We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Save Saved
You added Tradewinds Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tradewinds Carmel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Surf and Turf package
Ranked #7 of 21 hotels in Carmel
santa barbara
2 reviews
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

Very nice hotel. Great rooms and would highly recommend to anyone traveling to Carmel. Tracy at the front desk was wonderful and took care of our every need! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    75
    25
    11
    13
See reviews for
44
156
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

I stayed at the Tradewinds for 1 night with my wife during a recent trip down the california coast...We were only staying for 1 evening so decided to stay at a relatively low key place...We arrived in the evening and were met by a slightly abrupt receptionist who when I called a second time for directions, used the term "just like I told you the first time..." which was obviously of no help to me...When we got there she was friendly enough and checked us into our room...We had a lot of luggage that we needed to take up to the room and there was no elevator..She offered to help but I felt bad given that the bags were so heavy...At these rates in a 3 story hotel, I would expect to have a bell or utility man who would be there to meet guests until a certain time (perhaps we arrived too late?) or an elevator...Additionally, reception closed at 10pm...The design of the hotel was very nice...I think the designer was involved in the desinging the Mandalay Bay in Las Vegas to give you an idea of the style...I got the impression from the website that the hotel was close to the ocean but it was a 10-15 minute walk to the coast...The rooms (even the better ones) had a view with a sliver of the ocean in the distance...The rooms were finished in the same style as the hotel with quality matierials...The bathrooms, although not huge, had a full tub with jets and high quality toiletries...Breakfast was very nice although there were no hot options...We got an off-season discount so that room was about $250...If we had paid the full rate I think I would have felt that we were not getting value for money (even in an expensive place like Carmel)...I would suggest the Auberge Carmel which looked very nice and was closer to the beach (we had an excellent dinner there) and some of the resorts around Pebble Beach or the Carmel Valley would make more sense.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

rooms are lovely although there are no views you'd want to see. only one person at the reception desk was of any help, kathy. breakfasts adequate but not warm and cozy dining room. inn located at the top of a dark hill and walking at night is difficult.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

LOVED THE ROOM. Very romantic and comfortable. Gas fireplace, water feature, luxurious details. Breakfast was better than typical continental fare. Helpful staff. Great restaurant recommendations. Location is perfect. Walk anywhere within Carmel proper, beach, etc. Parking available onsite, no charge.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

We came here from Germany (third time now) and had a perfect time -like the years before. Tranquil atmosphere, beautiful calm rooms in a perfect Asian style. Really friendly staff.
We definitely come back in 2009 and are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Liked — Asian style
  • Disliked — Nothing.Everything is perfect like it is !
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

We stayed at the Tradewinds for just one night, sadly. It would have been nice to stay longer but unfortunately our schedule didn't allow for that.

The building itself is a little underwhelming from the outside but then the buildings in Carmel are all a little strange looking anyway: very residential in appearance even when they are buisnesses (which is all part of the charm of the town).

Inside the hotel is a weird mixture: a modern building surrounding a courtyard with exterior stairs - almost like a motel or block of appartments - leading up to rooms.

Our room was chosen as a better one (partial sea view with a balcony) and was nicely appointed with good attention to detail (soothing music playing as we entered our room, chocolate dipped strawberries for our enjoyment, nice batik 'gowns' [robes] to wear after a bath etc etc). It had a good view from said balcony with good facilities - including a running water feature in the room.

The central courtyard to the hotel didn't just offer vehicle parking facilities it also had steps (illuminated at night) and a large statue of budha... The hotel is billed as having a 'Zen theme' and we could see what they were getting at!

Our only complaint about our stay was that - on initial arrival (by motorcycle) - we didn't exactly get the warmest of welcomes. There was a fairly frosty "can I help you?" when we presented ourselves and now palpable warming up when we revealed we had a reseervation. Perhaps the receptionist just doesn't like motorcycles...

The Tradewinds is well located in Carmel and - on pretty much any level - couldn't be bettered for a stay and we'd definately return, given the opportunity.

  • Liked — Beautiful rooms, view from balcony and attention to detail
  • Disliked — Our check in experience
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

This is our 3rd visit to the Carmel Tradewinds so I guess you could say we love it here !!! The staff are always friendly and nothing is ever too much. If this is your first time to Carmel then this hotel is centrally located and is just off Ocean Drive which is ideal for you to explore what Carmel has to offer - which is lots. We have travelled a lot of places and we can honestly say that Carmel is one of our favourite places in the world and we always look forward to staying in this hotel. The staff and management are wonderful, the view from the room was great and we cannot wait to go back as soon as we have saved up again !!!

  • Liked — The room !
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#5 Family Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, Mediterranean - 3 blocks from Ocean Ave. on a quiet residential street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradewinds Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.