We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super comfy beds, great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Save Saved
You added Tradewinds Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tradewinds Carmel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Surf and Turf package
Ranked #8 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super comfy beds, great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

As I lie here in bed still with the hotel cat next to me by the gas fireplace, it's hard to find any fault. But I wake up early and like to have coffee in bed. Whilst there are coffee makers, there's no fridge for milk and 7 am was too early to get milk to bring upstairs. Breakfast is good, not extravagant but enjoyable. Balcony is useless because next to other buildings and shady. Parking is tight. The room is lovely. Big and comfortable. Fireplace runs on timer for half hour. Would like it to run longer. Nice stay over all at the too of our price point.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hello and thank you for your thoughtful review. The cooler-refrigerators in the room should keep milk or cream cold and we are happy to bring it to the room in the evening for early morning coffee in bed. We will also serve you breakfast in bed which many guests enjoy. We are actually lucky to have three parking lots for our inn. Parking in downtown Carmel can be a challenge during the busiest times and some inns don't have any on-site parking so we are happy to provide on-site free parking for our guests. I am so happy that you enjoyed the fireplace in your room. I know that it is on the 30 minute timer and we have to do this for safety...sorry! Sometimes guests will turn on the fireplace and just leave the room. It sounds like Sweetie, our rescue house cat, also enjoyed the fireplace! We thank you for being so nice to her! She tends to follow certain guests to their rooms. We adopted her from the animal shelter and she has struck gold! I am glad that you like the rooms and hope that you can visit again. Weekdays and during the off-season are our best rates. Warm Regards to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    72
    25
    11
    13
See reviews for
40
154
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

We booked 2 nights at this hotel. On our arrival we were booked into Room 26 which is a groundfloor room. Having completed a long drive we were dissappointed the room was so dark, this was created by the balcony being surrounded by palm leaves and other tropical plants blocking out the natural light. The following morning we asked to move and we were given a bright room with a wonderful sea view in the distance. The staff were very friendly and helpful. This hotel is in a good location - about 5 min slow walk to the centre of Carmel with it's numerous restaurants and quaint shops. The hotel has a Zen/ Far Eastern influence in it's decor with the sound of running water as a relaxing feature. For the size of the hotel with its rooms, I would say it is asking a premium price and is too expensive for its class but is managing to succeed due to the popularity of Carmel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you got to experience an ocean view room. They have the big sliding glass doors out to their own balconies which makes them quite bright and happy! Thank you and we hope that you had safe travels home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londrina, PR
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Very nice and clean. Big bathroom. Very good location, just in the center of Carmel. Staff very kind and gave us good options for dinner and lunch. My room had a nice fireplace and I recieved flowers on my arrival. I loved every detail!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
We love our Brazilian guests! Thank you so much and tell your friends! We are so happy that you enjoyed Tradewinds Carmel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on our journey down the Pacific Coast Highway and I have to say I just loved it! So relaxing and calm! The room was beautiful, the bed was huge and really comfy and we had a fireplace that added to the atmosphere. If you pass through Carmel you would be crazy not to stay here!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you! Thank you! especially like your line "you'd be crazy not to stay here"! I really appreciate your review and I am so happy that you like our beds and fireplaces. Please come back soon. Warm Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed at the Tradewinds this past weekend. We came down from San Francisco and found a great deal online. When I called to verify my reservation, Brandy was so sweet and made dinner reservations for us at Vesuvios. We ended up in a fabulous room (I'm sure they're all really nice) and it was so clean.

The rooms have a great Asian theme with a cozy fireplace and balcony. We felt so at home and really loved the incredibly soft duvet.

The breakfast was fine- fresh fruit and pastries. We loved the short walk down to the Main Street of restaurants and shops.

I highly recommend this gorgeous little hotel and in case you didn't notice, there is a great firepit in the courtyard which is really nice at night.

I will definitely return on our next trip to Carmel! My only regret is not upgrading to the ocean view room. Thank you so much to the great staff :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
You are so clever! "The Perfect Zencation"!! I hope that you may be able to write for our blog one of these days. We love to have guests add their experiences about Tradewinds and Carmel. Thank you for such a nice review and thank you for the kind words about our sweet Brandy! Warm Regards to you and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed overnight in the pretty King View room and it was everything we expected -- nice view, comfortable bed and pretty (though somewhat small) room. The Inn is up the hill a couple of blocks from Ocean Ave., so out of the bustle, which was nice. The atmosphere at the inn is nice and relaxed and the people at the desk very nice. Breakfast pastries and fruit good and decent coffee. It's a bit pricey, but very pleasant for a lazy overnight with a friend, if your willing to splurge a bit.

Room Tip: King View room does really have a nice view. The one in "Architecture Digest."
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad that you enjoyed the king view room. We do have one bedroom suites if you would like a bit more room. We make every effort to offer the finest amenities from the linens to the bath products. I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast. We hope to see you again one of these days soon. Our rates are seasonal but the best rates are from Sunday through Thursday nights, if you can avoid the busiest times and weekends. Warm Regards to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

They have a very strict cancellation policy. I recently had to cancel because of emergency surgery that caused an entire wedding to be cancelled and they would NOT make an exception to refunding my money. I didn't expect the deposit back but I did expect some consideration. I don't care how nice this place is, that is simply bad business and lousy custom service. This was something that couldn't be helped and we were devastated. Getting hit $$$$ added to the pain. No sympathy there! Other fine hotels in the area were much more accommodating to the other wedding guests.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
I am sorry that you weren't able to stay with us. It is very difficult for a small inn to be flexible with our cancellation policy on short notice. If you are ever in Carmel, please ring us and we will make every effort to accommodate you and make you happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
Free internet...
Show More
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 21 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 21 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 993 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
4.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#5 of 21 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Boutique, Free...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#17 of 21 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#6 Family Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, Mediterranean - 3 blocks from Ocean Ave. on a quiet residential street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradewinds Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.