We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical setting in Carmel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tradewinds Carmel to your Saves list
Tradewinds Carmel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tropical setting in Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

The Room was lovely- nice partial ocean view. lovely water features in the courtyard below our room. Gorgeous tropical plantings throughout the property. We loved the Kimonos.
A couple of negatives-
One of the women who checked us in were very curt and unfriendly. They neglected to tell us that there is a complementary breakfast served in the morning.
The plumbng was very noisy. When the toilet was flushed or the bath run in an adjacent room it was so loud the that it woke me up.
overalll I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    85
    30
    12
    14
See reviews for
50
175
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

We loved our stay at Tradewinds! Originally wanted to stay at Tickle Pink, but it was totally booked for the weekend we were in Carmel. The Tradewinds was just as wonderful, albeit no ocean view. We loved staying downtown, and walked absolutely everywhere. All the happening restaurants and shopping are a very easy, 10 minute walk down the hill. It was quaint and charming, quiet. Bed was quite comfortable. Fireplace was a lovely touch. We'll be back next time - with our dog! Absolutely no complaints!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Limited parking
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

I’m writing this review while still at the property sitting in the Zen Meditation garden listening to the peacefulness of the fountain in front of me along with the wonderful Japanese Garden in front of our room. Its amazing what the owners have done with a 48 year old property, but in one word the place is fantastic. More detail will follow:

Location:

The Inn is located at Mission and Third. This is a short few blocks from Ocean Avenue the primary street in Carmel. It’s up a steep hill, which offers the upper level rooms a view of the ocean (we did not have one, so ask for during your reservation process). You’re a little bit from the downtown so it’s both very quite, yet extremely convenient. Could not be better. Rating 10

Morning Breakfast:

Like most inns and hotels in Carmel, they offer a complimentary continental breakfast. The breakfast room/clubhouse is very spacious and very well done. All food was terrific and of the highest quality. The fruit was delicious and the cinnamon bread and bagels were to die for. Some hot items would have been nice, but all in all a terrific amenity. Rating 8.

Environment:

As I touched on, the property within the last few years underwent a $4 million renovation and upgrading by Charles Gruwell Interior Design, whose firm has completed numerous world class projects such as Four Seasons and Mandalay Bay in Las Vegas. . The property always has had an Asian inspired theme, but from when the property was originally build parking was expanded, an extensive garden, fire pit and stream and brook were build along with a Zen Meditation area. This environment blends perfectly with Carmel where the number one priority is slowing down and taking everything in. It’s amazing how much calmer and peaceful I feel after 24 hours at Tradewinds Inn. Rating 10.

Staff and Front Desk Help:

The entire staff is fabulous. They are all extremely knowledgeable about the area and all the shops and dining establishments, yet very low key in their delivery. Everythi9ng about the staff five stars. Rating 10.

Rooms and Linens:

Each and every room has been completely remolded down to the studs. Though the rooms I believe are of the original size, because the original layout featured fireplaces and other features, by taking these obsolete materials out of the rooms the size is generous and the remodeling complete. New floors, linens, furniture, etc were put in the room to completely update the environment. Rating 8.5.


Summary:

I don’t know what else is offered at Carmel-By-The Sea, but it would take a lot to offer a better experience and place to spend a few nights at in the city. Overall Rating 9.75.

  • Liked — Enviroment
  • Disliked — Would of loved a suite to be available.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

We spent four nights here at the beginning of June. Our room was lovely and the beds were so comfortable. The staff were so helpful and were pleased to give you lots of information on the area and make restaurant bookings for you. The place was so peaceful. We love Carmel anyway but this hotel just made our stay even more special. I would love to come back again. Thanks to all the wonderful friendly staff and Sweetie the cat of course! Lovely cookies to help yourself too in reception in late afternoon and the breakfast is very nice - constantly replenished and very fresh.

  • Liked — The comfy beds
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2007

We stayed one night at the Tradewinds at Carmel during a recent drive up the coast. The staff was warm and welcoming. Our room was peacefully designed and adorned with fresh orchids, tasteful amounts of bamboo, and a working fountain. There were delicious complimentary goodies waiting for us in the room: Chocolate-covered strawberries, cashews, pretzels... The breakfast offering, also complimentary, included an assortment of cereals, fresh granola, yogurt, pastries, breads, fresh fruits, preserves, juices and coffee, and tea. There's free wifi in the rooms as well. What a delight!

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2007

This is a great place to stay, perfectly located in Carmel.
The inn is located just a block away from great restaurants and shopping. If you walk down ocean avenue a few blocks, you can enjoy the gorgeous beach.
We were pleasantly surprised when we got to the inn. The concierge was so friendly and helpful, the gentleman who showed us to our room was also very helpful and gracious.
Our room was beautiful, we had our own balcony and a slight view of the ocean. The room was beautifully decorated, we had a fireplace, and there were two chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us.
We loved the continental breakfast, and the great service from the staff.
We have made a promise to return at least 1 more time this year.

  • Liked — The service, and the beautiful room.
  • Disliked — Nothing, we loved it!
  • Tips/Secrets — Go down to the beach early in the morning, it is beautiful.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2006

I read most of the reviews before staying at the Tradewinds myself and I must say that I agree to most of the reviews, both positive and negative.

From my perspective, it was above average for a place that allow pets. We like to travel with our dog, but often have to stay at average motels without any frills. The Tradewinds was certainly a refreshing change of scenery.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by a VERY attentive and friendly staff. They were incredibly helpful and cordial. When we got to our room, it was what the pictures made it look like and everything was very clean and beautifully decorated.

However, for the price, it's not worth the $325+/nt stay. We came during the low season, so our room with a partial ocean view was $225/nt, which is more reasonable. We only stayed one night, and took advantage of all the amenities. It was a great touch to be greeted with chocolate covered strawberries and an array of snacks and bottled water that were all free of charge.

We stayed in Room 1, which was very quiet and peaceful. The beds were very comfy, and we appreciated the fact that te port-a-crib was already in our room upon arrival, along with a cozy blanket to keep our child warm.

The breakfast was an expanded continental breakfast, with a lovely array of fresh pastries, fruit, yogurt, cottage cheese, granola, bagels, coffee, tea, and juices. The quality was very fresh, and the dining area was clean and well-kept.

Overall, I highly recommend the Tradewinds, especially if you are traveling with a pet. The staff was wonderful, the room itself was well appointed, and the breakfast was certainly good enough to fill you up until lunch!

  • Liked — Staff, well appointed room, great expanded continental breakfast
  • Disliked — Price is not worth what you get (unless it's low season), still has a bit of a motel feel regardless of remodel
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, Mediterranean - 3 blocks from Ocean Ave. on a quiet residential street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradewinds Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.