We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Save Saved
You added Tradewinds Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tradewinds Carmel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Surf and Turf package
Ranked #8 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Beautiful rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed here for one night and glad we found this gem. Staff knowledgable of local area and made good restaurant suggestions, wonderful room (see the pics on their website - accurate of what to expect) and great breakfast. Would totally recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you! We do think that we are a hidden gem in downtown Carmel. It is nice and considerate guests like you who make our jobs easy! Thank you for the 5 stars! We hope to see you again soon. Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    73
    25
    11
    13
See reviews for
42
154
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Located centrally and walking distance to everything you'd want to do in Carmel as a business person or tourist. The Inn is a perfect and elegant fit with the surroundings of Carmel. This Inn has a longstanding history in Carmel and has gone through a number of renovations to maintain comfortable amenities and an earthy/zen decor. We had adjoining rooms for our young family of five, which was the perfect fit for us. The staff is super friendly, local, and can help with everything in the area in terms of food and activity recommendations, along with recommendations for food and activities in Monterey Bay, and everything in between. They told us over the phone that the room came with a breakfast and I imagined that we would pass on that and find some breakfast place on the main avenue. I was very wrong on this front. We at breakfast at the hotel all three days of our stay, an if we stayed longer, we would have continued to eat breakfast at the Inn each and every day. Fresh coffee (the good stuff) and a nice selection of teas, yogurts and cottage cheese, a wide selection of breads and jams, cereals, boiled eggs, juices. It was economical and first class continental breakfast. The rooms had everything we wanted and were well maintained and cleaned each day. On our next trip to Carmel we will not bother looking at other Inns online, I'll simply call Tradewinds.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
What a sweet review! The adjoining king and double/double rooms are the perfect arrangement for a family of five. I am happy that we had it available for you. Glad that you liked the breakfast and could enjoy it everyday. We certainly hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this lovely inn and found it to be more than adequate. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fresh and delicious. The Inn wasn't super fancy but very comfortable and centrally located in the hamlet of Carmel. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are in our 55th year under the same family ownership! We are proud of this since most hotels are now owned by groups of people and there isn't the personal touch. If you have a chance, please vote for us on Conde Nast Traveler
Go to http://www.cntraveler.com/vote/readers-choice-survey-2014. We are hoping to be honored this year since it is our 55th Anniversary! Thank you! Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed here on our way home to Los Angeles. Carmel is absolutely beautiful with lots of restaurants/tasting rooms. We booked this room through hotel tonight and am so happy we did! The bathroom is huge and the beds were comfy. Also, the receptionist was very helpful with recommending good restaurants in the area. We loved it, definitely will be making our way back!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Glad that you liked the beds and found our staff helpful. Hope that you can stay with us again soon. Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

First, let me say that I am VERY particular about where I stay, especially concerning cleanliness and customer service! Tradewinds is exceptionally clean and comfortable! We are a family of three (my husband and I and 7year old daughter). We loved the central location ( my husband golfed at Pebble Beach and my daughter and I visited the Monterey Bay aquarium and went to Asilomar). We also went to Carmel Valley. Location of this hotel is perfectly centrally located. If you are looking for an ocean view, this may not be the place for you!!! We considered staying in Monterey at the Intercontinental, and are happy we chose to stay in Carmel! After seeing Cannery Row in Monterey, we would not have been happy staying 5 nights there!!! 3 nights tops!
Regarding Tradewinds being "luxury", well, that is a personal call. The beds and linens are very comfortable. They provide robes in the room. The rooms are decorated with a "zen" feel. There is a coffee maker, "cooler" (Fridge that gets to about 45 degrees), glasses, etcetera. The staff is wonderful and accommodating. I would recommend asking for the the top floor as there
can be noise from the floor above. Breakfast is wonderful! It consists of fresh fruit, all natural yogurt and Yoplait yogurt, cottage cheese, cage free hard boiled eggs, bagels, peanut butter, jelly/jam/butter, cinnamon raisin bread and pastries, coffee, tea and orange juice. My daughter especially loved Sweetie the resident Cat! We loved eating at Yafa, Mandaka, and Il Fornaio! I have been in customer service for over 25 years, and would highly recommend Tradewinds!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor, as rooms above can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review! I will tell our housekeepers (all have been with Tradewinds for many years) that you appreciated the cleanliness! That is our top priority. I agree that I would much prefer to stay in Carmel (which is really the hub of the Monterey Peninsula). We love our location, too, since we are on a quiet residential street but within walking distance to all of the shops and restaurants. I am glad that you enjoyed Yafa, Mundaka and Il Fornaio. We are so lucky to have incredible restaurants in Carmel. I am also glad that you liked our breakfast. By the way, Sweetie says hi and please return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I just returned home from a week long trip up and down the coast- Palm Springs to Santa Cruz- with my fiance and our husky. Our stay at the Tradewinds in Carmel is the definite highlight! The room was the perfect peaceful retreat- gentle spa music playing, an in-room water fountain, fireplace, private balcony, balinese robes, and the most perfect warm lighting. All of these touches made it feel like we were staying in a spa.

The grounds were gorgeous and had a secluded feeling while being just a few blocks from shopping and dining. For us Carmel was the perfect place to unwind and relax because of the beautiful, sandy, dog friendly beach. We must have made at least 4 trips to the beach in our two days just to soak up the views and let our pup romp.

If you love the mellow, zen vibe you get at a spa- then this is the perfect place to stay! The three of us would love to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you! You are such sweet considerate guests. We are so glad that you could appreciate the zen quality of Tradewinds with the special Balinese robes, fountains, music, and serenity. We try hard to offer a "zen" feeling to our guests. We even had an author sit in our Meditation Garden and write a book! She came for one night and stayed a week! We hope that you can return soon to enjoy some relaxation here and at Carmel Beach, one of the most beautiful white sand beaches in the world!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watkinsville, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Beautiful hotel and amenities, snacks etc. However, it was a hot day and the hotel has no air conditioning or pool. So we had to rely on opening the doors and fans. Nice staff and service and a short hike to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We love the description "Romantic"! That is our goal. Weather has been crazy lately and some days have been warmer than normal. Hotels in Carmel and Pebble Beach do not have air conditioning because traditionally we haven't needed it, but if these weather patterns persist, we will definitely get it. We have some good fans now for those rare really warm days here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#6 Family Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, Mediterranean - 3 blocks from Ocean Ave. on a quiet residential street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradewinds Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.