We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Save Saved
You added Tradewinds Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Tradewinds Carmel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Surf and Turf package
Ranked #8 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Sandy, Utah
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This 4 night stay was a real treat. Checked in for 3 nights, but added one after staying there for a couple. The room was so beautifully designed and furnished in Asian decor. Colors very rich and earthy. Bed very comfortable. Great bath and shower area. Loved the gas fireplace controlled with timer. Also loved the ceiling . . . pitched and very interesting in design and workmanship. No wonder this place was written up in Architectural Digest a few years back. We stayed in one of the nicer king rooms that had a balcony and view of the ocean and point lobos over the tree tops. Nice breakfast in the am too. Walking distance from all of Carmel's shops but not in the thick of the crowds. Would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #19 and if we returned would definitely request the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. We are glad that we met your expectations and that you could appreciate the decor. Room 19 truly is a beautiful room, and one of our most popular. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    64
    21
    11
    12
See reviews for
36
142
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Over rated property and the room smelled. We had the misfortune of staying at the same time as a large group of bicyclists. There was no place to sit at breakfast. They ran out of coffee and although one of the bicyclists informed the staff, they forgot. I bussed my own table after another couple left and was "thanked" by the staff for doing so! Wait a minute, hadn't I just paid $500 for one night in a "suite?" Luckily we begged our way out of the second night and moved on to The Intercontinental in Monterey where we stayed for half the price in a fresh smelling large room over looking the ocean! Live and learn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
I have sorry that you weren't happy with the suite. Backroads Bicycle Tours stays with us often. I will have to coordinate the breakfast seatings next time they visit. I am sorry that everyone wanted breakfast at the same time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the Tradewinds the staff were friendly and helpful.
Our room was actually small we had requested a part ocean view and this could only be seen if you stood on your tip toes and had your head at a weird angle which was disappointing.
However, the friendly helpful staff far out weigh the ocean view point. We just wish the room and bathroom had been a little bigger as it did at times feel a little cramped.
It was about £600 for us for 2 nights stay (GBP) which was the most we paid for any hotels during our trip up to coast for a 2 night stay but this could be due to the area itself.
One thing I would say is we were informed by the staff that there was no aircon this didnt prove to much of a problem as the staff can provide you some fans and Carmel is such a beautiful and friendly town that you can leave your windows open in the room to keep it cool, even when you are woundering round the town. I personally would love to live in a town like this.
We would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
And we certainly hope to see you again! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough and kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

A friend and I stayed at this hotel for a night in September and my only complaint is that we couldn't have stayed longer. The room was beautiful and extremely we'll appointed. We had a gorgeous ocean view and slept to the sounds of the surf. Hotel staff were amazing. When they found out we would not be able to stay for breakfast due to an early flight, they left fruit and yogurt for us in the room that night while we were out. The hotel is a bit of a walk from the downtown core but after a delicious meal at Casanova we really needed to walk off some calories!

In the evenings they light a fire in the courtyard which makes a wonderful place to enjoy a glass of California wine.

I would highly recommend this hotel as a lovely, peaceful get-away.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for the ocean view, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you! Thank you! We are so glad that you could appreciate all of the details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a lovely two night stay during our recent visit to Carmel. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the beds are extremely comfortable.
I had requested a room with a sea view which unfortunately we did not get, however we spend most our time walking around the charming town of Carmel that it did not really matter.
The complimentary continental breakfast in the morning was great as was the wifi. A rare treat that we came across during our road trip.
We would absolutely chose to stay at the Tradewinds again and would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a lovely quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We appreciate your kind words and hope that we can see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
163 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a lovely stay here. We had a king room with partial ocean view. The bed was very comfortable and the room spacious. The staff are all friendly and helpful. A nice continental breakfast is served in the mornings. The inn is located within easy walking distance to restaurants and shops. It would be nice to have a few more bathroom amenities like cotton balls, buds, shower cap though. We would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are so happy that you had a lovely 4 night stay! We are actually adding some bathroom amenities based upon your request. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very helpful staff and spacious rooms. Other reviewers talk about the stairs which I didn't mind but would caution people who stay there if they want to avoid using their car in Carmel it is a long walk back up the hill to the hotel (especially after dinner!)

There are lots of restaurants and bars nearby but none on site

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues be sure and mention it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you! I am blessed with a wonderful staff who all really care about our guests. We have lovely guests which makes our jobs fun and rewarding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel
Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Carmel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, Mediterranean - 3 blocks from Ocean Ave. on a quiet residential street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradewinds Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.