We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Save Saved
You added Tradewinds Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tradewinds Carmel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Surf and Turf package
Ranked #8 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Coral Gables, FL
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

A charming and quiet place to relax. It is close to the main centre of town, an easy walk down the hill to the centre of town, so so going back up. A beautiful room and the staff was very friendly and very informative of where to go and what to do.
The breakfast was average - breads, cereals and fruits..
This was just perfect, we wanted to get away from the traffic and "busy" streets.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    73
    25
    11
    13
See reviews for
42
154
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Such a relaxing and cute place for a quiet night away!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aptos, ca
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

The hotel and staff were excellent. We were close to everything, but on a quiet street. Everyone at the hotel was really helpful. We loved our room and enjoyed the gardens and firepit. It was the perfect place to get some much needed rest and relaxation. We loved the fact that their cat, Sweetie, greeted us in the same warm and friendly manner that their staff accorded us. Rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortabe. The breakfast was perfect. I would definitely return to this spot.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the ocean view king. Good plan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Fl
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

It was one of those perfect overnights.........We had one night before heading to the airport in San Francisco and choose Tradwinds in Carmel. The room decor was relaxing and well appointed. Exceptional bed, the best room darkening drapes ever, delightful fireplace and spacious bath. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

I had heard about the Tradewinds and headed there seeking tranquility and rest. I was delighted to find lush towering tropical gardens, gently flowing fountains, a meditation garden, and a room that met my very high standards of cleanliness and comfort.. I always brace myself for unsavory sights and smells when I open the door of a hotel room. At the Tradewinds, the room was already alive; soft music and the gentle sound of a tranquility fountain were wafting through the air. And the air was odor free much to my delight.
The bed was comfortable, the neighborhood quiet (you could hear a pin drop outside on the street), and the fire in the fireplace was heavenly after a chilly day on the coast.
I liked the Aveda bath products, the chocolate covered strawberries on the nightstand, the robes made from beautiful oriental fabric, and the doors to the balcony which we opened to bring in the ocean air.
The perfect cleanliness aspect was something I really appreciated. I kept an eye out for a disturbing grunge sighting, but found not a trace.
We got a spray of orchids upon checking in. That set the tone for a warm and luxurious respite. I will return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Pricey but worth the splurge...I like the Buddhas hanging around in the outdoor garden - free breakfast was nice enough and staff super-friendly. loved the fireplace and the jet-spa tub

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Loved this hotel.
Rooms are beautifully well decorated. No noise at all during the night!
They left chocolate strawberries for us inside our room. Breakfast is delicious!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#7 Family Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, Mediterranean - 3 blocks from Ocean Ave. on a quiet residential street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradewinds Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.