We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a Fantastic Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Save Saved
You added Tradewinds Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tradewinds Carmel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Surf and Turf package
Ranked #8 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Hotel in a Fantastic Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the Tradewinds the staff were friendly and helpful.
Our room was actually small we had requested a part ocean view and this could only be seen if you stood on your tip toes and had your head at a weird angle which was disappointing.
However, the friendly helpful staff far out weigh the ocean view point. We just wish the room and bathroom had been a little bigger as it did at times feel a little cramped.
It was about £600 for us for 2 nights stay (GBP) which was the most we paid for any hotels during our trip up to coast for a 2 night stay but this could be due to the area itself.
One thing I would say is we were informed by the staff that there was no aircon this didnt prove to much of a problem as the staff can provide you some fans and Carmel is such a beautiful and friendly town that you can leave your windows open in the room to keep it cool, even when you are woundering round the town. I personally would love to live in a town like this.
We would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
And we certainly hope to see you again! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough and kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    72
    25
    11
    13
See reviews for
40
154
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Perry, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

A friend and I stayed at this hotel for a night in September and my only complaint is that we couldn't have stayed longer. The room was beautiful and extremely we'll appointed. We had a gorgeous ocean view and slept to the sounds of the surf. Hotel staff were amazing. When they found out we would not be able to stay for breakfast due to an early flight, they left fruit and yogurt for us in the room that night while we were out. The hotel is a bit of a walk from the downtown core but after a delicious meal at Casanova we really needed to walk off some calories!

In the evenings they light a fire in the courtyard which makes a wonderful place to enjoy a glass of California wine.

I would highly recommend this hotel as a lovely, peaceful get-away.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for the ocean view, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you! Thank you! We are so glad that you could appreciate all of the details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a lovely two night stay during our recent visit to Carmel. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the beds are extremely comfortable.
I had requested a room with a sea view which unfortunately we did not get, however we spend most our time walking around the charming town of Carmel that it did not really matter.
The complimentary continental breakfast in the morning was great as was the wifi. A rare treat that we came across during our road trip.
We would absolutely chose to stay at the Tradewinds again and would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a lovely quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We appreciate your kind words and hope that we can see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
162 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a lovely stay here. We had a king room with partial ocean view. The bed was very comfortable and the room spacious. The staff are all friendly and helpful. A nice continental breakfast is served in the mornings. The inn is located within easy walking distance to restaurants and shops. It would be nice to have a few more bathroom amenities like cotton balls, buds, shower cap though. We would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are so happy that you had a lovely 4 night stay! We are actually adding some bathroom amenities based upon your request. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very helpful staff and spacious rooms. Other reviewers talk about the stairs which I didn't mind but would caution people who stay there if they want to avoid using their car in Carmel it is a long walk back up the hill to the hotel (especially after dinner!)

There are lots of restaurants and bars nearby but none on site

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues be sure and mention it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you! I am blessed with a wonderful staff who all really care about our guests. We have lovely guests which makes our jobs fun and rewarding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were traveling from San Francisco to Los Angeles and were staying here one night as a half way point. I would say it had a Zen atmosphere. The have a Buddha Statue in the courtyard. I would say it is relaxing and tranquil. I would not consider a luxury hotel. It is a small hotel. The room was very nice. It had a king size bed. The bed was very comfortable. It had a modern spa-like bathroom. The town of Carmel is very quaint. The beach in Carmel is Beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you! "Relaxing and Tranquil" are our goals for our wonderful guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franklin, tn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beautiful room, lots of little extras, great staff, happy location...just up the road from our favorite Carmel restaurant, Grasing's. Returning from dinner, we grabbed sweaters and sat out by the fire pit. Another couple was there. We shared a bottle of wine and travel stories. It's very inviting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Your review entices me to want to sit around the fire-pit with a bottle of wine and meet other guests! Our guests are all very interesting, sophisticated and gentile people. It makes our job so fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#7 Family Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, Mediterranean - 3 blocks from Ocean Ave. on a quiet residential street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradewinds Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.