We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tradewinds Carmel to your Saves list
Tradewinds Carmel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Wine and Dine
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A great little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a lovely two night stay during our recent visit to Carmel. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the beds are extremely comfortable.
I had requested a room with a sea view which unfortunately we did not get, however we spend most our time walking around the charming town of Carmel that it did not really matter.
The complimentary continental breakfast in the morning was great as was the wifi. A rare treat that we came across during our road trip.
We would absolutely chose to stay at the Tradewinds again and would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a lovely quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We appreciate your kind words and hope that we can see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    78
    27
    11
    14
See reviews for
47
165
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
172 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a lovely stay here. We had a king room with partial ocean view. The bed was very comfortable and the room spacious. The staff are all friendly and helpful. A nice continental breakfast is served in the mornings. The inn is located within easy walking distance to restaurants and shops. It would be nice to have a few more bathroom amenities like cotton balls, buds, shower cap though. We would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are so happy that you had a lovely 4 night stay! We are actually adding some bathroom amenities based upon your request. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very helpful staff and spacious rooms. Other reviewers talk about the stairs which I didn't mind but would caution people who stay there if they want to avoid using their car in Carmel it is a long walk back up the hill to the hotel (especially after dinner!)

There are lots of restaurants and bars nearby but none on site

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues be sure and mention it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you! I am blessed with a wonderful staff who all really care about our guests. We have lovely guests which makes our jobs fun and rewarding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were traveling from San Francisco to Los Angeles and were staying here one night as a half way point. I would say it had a Zen atmosphere. The have a Buddha Statue in the courtyard. I would say it is relaxing and tranquil. I would not consider a luxury hotel. It is a small hotel. The room was very nice. It had a king size bed. The bed was very comfortable. It had a modern spa-like bathroom. The town of Carmel is very quaint. The beach in Carmel is Beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you! "Relaxing and Tranquil" are our goals for our wonderful guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franklin, tn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beautiful room, lots of little extras, great staff, happy location...just up the road from our favorite Carmel restaurant, Grasing's. Returning from dinner, we grabbed sweaters and sat out by the fire pit. Another couple was there. We shared a bottle of wine and travel stories. It's very inviting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Your review entices me to want to sit around the fire-pit with a bottle of wine and meet other guests! Our guests are all very interesting, sophisticated and gentile people. It makes our job so fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent two nights at Tradewinds and the experience was disappointing. We were paying 500$ a night and were expecting a luxurious experience.
We had a balcony king ocean view room and the view from the balcony was obstructed by roofs from other buildings. Our first nights sleep was interrupted by noise from other people moving in. It had the feel of a poor motel as doors slammed and peoples conversations were heard in our room.
The bed was not comfortable and the carpets needed shampooing. The room was stuffy so the window needed to be left open as we slept but then the noise was a problem.
Coffee was not served until 8am so they put an old mr coffee maker in the room which seemed like a Holiday Inn in the 1980's. Breakfast was really poor and if you were leaving early you were out of luck as it was served late.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at Tradewinds. I liked that it was within walking to check out town, but felt the overall value was very poor. We had an ocean view room, but it's so far from the ocean that it wasn't even worth sitting on the patio for. The room smelled weird and we took one look at the breakfast and headed to town to La Bicyclette, which was great. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#7 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, Mediterranean - 3 blocks from Ocean Ave. on a quiet residential street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradewinds Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.