We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was much better than I expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tradewinds Carmel to your Saves list
Tradewinds Carmel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“It was much better than I expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay. The room was nicely furnished, the breakfast was fantastic, the place is quiet, clean and after a long drive, I just wanted to relax in a romantic hotel. It was perfect. The hotel is near the main street where one can find good restaurants.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you and please tell your friends in Rio that we love our Brazilian guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    88
    31
    12
    14
See reviews for
52
180
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We loved this quiet, clean, beautiful hotel. It was so relaxing, the breakfast was fantastic, the service and amenities top-notch! I'm an admitted hotel snob and would go back here in a heartbeat! I wish I had more time to spend relaxing there: nice spaces to read and relax, great rooms and wonderful views!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
What a nice review. Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stumbled across Tradewinds Carmel at the last minute as we were driving up the Pacific Coast Highway. We've only just checked in, but we were impressed with the service (Christian showed us to our room, where we were treated with chocolate covered strawberries and shown how to operate the fireplace). The Asian decor is elegant and transported us immediately - exactly what we were looking for.

We're excited to spend two nights in Carmel and relax by the firepit tonight!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
We really hope to see you two again! You are such interesting and gracious guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Tucked away on a quiet side street in downtown, this tropical oasis is filled with charm. Our room was tastefully appointed and meticulously maintained. After the perfect day of wining and dining, we enjoyed in room massage, watched a glorious sunset from the balcony, then climbed into the most heavenly bed. The sound of the meditation fountain below lulled us into sweet dreams. We awoke refreshed and renewed. As we headed out for a morning stroll to the beach we checked out the beautiful and elegant breakfast buffet. The attention to detail is most apparent. We look forward to recharging here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you so much and glad you took advantage of our wonderful massage team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

What a find. On the corner of Mission and 3rd surrounded by nature and tree ferns, you will see a pair of elegant, Indonesian doors. Stop and go in side. You will not believe your eyes. Lush Asian gardens, cascading water falls, what a lovely sound. A meditation garden with a bigger than life Buddha fountain... bamboo, ferns, and flowers. The surroundings are soothing and natural. The guestroom is one of the most beautiful I have ever seen. It feels like an Aman Resort in Bali.

Room Tip: Loved the double queen guestroom next to the water feature. I left the window open to hear the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
You noticed our Balinese doors! Thank you for the kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Pros:
Excellent location in the center of beautiful carmel - stay there if u dont have a car
Nice bed
Amazing view
Nice staff
Lovely welcone strawberries

Cons:
Small rooms
Overpriced
Breakfast is realllllllyyyyy bad

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed the views, welcome chocolate covered strawberries, and the location. We are sorry that you didn't care for the breakfast buffet. Warm Regards from Tradewinds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

$277 and we get a room right next to an apartment building on one side, facing the parking lot on the other!? I don't think so. Regular hotel room. Won't be staying here again. Gaudiest mirror in the bathroom. "Asian" influenced furniture bought from TJ Maxx. Needs a facelift. No denying the hotel is well-appointed, location wise but it's not worth the price they charge.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Sorry that you didn't like the decor. Everyone has different taste which is why our hotel photos are on-line.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#3 Business Hotel in Carmel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, Mediterranean - 3 blocks from Ocean Ave. on a quiet residential street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradewinds Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.