We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for what you get.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Save Saved
You added Tradewinds Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tradewinds Carmel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Surf and Turf package
Ranked #8 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Sonoma, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Expensive for what you get.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We just stayed in a "Partial View" King with a private balcony, fireplace and jetted tub. It was on the top floor, I think it was room #6. Including tax this room was over $400. The positives: The hotel is in a good location just a few blocks UP hill from the main shopping/restaurant area. The staff was very nice. The room is nicely laid out and decorated with quality linens etc. The strawberries are a thoughtful touch. The negatives: The property is actually an old motel and seems dated even though they have done the most with what they had to work with. The "View" is only had from standing on a a corner of the balcony as other reviews have noted, NOT worth the $$$ IMO. The bed was very, very soft and we had sore backs in the am (personal opinion.) The room is average size with an average size bath. The breakfast was nothing special just fruit, yoplait yogurt and toast/bagels/muffins. There was some room noise. Overall, this is a nice property but, we wouldnt spend $350-$400 to stay here again as there as so many other great choices in Carmel.

Room Tip: Make sure you are getting the "ocean view" you are paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your review and thank you for the 5 stars for cleanliness and location! Room 6 is one of our most popular rooms with its corner upstairs location, high wood ceilings, private balcony, spa tub, fireplace and partial blue water views. The rack rate is $375 on the weekends (you paid $365). Weekday and slower season rates are lower. We continually research rates in relation to other properties, take into consideration the popularity of certain rooms and the amenities offered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    72
    25
    11
    13
See reviews for
40
154
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

First, I would start by saying that the staff at the Tradewinds is as friendly as I would expect from anyone in the “hospitality” industry. Everyone from the front desk personnel to the young man who showed us to our room helped to kick off a great start to a two-day stay in Carmel. A couple of complimentary chocolate covered strawberries didn’t hurt : )

The property is Asian themed, well maintained and the room was clean and ready for us when we arrived. My girlfriend, our pup, and I stayed in the least expensive room on the property, which still ran us a little under $300/night. Size-wise, the room was fairly standard. Not tiny, not large. Our room was on the bottom floor located very close to the front desk as well as the breakfast area, which does serve a continental breakfast every morning from 8-10.

I can only speak on the room we stayed in so things may be different elsewhere on the property. It was a bit noisy in that we were able to somewhat loudly hear the footsteps of both people and pet in the unit above us as well as what seemed to be furniture being moved. It was enough to wake us multiple times during the night.

Bottom line: The Tradewinds in Carmel is a nice property with a very friendly staff and approximately five short blocks to the main street full of shops and restaurants. If you decide to stay, you might want to ask for an upper level room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your detailed kind review. I believe that you stayed in room 29 which is $250 per night and less during the slower season and weeknights. It is a nice room but can have some noise next to the breakfast room. Many guests love this room because it is really convenient. For the best rates, it is always best to travel Sunday through Thursday. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I booked a last minute 2 night stay for our 37th wedding anniversary late one Sunday night. After checking availability I called the Tradewinds and spoke with Pamela. I asked if any available rooms had an ocean view and she explained that due to their location I would have a horizon view of the ocean. I wouldn't hear the waves or see the waves hitting the shore which was a perfect description of our room. From the Serenity room which I highly recommend, we had beautiful views of the ocean from the livingroom and bedroom balconies. The accomodations were fabulous! High-end bedding and linens. After a 3-hour drive we were able to check in earlier than 3 pm, and had chocolate berries awaiting us in the room and assorted nuts. Our balcony also overlooked the beautiful gardens below with firepit, torches and fountain. We actually slept with the balcony doors open to hear the water of the fountain and our fireplace going in the bedroom. It was very relaxing and I typcially don't sleep well at all when traveling. The continental breakfast had a vast array of fresh fruit, cottage cheese, yogurt, cereals, danish, breads, bagels, cream cheese, butter, jams, juices, teas and coffee that were replenished promptly throughout the morning.
We were given a map of Carmel and dining suggestions were offered. We chose to celebrate our anniversary dinner at Casanovas! The dinner was over the top with superb wine selections. This is truly an authentic French and Italian restaurant - 5 stars for sure. Make a point to visit Tradewinds Carmel and dine at Casanovas just aournd the corner. You will not be disappointed! The Tradewinds is a clean well groomed property that is a must-see!

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view room - book the Serenity. The room is beautiful and perfectly located on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We hope to see you for your 38th! warm regards, the staff at Tradewinds. You were delightful guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in room 17 - which is somewhat in the middele ofthe complex (a motel with typical lay out done up to high standards in Zen like style). The room has nice furniture (although one bed is old and worn), lacks a real desk to work at but has a nice bathroom with good shower and good towels etc. In our reservation (booking.com), we had specifically asked for a quiet room but when informed at checkin if the room was quiet, the lady informed us that they could not garantee any specific room if the bookings came in through the internet (balloney) and offeredto move us to a quiet room for a special 25$/night supplement (instead of what she said would be 50$/night). I declined and was annoyed by the rude sales tactic which actually is a pretty petty and mean way to try to grab some extra revenues (we paid well over 700$/3 nights). We decided to not let this ruin our good feel about the place and spend 3 comfortable nights, and enjoyed good breakfasts. The hotel offers free on site parking and free wifi.

We recommend this hotel but urge the management to be honest and refrain from the rather transparent upselling tactics.

Room Tip: Insist on the room type you paid for. Camel is a very sleepy town so traffic noise is not an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello and thank you for your nice comments. The upstairs rooms in the Queen building are $50 more per night. You reserved a Garden level room which may have a guest above you. To accommodate you, we actually were offering a discount on our view rooms. I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and the location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The hotel is an old motor inn thoughtfully restored with a Bali feel to it. The bathroom was updated and the bedding and furnishings are very well done. We purchased an "Ocean King" via Expedia-AARP for a mid week stay for 2 nights in April, presumably not their busiest time of year. Although the room was impressive in it's decor, we were shocked to learn the "ocean" view was only accessible from a remote corner of the patio, overlooking the palms and ferns. Most of the view was of the apartment complex across the street. When I checked with Pamela at the front desk she confirmed it was a stretch to say it was an ocean view room and was really more of a "partial" ocean view room. For another $150+ per night I could get the ocean view I thought I had purchased. Expedia got involved and was told the same story and confirmed the information on their website as provided by the hotel was not completely accurate. It was disappointing since we were celebrating our 30th anniversary and didn't get exactly what we wanted but we made the best of it. Carmel is a lovely town and there are many choices for hotels and inns in the area. Do your homework and make sure you get what you think you are paying for.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. The world of on-line travel agents like Expedia is very complicated. Sometimes we see room descriptions on Expedia, Orbitz and others that we don't even have. Orbitz once printed that we had a queen/queen room with a fireplace which we don't! We do provide information to on-line travel agents but they don't always get it right. To guarantee that you are getting the exact room that you prefer, it is always best to ring the hotel and get the personal service that you deserve. We will always guarantee that you get the rates as printed on the on-line travel agent sites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great location just a couple blocks from the beach, shops and restaurants. Very comfortable room with Asian decor, very comfortable bed and very nice linens. I loved the peaceful atmosphere of the courtyard garden. It was very inviting and relaxing. I also really liked the fountains in both the rooms and the garden. It was a very tranquil place to stay and I would not hesitate to stay there again next time I am in Carmel. Excellent service too!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your gracious review. We are glad that you loved the linens, the bed and the peacefulness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Loved staying here. Gorgous rooms, lovely golden tones and water features.
Very nice location, great restaurants nearby. SO Romantic .
I liked being in a neighborhood seting away from hustle & bustle..
This is the perfect place for a romantic getaway. Doesn't get better.

Room Tip: Beautiful Zen garden in the courtyard area.Terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your enthusiastic review! We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#7 Family Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, Mediterranean - 3 blocks from Ocean Ave. on a quiet residential street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradewinds Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.