We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to end the day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Save Saved
You added Tradewinds Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tradewinds Carmel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Surf and Turf package
Ranked #8 of 21 hotels in Carmel
franklin, tn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to end the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beautiful room, lots of little extras, great staff, happy location...just up the road from our favorite Carmel restaurant, Grasing's. Returning from dinner, we grabbed sweaters and sat out by the fire pit. Another couple was there. We shared a bottle of wine and travel stories. It's very inviting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Your review entices me to want to sit around the fire-pit with a bottle of wine and meet other guests! Our guests are all very interesting, sophisticated and gentile people. It makes our job so fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    72
    25
    11
    13
See reviews for
40
154
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent two nights at Tradewinds and the experience was disappointing. We were paying 500$ a night and were expecting a luxurious experience.
We had a balcony king ocean view room and the view from the balcony was obstructed by roofs from other buildings. Our first nights sleep was interrupted by noise from other people moving in. It had the feel of a poor motel as doors slammed and peoples conversations were heard in our room.
The bed was not comfortable and the carpets needed shampooing. The room was stuffy so the window needed to be left open as we slept but then the noise was a problem.
Coffee was not served until 8am so they put an old mr coffee maker in the room which seemed like a Holiday Inn in the 1980's. Breakfast was really poor and if you were leaving early you were out of luck as it was served late.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at Tradewinds. I liked that it was within walking to check out town, but felt the overall value was very poor. We had an ocean view room, but it's so far from the ocean that it wasn't even worth sitting on the patio for. The room smelled weird and we took one look at the breakfast and headed to town to La Bicyclette, which was great. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I reviewed several hotels before finally deciding on this one. Once we arrived, I knew I had made the right decision. The location is perfect where we were able to walk into town and the beach within 5 to 10 minutes. The rooms are very clean and the beds are very comfortable. The staff was very courteous and helpful. I will definitely be staying here the next time we are in Carmel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights & after arriving from Yosemite Curry Camp we were delighted with the fabulous room. Loved the fire, the bathroom - especially the spa bath and the beds were SO comfortable. We had the best nights sleep in a long time! In fact we are keen to know where the beds are from as we slept like logs!
The hotel reception are keen to assist and if necessary book restaurants for you. Do ask for maps etc as we found it useful to locate particular restaurants we wanted to visit. Parking was tight but luckily we found a parking.spot for our 2night stay. Wifi was disappointing as kept dropping in & out so very variable. We were planning to do research for next part of our road trip here but found it impossible to use. Called reception but nothing could be done to improve it - apart from.us sitting in reception to use it so not ideal really.
The breakfast is simple with lots of choice- fresh fruit, cereals, bagels/bread, yoghurts, toasters, hot & cold drinks. Tables were are issue with families waiting till over guests was finished so you do feel a bit of pressure to eat & get out.
Really enjoyed our chilled out 2 days in Carmel - was very relaxed after the chaos of Yosemite!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Wonderful location, these hotel has very good rooms with a fireplace and a delicious breakfast. Perfect location for visiting Carmel. You can walk to most attractions and they gave us very good dinner recommendations.
Our rooms had a fireplace and it made all the difference when r=turning in, the weather in Carmel can be chilly. Great place!

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower part of the hotel are less expensive, so we can"t comment on the rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect from this motor inn turned boutique hotel but was pleasantly surprised. Had a top floor room with a small view of the ocean. Wi Fi was very spotty in our room. The fireplace was a nice touch. It's so nice to sleep w windows open and a fire going. This hotel was very quaint, just like Carmel. Morning breakfast had a nice selection.

Room Tip: Top floor w balcony facing ocean was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#7 Family Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, Mediterranean - 3 blocks from Ocean Ave. on a quiet residential street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradewinds Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.