We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene, Tranquil Tradewinds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tradewinds Carmel to your Saves list
Tradewinds Carmel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Serene, Tranquil Tradewinds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Tradewinds Carmel by far is the best hotel in Carmel! This is our first stay at this hotel and will now be followed by many more! We have no desire to stay anywhere else but Tradewinds. From the moment I called (last minute by the way) and spoke with the lovely Barret to our checkout and meeting the wonderful owner, Susan our stay was magnificent! When you walk into your beautiful, clean room you are greeted by lovely "spa" music playing with the sounds of your own, live water fountain situated in your room and to top it off there are chocolate covered strawberries that were delicious! As a bonus this is a pet friendly hotel and for the first time there wasn't that "wet" dog smell anywhere!!!!! There are a few Carmel hotels that pride themselves as pet friendly which is great but the rooms don't need to smell like a wet dog. Take note other pet friendly Carmel hotels. Everyone at Tradewinds was so very pleasant and accommodating. The grounds are spotless and we felt we walk into a Spa Retreat. We wished we could have stayed longer but will look so forward to doing so our next visit. So thank you Susan, Barret and team - you guys truly take pride in your business and it shows.

Room Tip: No swimming pool by the way - i couldn't click off that tap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you so much! You are such a delightful family. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    85
    30
    12
    14
See reviews for
50
176
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Fantastic little luxury hotel tucked away in the town of Carmel. A little expensive however worth it for a romantic time. We drove from LA for San Francisco and this was our stop for the night, after a 9 hour drive it was a perfect place to relax. Great service from the staff, nice breakfast and very attentive. Chocolate coated strawberries on arrival followed by an excellent shower (i am a fan of a good shower). 15 minute walk to the beach and 5 minute walk to most of the restaurants in town. The reservations staff gave us an excellent dinner recommendation.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
I love your description of Tradewinds! "luxury hotel tucked away in the town of Carmel...attentive staff,", etc. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Interested in a marketing position?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

From the minute we arrived, we were charmed by this boutique hotel. The setting and the grounds are lovely and relaxing. We were warmly greeted and taken to our room, which was quite spacious and very nice. The beds are very comfortable.
We walked around the grounds before going for dinner. The fountains are very soothing and the outdoor fireplace was a great place to sit and enjoy the night air without being too cold. The location is great as we left our car and walked to town for dinner. It was about a 5 minute walk to the restaurant.
In the morning, we went to get breakfast and chose to eat it on our terrace while looking at teh ocean. it was a very peaceful setting. We wished we could stay longer. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
So glad that you found Tradewinds to be peaceful and relaxing. Thank you so much and please return soon. The fire-pit and Meditation Garden are waiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Can't say enough how much we enjoyed the Tradewinds! This is one of the few family owned hotels in the area and the property and rooms were exquisitely remodeled to deliver a luxurious environment which really shows in both the quality of finishes in the rooms and the central courtyard area's firepit, fountains and plantings. What really sets this hotel apart from the others is all the attention paid to the little details like a soothing in room water fountain, gas fireplace, free snacks, chocolate covered strawberries on arrival, little dark chocolates, high end bath and soap products and a variety of glassware for wine and regular drinks and a staff who is very attentive, friendly and informative of all to do and see in the area. Both my wife and I can't wait to return to stay here again!

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the place. Carmel is so quiet that even garden rooms at street level are quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
...and we can hardly wait until you return. Thank you so much for such a thorough and thoughtful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County Ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We recently stayed at the Tradewinds hotel our experience was fantastic, from the moment we arrived staff was extremely helpful, the quality of the room was better than advertised including a wonderful fireplace we really enjoyed,the bed was so comfortable,bathroom better than expected over all one of the best rooms we have stayed in, within 3 blocks we found 3 incredible restaurant's,a breakfast place that served some of the best corn beef hash i have ever had, and a dog groomer 3 doors down from the hotel, in addition to all that they pay attention to detail's,one of the unexpected surprises was they give you nut's and candy free, a nice touch we were just at a similar 4 star hotel the previous week, if you even touch the items in fridge for over 5 seconds you are charged a ridiculous price a little annoying, we highly recommend this hotel if you are in Carmel.

Room Tip: I would definitely suggest the rooms facing the fire pit and water feature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Glad that you liked the free snacks in the rooms. I agree that it is nice to not have to pay extra for a snack when you arrive and want something to eat. Thank you for your kind review. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleasant hill ca
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Carmel is established,compact and expensive.Shopping,restaurants,hotels and the beach are all right there.Don't expect new,giant hotels.I stayed at the Tradewinds using a SniqueAway deal-making it almost a bargain.
After a long drive or a full day of doing the tourist thing,this was a lovely place to relax and then to sleep. The outdoor firepit surrounded by bamboo,private sitting areas near the fountain and waterfeatures just made it seem nice and tropical.Everything in the room just added to the feeling of tranquility.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
We have met our goal with your title "Relaxing Oasis". Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San diego, CA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Tradeswinds Hotel was done in an Asian Theme. Very nice exterior with waterfall, bamboo and fountain. Tradewinds had three parking lots for each of the three levels of rooms. Continental breakfast in their breakfast room on lower floor. Staff was very friendly. We brought our small dog along with her own bed, as Tradewinds is a pet friendly hotel. Dogs not allowed in breakfast dining area or left alone in rooms (for fire reasons). Several people either ate breakfast outside on benches with their companions or locked them in their cars for a short time, which was ok, as the mornings have a cool marine layer. Recommend Carmel Beach and the Scenic Dr. along the waters edge in the afternoon. Tradewinds is about a five block walk to Ocean Avenue to the shops, etc. Can also drive, but parking can sometimes be hard to find depending on time of years. We had a nice 40th anniversary in Carmel and will go back again. Over all a good location to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Room with outdoor balcony with small table and two chairs was nice. Nice ocean breezes. We did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review and to alert other potential guests that we have some pet-friendly rooms. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, Mediterranean - 3 blocks from Ocean Ave. on a quiet residential street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradewinds Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.