We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful oasis of style and tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tradewinds Carmel to your Saves list
Tradewinds Carmel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Wine and Dine
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
East Horsley, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A beautiful oasis of style and tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights and it was absolutely perfect. After the hustle and bustle of downtown San Fransisco we wanted somewhere quiet and relaxing to unwind for a few days before heading home. What a perfect choice this was. Of course Carmel itself is a beautiful place but to find such a treasure as Tradewinds was a real bonus. Having stayed in ShangriLa Hotels across Asia we thought we had walked into their latest addition! The decor and furnishings were beautiful and luxurious and we love the asian feel this place has and it seems to exude a sense or tranquility when you sit down to relax in your room. Many smalll nice touches exist which other reviewers have mentioned so I will skip the details here. The staff were great and very helpful with recommendations on where to go and where to eat. Breakfast was a good buffet mix and anybody who is in desperate need of a cooked breakfast can head to one of the many eateries nearby, but for us the choice was more than satisfactory. It's not easy to find such well maintained and nicely thought out private accommodation like this. This is a real treasure. If we ever get back to this area again we will definitely stay at Tradewinds.

Room Tip: We had a king size room. The seaview rooms are on the higher floors and give a partial view of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Comparing us to ShangriLa Hotels in Asia made my day! We do try to focus on the details and offer a unique experience. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    80
    28
    11
    14
See reviews for
48
166
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Highly recommend the romantic weekend. Chocolate covered strawberries, couple's massage, excellent dinner, great views, and a beautiful bouquet of flowers. The staff provided excellent service. The décor was exquisite.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the third floor facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you! I am so glad that you enjoyed the Romance Package! You are such delightful guests. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

From the moment we arrived in Carmel, we knew we had selected the most perfect place to stay. We got to the Tradewinds about 1PM. When we checked in, we got a very warm welcome from Susan and Sylvia. I was handed a fresh orchid. What a lovely way to begin our stay in Carmel. Our room was just about ready for us.
Mary escorted us to the room and told us about all the amenities inside. The room was beautifully decorated. The King size bed had luxurious bedding. There was a patio with a partial ocean view, a fireplace and a spa tub. It was obvious that the hotel staff went out of their way to add special touches to make each guest's visit memorable. On the table there were many treats for us. The chocolate covered strawberries were delicious. In addition, there were also small packages of all kinds of goodies to eat. The entire atmosphere at the Tradewinds is serene, tranquil and peaceful. Another staff member we got to meet was Pamela. She was the person we initially spoke with to make our reservations. She was as helpful in person as she was on the telephone. She gave us great tips on where to go and helped us select restaurants for dinner. She even took time to take pictures of my husband and myself in front of the Buddha statue. Needless to say, we just loved our stay at the Tradewinds. The staff is superb and we hope to return again next year and see everyone.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a room that has a paito, fireplace & spa tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had the pleasure of returning to Tradewinds after 5 years. We were a little worried that it might show some wear and tear and were so thrilled to find everything was just as beautifully maintained and plush as before. We absolutely love this wonderful boutique hotel and any place that has a resident cat is tops in our book! However, it is all the attention to detail that made this a great experience. The staff was always gracious, friendly and helpful. The room was elegant, yet very comfortable and the grounds were pretty and evoked relaxation. Everything was absolutely immaculate and the bed was so comfy. All the linens were luxurious, looked like new and smelled great! We really enjoyed the delicious chocolate dipped strawberries in our room, as well as the other complimentary yummy treats. We really like the location being off the beaten path, but still just a quick walk to all the shops and restaurants. The continental breakfast was described on the website and even had more items available. There was a variety of fresh fruit that was cut up and then also some whole in the skins to take on the run. Delicious pastries, variety of breads and various toppings (jams, peanut butter, cream cheese), yogurt, cereal, juice, coffee, etc. We enjoyed every bite and had plenty of tasty things to eat. As if we didn't get enough goodies, there were also cookies in the lobby in the afternoon. We really had a great stay and hope it won't be another 5 years before we can get back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you so much. We are constantly maintaining Tradewinds and glad that you found it "beautifully maintained". We are currently in the process of working on a new interior design for the suite building. We so depend on our repeat guests like you! Please return soon! Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We loved everything about this hotel, from the Asian decor to its location within walking distance of great restaurants. When we checked in the desk clerk (also the owner as I later found out) was very thorough about showing us where to eat, shop, and go in her town. The room was so quiet and restful, and beautifully decorated. I bought one of the lovely kimonos to take home. We enjoyed the fresh breakfast which is much more lavish than the usual continental fare. the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. We can't wait to return.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

After reading all of the MANY positive reviews and critiques of Tradewinds, I feel compelled to add ours to the list as we were truly disappointed and won't return.

Tradewinds does have a terrific location....but, for over $400 for the ocean view room (in the distance), and all the positive feedback online (really?), we expected SO much more. It does have a nice location for walking in town so, if you snag a low price for a room and keep your expectations lower, stay for just that reason. BTW, we've paid less for Ritz Carlton and Four Seasons oceanfront properties, not to mention oceanfront inns nationwide that were memorable!

In my opinion, it is a glorified motel with beautiful landscape architecture and a comfortable bed with Frette sheets. The ocean view room was butted up against another building and overlooked a sea of other apartment patios, even though we did see the ocean in the distance . The neighboring hotel guests were outside on the connected patio much of the time and so very close that it felt like they were also in our room.

On first arrival, a student aka "bellman" walked us to our room with an orchid (we had no luggage for him to carry) and then left after he said "here's your room". It was unnecessary and didn't feel welcoming as I am sure the innkeepers hoped. There is a zen-like small fountain in the room...but we can't comment on it since ours did not work. We had no shampoo, conditioner, moisturizer, etc in the room on arrival, just two bars of soap. Each and every morning the housekeepers thrashed around in the supply closet right outside our door, adding to our disappointing stay. In addition, the bathroom shower was old, crusty and didn't work properly.

We did not find any of the staff particularly friendly or memorable; especially those who worked the bleak breakfast "buffet" (think chain hotel continental breakfast). We so hoped breakfast would be special, but it was equally disappointing. In fact, we left after the continental breakfast and ate breakfast at the nearby Katy's Restaurant, which was delightful and worth a visit. On our visit all of the guests we spoke with felt the same.

We won't return to Tradewinds as there are so many lovely, special and charming places to stay in Carmel. This just wasn't one of them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am personally concerned about each and every guest and I am sorry that you did not have a good experience. Our staff are very careful to describe views. I am wondering if you made your reservation on-line or over the phone. We much prefer phone reservations so that we can thoroughly describe the room and view. Our continental breakfast buffet features french pastries from Parker-Lusseau, a local French bakery, fresh-cut up fruit (melon, watermelon, strawberries, pineapple, etc.), cereals, breads, yogurt and juices. We do describe the breakfast over the phone. I do recommend Katy's Place, a little restaurant a block away for those who prefer an extended eggs/pancake breakfast. I am not sure what happened with the shampoo, etc. Each room has our own specially made brand of organic, natural shampoos, conditioners, body wash and lotion. With respect to the bellmen, we will discuss the procedures with them. They normally take our guests into their rooms and describe all of the room features. Again, thank you so much for your time and I wish that you could return so that we could insure that you have a good stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Get an ocean view room! We had the sliding door opened all the time and those winds were grand. No need for air conditioning here, and we were there in July. The staff was so helpful. They made all our dinner reservations and provided great tips on what to do. Parking is on site and all of Carmel is an easy walk.

Room Tip: The ocean view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you so much! Our guests are so happy to have relief from the heat. We hope to see you again soon. Warm Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#7 Family Hotel in Carmel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, Mediterranean - 3 blocks from Ocean Ave. on a quiet residential street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradewinds Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.