We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of China Cove and Gibson Beach

China Cove and Gibson Beach
Point Lobos State Reserve, Carmel, CA
831-624-4909
Update attraction details
Ranked #9 of 29 attractions in Carmel
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

After hiking and exploring all day, we ran into China Cove and Gibson Beach at the very end of our day...I wish we would have discovered it in the beginning! These two spots just took my breath away by how amazing and pretty the beach/water was! Only a few people were at the beach area taking advantage of such a gorgeous area. Next time, I will be sure to bring my swimming suit and flip flop from both beaches! The stairs did look a bit intimidating to go up and down but it appeared to be worth it!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

It is hard to tell which is the best part of Point Lobos Park. But this is definitely one of the best! Views of seabirds and sea animals... Amazing place!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

You enjoy culture and nature in Carmel when you take the short drive to Point Lobos park. These white sand beaches and blue green waves and wild life are well worth the effort to exert you hiking skills.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
Top Contributor
907 reviews 907 reviews
637 attraction reviews
Reviews in 252 cities Reviews in 252 cities
595 helpful votes 595 helpful votes
“Point Lobos to the Cove”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We walked all around Point Lobos and took hundreds of pictures. the whales were playing just off the reef and the seals were lounging on the rocks and shore. Baby seals were especially jun to watch. The seas were thundering in to the rocks and made for some great waves. On the south end of the point lies the China Cove and we finished off our visit with a trip down the walkway to this very special area; however, after so much beauty in Point Lobos it is difficult to get too excited over another beautiful spot....we just enjoyed the whole day. The State pass lets you enter all state parks for the day if you have the energy. Another great CA treasure for the people. As a visitor, I don't mind spending $9.00 to help keep parks like this one heathy.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Special Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful spots in California if you like ocean covers and natural beauty. I would recommend hiking in through the woods and enjoying the entire experience of Point Lobos State Park.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Cove and Gibson Beach also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to China Cove and Gibson Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Cove and Gibson Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.