. We enjoyed walking a round the village and did not find it difficult to walk walk back. We loved it and would highly recomend this wonderful Inn.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Granada, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We had an enjoyable stay. It was a good walk to downtown but, far enough away to be quiet and relaxing. Loved the breakfast in a basket!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Recently stayed at the Ocean View side. Our promised room(with an ocean view) was being worked on; the room we were given had no view. All old appliances; TV's did not work well. Large rooms, fairly clean. Internet connection is very poor. Very noisy as there is a large fleet of towtrucks on the same block and they run continuosly. Noisy street anyway. 4 blocks to Ocean; however, the trip back is all uphill. There must be better places to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge

Address: Junipero Street and 3rd Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious & attractive rooms, some with balconies, partial to full ocean views, stone fireplace and jacuzzis. Outdoor spa w/FP. Free Continental Brkfst to room. Free WiFi. Ocean View Lodge Rooms are pet-friendly cottage like suites with wood burning fireplaces and separate master bedroom. Cont. Brkfst to room. Free WiFi. Both properties are non-smoking and offer 100% off-street parking. Ask about our economical pet-friendly Annex rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Inn And Ocean View Lodge
Horizon Inn & Ocean View Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.