We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tradewinds Carmel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tradewinds Carmel to your Saves list
Tradewinds Carmel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tradewinds Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

What a lovely hotel. We hadn't realised it is in the Johansens guide until we arrived. Beautiful rooms and very tranquil.
We stopped at Carmel for 2 nights.
They recommended a restaurant called Grasing's which was superb.
Lots of smart shops and an attractive beach.
Carmel was a bit colder than we were expecting and the Pacific Coast Highway down from San Francisco was disappointing. It was worth the 30 minute drive further south to Big Sur, during which we saw what we were expecting.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, September 27, 2014
Thank you for your kind review..."beautiful rooms and very tranquil" is our goal. And, yes, we have been chosen as a Conde Nast Johansen's property, which only includes special places in their guides. Warm Regards to you and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    93
    32
    12
    14
See reviews for
57
191
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had booked for only one night at this hotel but loved Carmel so much we stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the Main Street. We booked a very comfortable deluxe room. Breakfast was included and was a cold buffet and very adequate. Very quiet location and charming staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, September 27, 2014
Thank you to our guests from the United Kingdom! We are so happy that you enjoyed Carmel and Tradewinds Carmel that you stayed an extra night! There is so much to do here from the Monterey Bay Aquarium to Big Sur to Point Lobos to all of the wineries to Carmel Mission to Pebble Beach...I could go on and on. You really need at least 5 days here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed two nights at Tradewinds, and could not have been happier. It's a wonderful bed and breakfast, with a very friendly and helpful staff. Location is also terrific, just a couple blocks from downtown.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, September 27, 2014
What nice guests you are! We wish that you could return soon. We have wonderful jobs, especially with guests like you. Warm Regards, the staff at Tradewinds Carmel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

From the photos this place looks quite upmarket. You would also expect this from the prices they charge. Even allowing for the location and town, this place is way over priced. The furniture is chipped and tapestries are tired. "A converted motel" has been quoted and that's what is is. Noise does transfer from other rooms so the owners upgrade didn't extend to sound proofing. Look elsewhere and do you research for the real story on Tripadvisor

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Efficient and helpful staff. Spacious and clean rooms. Charming in-room electrical fireplace. Very comfortable bed. Walking distance from the main street, but a longer walk to the beach (better go by car/bicycle). Complimentary wi-fi and parking lot. We expected a little more form the breakfast, but it was not bellow average.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. We like your description "lovely place to stay"! Our breakfast buffet is served in our breakfast room but we can also serve you breakfast in bed, if you prefer! Our buffet has French pastries from a local French bakery, bagels and cream cheese/condiments, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, breads, juices, cereals/granola, fresh cut-up fruit, and coffee/tea service. We are also close to wonderful breakfast restaurants, if you prefer a full pancakes/meat meal! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Tradewinds is a beautiful, cozy boutique hotel a few blocks from the main street that runs through town. My friend and I stayed in the Poet's Suite, which featured balconies, a jet/jacuzzi tub, one and a half bathrooms, a sitting area with a couch that converts to a bed, and a master bedroom with a giant, sumptuous bed covered with a down comforter. There are two large TVs, a small kitchen area with coffee and teas, dishware and a coffee maker (no microwave). They also provide pretty kimonos. They provided us with an orchid, snacks and chocolate covered strawberries

As lovely as the suite and grounds are, what struck us was the incredible customer service. Every person we encountered catered to our every need. In the morning, rather than having to go to the breakfast buffet, they delivered the food to us. There were homemade pastries, toasted bagels and cream cheese, fruit salad, and a big pitcher of coffee with sugar and cream. Staff gave us excellent suggestions for dinner (Vesuvio's, an Italian restaurant, was great) and pointed out shops we might want to check out the next day.

Tradewinds is luxurious but intimate hotel--and they allow dogs too! I left my pug at home, but we'll all be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Wow! What an incredible review! You described the Poets Suite so well that we wish that you worked here! Thank you so so much! We love our suites since they are so private and look out over the courtyard with the fire pit, stream and Meditation Garden, and parking is so convenient but you don't see it from the suites. We hope that you can return sometime soon! Warm Regards, the staff at Tradewinds Carmel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed here for two nights because we had heard great things about Carmel and wanted to stay in the village part. The hotel is perfectly fine - nice room, good (included in the cost) cold breakfast. However the location isn't really central, so it was about a ten minute walk to get anywhere worth going and an even longer walk to get down to the beach. They do offer free wireless and put out chocolate covered strawberries when you arrive, which is a nice touch.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Hello and Thank you for your review-happy that you enjoyed the room, breakfast, Free WiFI, and chocolate covered strawberries! We are 3 blocks from the main street of Carmel on a nice quiet residential street. I am sorry that you would have preferred to be closer to the main street but then you risk having noise from the traffic and busy pedestrian streets. Our sister property, Carmel Lodge, is only 2 blocks from Ocean Avenue and has free parking and wifi, as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,255 reviews
0.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
4.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#17 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#5 Business Hotel in Carmel
#7 Family Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, Mediterranean - 3 blocks from Ocean Ave. on a quiet residential street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradewinds Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.