We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful & Romantic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Save Saved
You added Tradewinds Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tradewinds Carmel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Surf and Turf package
Ranked #7 of 21 hotels in Carmel
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Peaceful & Romantic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

From the moment my boyfriend and I arrived at Tradewinds, we felt like we were being pampered. I was given a beautiful orchid, there were fresh cookies in the lobby, and chocolate covered strawberries in our room, next to the fireplace. There was a personalized note in the room, which was an amazing touch! The grounds and the hotel are beautiful, with a pacific island style and tranquility. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful in booking reservations and giving recommendations for places to see and visit. The location doesn't get any better and is within walking distance to all the shops, bars and restaurants, and the beach. However, the hotel is still very peaceful and quiet and is tucked away from all the noise of the tourists. We mostly enjoyed the fireplace and the large jet tub in the spa-like bathroom. Tradewinds is definitely our favorite spot in Carmel and we will stay here every time we visit in the future!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you! So good to hear that you appreciated the cookies upon arrival, the orchid sprig for you to keep, the chocolate covered strawberries and note in your room. We hope that you can find time to make us a habit and take the time for yourselves to find relaxation! Remember to always ask for a spa-jetted tub! I will thank my staff for providing you with appreciated service and friendliness. Please return soon! We love guests like you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    75
    25
    11
    13
See reviews for
45
157
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salinas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Had a wonderful stay at the Tradewinds. Hubby and I were celebrating our anniversary and upon arrival they provided us with a lovely orchid. There were complimentary nuts, pretzels, and little grapefruit gummy candies as well. There were also 2 delicious chocolate covered strawberries (don't know if that's normal or just because it was our anniversary, but it made is feel so special! Thank you! ). They had a cooler (just like a refrigerator except didn't make noise). Which we used our entire trip! They had cookies every afternoon and a continental breakfast every morning (hard boiled eggs, pastries, cereal, bread choices, yogurt, etc. ). Everyone is so helpful and nice there. We came with reservations for dinner but opted to cancel those reservations and go with another restaurant (we didn't want to move the car. Parking can be an issue.). They gave us some wonderful ideas and we were so pleased.

The good news is it's a short walk to Ocean st. Lots of shopping and restaurants in between). Unfortunately, it is on a slight hill. Not bad though.

We stayed in room 19. It was ABSOLUTELY beautiful! Wonderful view of the ocean. Comfy bed, lovely fluffy pillows, wonderfully high thread count sheets and what I am guessing is a feather bed topper on the bed (it was so soft). Didn't use it, but there was a Jacuzzi tub (they said it was for 1 1/2 people? ). Soothing and relaxing outdoor landscaping. Beautifully maintained. I saw one of the ladies from the front office walking around the property picking up lint and bits of tiny paper accidentally dropped. Includes an outdoor fire pit. Loved it! Ended our relaxing getaway by leaving a wish at their Buddha fountain. From the moment we got there, until we left, it was nothing but relaxing and peaceful! Thank you so much for an amazing experience!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Oh, please return soon! Maybe an anniversary tradition? We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We describe our beds as "sumptuous" because we do buy high quality linens- Fili D'Oro duvet covers and pillow cases, fine white goose down pillows and comforters and 4 inch high feather beds! I love the crisp white duvet covers because they are so fresh and clean! (no bedspreads or blankets that haven't been washed). Tradewinds Carmel has its own special traditions including giving each guest a fresh orchid sprig, and having chocolate covered strawberries that we make from fine Belgium chocolate daily in your room upon arrival. My favorite tradition is writing your wish or prayer on a bamboo sheath and putting it in the Buddha fountain! We have giant Temple Bamboo in the Meditation Garden and it is a tradition in Asia to do this. I love my staff because they all have a love for hospitality and catering to our guests. They also love Carmel and talking about this amazing place. I will tell them that you appreciated their service. Warmest Regards to you and please return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

What a wonderful relaxing treat! From the moment that you walk into your room the understated luxury is apparent. Dark wood with Asian styling, spa like amenities in the bath and luxury linens. The room is a wonderful oasis of calm after the bustle of touristy Carmel. We had a room with a balcony and a partial ocean view. The Hotel has been totally reconditioned and remodeled and won many awards for the tasteful work. The Hotel is an easy walk to the main strip. I would not hesitate to stay here again and again, a welcome change from the overdone options in the area.

Room Tip: The top floor on the west side of the building has the ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
I love your review! Thank you for taking the time to write it. I am glad that you appreciate the "understated luxury". We have made a huge effort to buy the very best for the rooms and amenities, and it makes it all worthwhile when guests like you acknowledge it. We are also trying to be as environmentally conscious as possible. We switched from the Aveda bath products in tiny plastic bottles to our own specially made natural organic bath products in dispensers to save on plastic. Our soaps are hand-made and guests now want to buy them for their home use. We are constantly trying to improve and keep the rooms fresh. I hope that you can return soon! Warmest Regards, from the staff at Tradewinds Carmel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

What a pleasant, wonderful place. Excellent, friendly, helpful staff. Beautiful grounds. Our room had a fire place, and lovely Balinese touches.
Lovely continental breakfast.
I'm in the hospitality business, and I'm jealous, these people really have got it right.

Room Tip: Only saw our room, but I'd guess they're all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Your review puts on smile on my face. The most important reviews are from our fellow hoteliers and stating that we have got it right, makes my day. Please return and tell us that you are in the hospitality business. We will offer industry rates. Warm Regards to you and I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The Tradewinds is unknown to many travelers headed into the Monterey Peninsula area, but it shoudn't be. It is a very fine facility, within walking distance of everything in downtown Carmel, with many ocean view rooms and a great staff. Their are many quite famous properties nearby, including the Lodge at Pebble Beach, Spanish Bay, the Highlands Inn, Tickle Pink and dozens of boutique inns within the town. The Tradewinds is overall a great value. Recommend that you try it. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We love our guests from Fresno! We have quite a few repeat guests who travel from Fresno during the summer to get away from the heat. Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and you are right, we don't advertise much so we are not high-profile. We depend on word of mouth from our guests! We consider ourselves a secret gem in downtown Carmel. This is our 55th year in business under the same family ownership!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This was a very last minute booking indeed and what a joy. Everything about this place is great. The staff, generous size bedroom, décor and ambience. It was just very unfortunate that we only managed to spend a very quick over night stay but would not hesitate in staying here again. This little gem is a lot better that some of the 5* places we have stayed in the US. We just wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We agree! We provide a quality product and more personalized service than many of the 5* hotels in the U.S. We only buy the finest amenities for our guests and it makes it all worthwhile when guests like you appreciate it. We buy the finest silks for pillows, Fili D'Oro linens, custom wood furniture from Bali and Japan, Belgium chocolate, handmade organic soaps and natural organic bath products, cage-free organic eggs and organic fresh fruit for our breakfast. Thank you for appreciating it all! Please return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cham, Zug, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed in this hotel in December and we have been really impressed by the rooms. The fireplace was great. The room was perfect, the mattress was absolutely great. The choice of food for breakfast was great and organic. Real cottage cheese, fresh fruits, fresh bagels and croissants.
The service was great too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! So glad that you enjoyed the fireplace and mattresses and breakfast. We serve only organic natural food items, including free-range hard boiled eggs. We try to only offer the best amenities to our guests and it is so rewarding when our guests like you enjoy it! Please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#6 Family Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, Mediterranean - 3 blocks from Ocean Ave. on a quiet residential street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradewinds Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.