We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tradewinds Carmel to your Saves list
Tradewinds Carmel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Wine and Dine
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Not worth the price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at Tradewinds. I liked that it was within walking to check out town, but felt the overall value was very poor. We had an ocean view room, but it's so far from the ocean that it wasn't even worth sitting on the patio for. The room smelled weird and we took one look at the breakfast and headed to town to La Bicyclette, which was great. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    80
    28
    11
    14
See reviews for
48
166
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I reviewed several hotels before finally deciding on this one. Once we arrived, I knew I had made the right decision. The location is perfect where we were able to walk into town and the beach within 5 to 10 minutes. The rooms are very clean and the beds are very comfortable. The staff was very courteous and helpful. I will definitely be staying here the next time we are in Carmel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights & after arriving from Yosemite Curry Camp we were delighted with the fabulous room. Loved the fire, the bathroom - especially the spa bath and the beds were SO comfortable. We had the best nights sleep in a long time! In fact we are keen to know where the beds are from as we slept like logs!
The hotel reception are keen to assist and if necessary book restaurants for you. Do ask for maps etc as we found it useful to locate particular restaurants we wanted to visit. Parking was tight but luckily we found a parking.spot for our 2night stay. Wifi was disappointing as kept dropping in & out so very variable. We were planning to do research for next part of our road trip here but found it impossible to use. Called reception but nothing could be done to improve it - apart from.us sitting in reception to use it so not ideal really.
The breakfast is simple with lots of choice- fresh fruit, cereals, bagels/bread, yoghurts, toasters, hot & cold drinks. Tables were are issue with families waiting till over guests was finished so you do feel a bit of pressure to eat & get out.
Really enjoyed our chilled out 2 days in Carmel - was very relaxed after the chaos of Yosemite!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Wonderful location, these hotel has very good rooms with a fireplace and a delicious breakfast. Perfect location for visiting Carmel. You can walk to most attractions and they gave us very good dinner recommendations.
Our rooms had a fireplace and it made all the difference when r=turning in, the weather in Carmel can be chilly. Great place!

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower part of the hotel are less expensive, so we can"t comment on the rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect from this motor inn turned boutique hotel but was pleasantly surprised. Had a top floor room with a small view of the ocean. Wi Fi was very spotty in our room. The fireplace was a nice touch. It's so nice to sleep w windows open and a fire going. This hotel was very quaint, just like Carmel. Morning breakfast had a nice selection.

Room Tip: Top floor w balcony facing ocean was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

What a bad experience. A converted motel where the only upgrade from a motel is hardscape floors in the bathroom. The beds were as hard as concrete. All for an outrageous $375/night. Upon checkout I told them (they didnt even ask how the stay was) how dissatisfied we were with the beds and the response was I'm sorry that your bed didnt have a pillow top. Parking is so limited that cars were double parked. The motel is located at the edge of town. When the bellman explained the features of the room, he told us where we could get ice, pointed to two chocolate covered strawberries and said that all of the refreshments were included - the only problem is there were no refreshments other than the two strawberries, a small bag of sugar coated candy and a small bag of pretzels. The front desk said the breakfast was not to be missed and all it included was breads, cereals, yogurt, fruit and coffee/juice. They way the front desk made it sound, we expected a gourmet breakfast.

They can keep the cookies at the Front Desk!

DONT stay here....there are too many other options that cost less money, have real beds, better breakfast options that are closer and offer parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I would have given this an "excellent" except for 2 things which was really no big deal. The first was I thought that we reserved a king bed but somehow(?) ended up reserving 2 queen beds and asked to get the king instead but they made it too big an ordeal to switch so we kept the room with the 2 queens which was fine. The second was the breakfast, or lack there of....there was no staff around to help or clear tables in the small area so we had to get someone. Again, not that big a deal but if you're looking for a real breakfast, you'll need to go into town somewhere. For the good...
We were really pleasantly surprised when we opened the door to the room because from the outside it looks a bit from the 60's and I was expecting to see this old out-dated room with sunken in beds but to my surprise... WOW, this room was modern , very clean, VERY Zen, VERY comfortable beds and an awesome bathroom. There was also an outdoor waterfall which gave a relaxing atmosphere and a fire pit which we hung out at for a couple hours and met some really great people at as well.

Room Tip: It's usually pretty cool in Carmel so be sure to bring plenty of clothes to layer in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#7 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, Mediterranean - 3 blocks from Ocean Ave. on a quiet residential street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradewinds Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.