We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Karma, nice room and they accepted our dog!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Save Saved
You added Tradewinds Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tradewinds Carmel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Surf and Turf package
Ranked #7 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Bonita, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice Karma, nice room and they accepted our dog!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We enjoyed our one night stay in this quaint hotel. We were appreciative of them accepting our golden retriever in such a nice, large room. The hotel is a nice walk up the hill from a busy downtown Carmel. The front desk personnel were very helpful with recommendations on dog friendly restaurants and even a 5 star dog wash facility after exploring the beach. The continental breakfast was also yummy with lots of fresh fruit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
I like your review! "Nice Karma, nice room.." Thank you so much. We are glad that you enjoyed the fresh cut up fruit on the breakfast buffet!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    75
    25
    11
    13
See reviews for
44
156
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is such a romantic and tranquil hotel in Carmel. Probably ideal for a couple romantic stay. There is free parking at the hotel and the restaurants and shops are within walking distance. The breakfast buffet is simple but perfect. There is a strong influence from Indonesia as far as the interior and exterior decos are regarded. I loved our room, the small zen type fountain in it and the strawberries with chocolate welcoming us in the room. I also loved the kimono robes provided in the room and actually bought one to take back home. The staff were really welcoming and friendly. I would definitely return to Tradewinds Carmel when back in Carmel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you so much! Thank you for pointing out that Tradewinds is ideal for a romantic stay. We agree! We love honeymoons and anniversaries! We try to make each and every guest's experience special and memorable from the chocolate covered strawberries and orchids upon arrival to the Meditation Garden where you can put your bamboo sheath with a wish or prayer on it in the fountains. We hope that you can return soon. All the best to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. We absolutely enjoyed our room and zen-like surrounding area of the hotel. We fell in love with great bed and extra large pillows, which were super comfortable especially after long day of sightseeing. Our room had a balcony and we had partial view of ocean and mountains. The area around is very tranquil although only 4-5 short blocks from Ocean Ave where all shops and restaurants located. Staff is very pleasant. Breakfast has exactly what is needed. Will def come back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for pointing out that we have "super comfortable beds!" We have large down king pillows, 4 inch thick goose-down feather beds, and comforters as well as Fili D'Oro fine white cotton duvet covers....all makes for a sumptuous bed! We hope that you can return soon and really appreciate your kind review. Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Warm Regards to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Had a great two night stay. Hotel is very quiet and relaxing and a short two minute walk from downtown Carmel by the Sea. Very close to many nice restaurants, and Carmel is very clean and picturesque. The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We will definitely pass on to our housekeeping staff that you found the rooms "very clean". We are very particular! We also love our location since we are on a quiet residential street just 3 blocks from the main street of downtown Carmel but within a block of restaurants and shops. We hope that you can return soon! Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel! Close to Ocean Dr, where all the shops & restaurants are. The rooms are spacious & well kept. There is no elevator, so if you don't like stairs, it might be a problem? Made me exercise a little bit for a change! ha!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
"Love this Place!" is what we love to hear! We hope that you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

This motel is definitely a cut above. Lots of unique touches, from fireplace to little waterfall. The grounds are unique and they start you off with. Chocolate chip cookie. What's not to like. i don't have more to say but they make you use 200 characters. I would recommend it and will return.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We hope to see you again soon! Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is a really nice property located in walking distance from the center of town. The reason for the average rating is that we were given the ground-level room with no view and limited airflow. It's also quite noisy as everyone from the upper level descends the stairs right outside that room. The shower in this "accessible" room is very short and not ideal for tall people.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper-level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
I am so glad that you like our location. We are on a quiet residential street within a block from the shopping and restaurants, and we love not being on a busy street. You must have been in our one room on the lower level next to the stairwell. We price that room lower for that reason but usually noise is not a problem. This particular room is also our ADA room so the shower is different from the other rooms. We wish that you could return and stay in one of our other rooms. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#5 Family Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, Mediterranean - 3 blocks from Ocean Ave. on a quiet residential street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradewinds Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.