We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend visit-” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Save Saved
You added Tradewinds Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Tradewinds Carmel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Surf and Turf package
Ranked #8 of 21 hotels in Carmel
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“weekend visit-”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I must say the staff was extremely helpful and very friendly.
I wanted to take a drive along the coast and the person at the front desk mapped it out for me and marked attractions down and the drive and places were simply breath taking.
The recommendations for local restaurants were perfect.
My room was perfect. Amazing bed, fireplace, bathroom with a jacuzzi tub.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you! Thank you! We are delighted that you had a perfect weekend visit. We love to share this area with our guests and I am glad that my staff assisted you with your journey down the coast. We have a "home grown" staff who all love this area. Thank you for complimenting us on our beds, fireplaces, and spa tubs! Please come see us again on your holidays in Carmel!
Our best to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    64
    21
    11
    12
See reviews for
37
143
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed with our dog in a room with a fireplace. The room had everything we needed, very soft comfortable, Egyptian cotton sheets. There is a little dog park just a short way down the street. Breakfast in bed every morning delivered to your room. The hotel is a two block walk to Ocean Blvd where the majority of shops are. Clean, comfortable and convenient, everything one needs in a hotel. Above all, pet friendly!

Room Tip: Honestly all the rooms are convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Wow! The top rating! Thank you very much for giving us the top rating on Trip Advisor. We are so happy that the room met your expectations and offered you everything that you needed. We also are happy that you could bring your pet! We hope that you can return in the near future. All of our best, the staff at Tradewinds Carmel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed here for one night on December 5th 2013. The service was excellent, from check in to check out. Very nice breakfast in the morning too - fresh fruits, pastries, and hard boiled eggs. The rooms were immaculate and very comfortable. The hotel cat was very friendly and followed us into our room after breakfast. This is very conveniently located and parking was simple. They gave us excellent recommendations for restaurants when we arrived late and in the off-season. I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you and "Sweetie" our rescue cat says thank you, too! After almost 55 years in business under the same family ownership, we still shouldn't be such a "hidden" gem, but we are learning gradually how to come into the electronic age! We could use help on social media!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is like other Carmel hotels - built many years ago yet this one has been updated nicely. Rooms are comfortable and well appointed. You're 3 blocks from Ocean Ave, the main drag. Breakfast is good, and included. The staff is very very nice.

Room Tip: Be aware, some of the rooms have balconies yet are on top of the building next door so if you sat ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am blessed with a very caring staff and I am glad that you had a good experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

My mother, her dog, and I stayed here last spring. They were very accommodating and friendly in the office, and it was an easy walk to the room, which was spacious, with a little kitchenette, and a nice big tub (can't remember if there were jets--I think so). We had two balconies, and I slept on a fold out couch which was ready to go when we arrived--it was quite comfortable, and felt like a separate bedroom (there is a separating door and an additional television in the "living area"). Aside from the fireplace, the best part of staying here is the location--an easy walk to many tasty restaurants and patisseries for coffee in the morning, and the beach is not much further than the town's center!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you! Sounds like you stayed in one of our suites which are very warm and comfortable. We are currently renovating the entire suite building and it will be amazing in a couple of months. Hope that you can visit again soon! Warmest Regards and Happy Holidays to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

What a great visit! My partner and I, along with our 2 pups took a quick weekend trip to Tradewinds from SF after the Thanksgiving holiday. As a 'hotelier' I can be pretty picky, and at times, ok always(!), very critical when traveling. I can honestly say that Tradewinds was perfect. From the personable reception crew, porter, housekeeping, to the facility, ground, room, bed, and views. Everything was simply perfect. When traveling, I often enjoy trying out new accommodations, however, when visiting Carmel, Tradewinds is the only option. Our only regret was that we only stayed the night! Already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
What a great review! We truly hope to see again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Quiet & well appointed. Rooms are exceptionally welcoming from the lovely beds to the cozy fireplace and with well tended and lush gardens. The staff are welcoming and helpful even to our pets. Issues such as with the wifi and tv are apologetically and immediately resolved. Quite the place for meditation. The lovely robes, (We actually bought some.) chocolates and orchid on arrival were just a few of the exceptional amenities that made the visit all the more enjoyable. They can even recommend pet sitters for when your activities are not pet friendly, in your room or not. Andrew walked our puppies to the beach. They were quite happy and content with him. Christian is a professional happy to help as well as Theresa who checked us in and gave us recommendations and tips.The room was so pleasant we spent time there just relaxing. Of course we will be returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Oh, what a lovely review! We can hardly wait until you return. Warmest Regards to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel
Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Carmel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, Mediterranean - 3 blocks from Ocean Ave. on a quiet residential street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradewinds Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.