We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Colonial Terrace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Colonial Terrace to your Saves list
The Colonial Terrace
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   13th and San Antonio Streets, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #13 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Oakley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very good time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We have been staying here for 35 years! This was our honeymoon hotel. Yes, it has changed but it has kept it's charm. The rooms are small but you could call them cozy. There is a beautiful lobby with comfy chairs and tables if you need more room to relax. While sitting there one night, I learned a lot about the town just from listening to the receptionist. She really knew EVERYTHING about the area. She was also very good in giving directions. You may not think this is a big deal but if you have ever been to Carmel, you would know that the street signs are so discreet they are almost invisible and there are no street lights so night time in the residential area, where this hotel is located, is almost pitch black. There is always something to drink or eat in the lobby. They are happy to provide you with wine glasses and cork screws. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. There is a lot of outdoor furniture. The landscape meanders so even with a lot of people around, there are private areas. And the Pacific Ocean is a block away! It did take a while for the hot water to show up in the shower and sink. This bothered me because there is a severe drought going on. But maybe that was just our room. They are upgrading....flat screen TVs and fluffy bath robes. The rooms are mostly quiet. The beds comfy.

Room Tip: Some rooms have split bathrooms with the sink in the bedroom. If this is not your style, request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Marie K.: Let me start by saying thank you for your 35 years of loyalty to the Colonial Terrace. I am glad that over the years you have enjoyed what the hotel has to offer and as you mentioned we are working on upgrading. We have just installed flat screen televisions with DirecTV in all guest rooms and updated all the exterior paint throughout the entire property. We are also working on installing new carpet, chairs and repainting all the guest rooms by the end of the year. I am sorry about the hot water taking a bit too long, especially during a statewide drought. We are working on plans to update the hotel’s plumbing and have already updated 1 of the 7 buildings we have on property. Hopefully it will all be resolved by your next visit. Until then, thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    172
    67
    26
    17
See reviews for
81
324
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I stayed here with a friend back in April 2012. It was a great choice- we had one queen bed and it was enough space for just two people. If you want your space, fork out more money for a suite or go to another hotel. This place was reasonably priced (I believe it was very inexpensive) and you get a **healthy** breakfast in the morning- coffee, pastries, OJ, muffins and fruit. What can you expect? The lobby was open til late so you could always go in there to hang out by the fire if you need more space. Fresh cookies in the afternoon were available which was nice-- OH AND FREE WIFI :)

You are on a quiet street that is just steps away from the ocean, which was beautiful. The grounds were beautiful-- plenty of patio furniture outside to just enjoy the weather and the great landscaping (and the sound of the ocean). We walked to downtown/ the square each morning which was not a bad walk at all-- perhaps 15 minutes and with the scenery (can walk on the beach or the streets and see all the nice houses) this goes by so fast.

I would definitely recommend this Inn to anyone looking for a relaxing weekend retreat. It would be great as a romantic getaway or even just a weekend away with good friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Sheena P.: Thank you for your very detailed feedback on your 2012 stay here at the Colonial Terrace. I am very glad that you and your friend enjoyed your stay with us. We still offer all the amenities you mentioned and a few new ones. We have just installed flat screen televisions with DirecTV in all the guest rooms and updated all the exterior paint throughout the entire property. We are also working on installing new carpet and new chairs this year and are always looking for ways to improve. Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeagle, CA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

I agree with all the positive reviews. We have traveled to Carmel many r now have a hotel/home to return each visit. Fantastic staff! The grounds are perfect and only one block from a path to the beach. Sound and views of the ocean from many rooms. The others all have views of the courtyards and the grounds. To get into Carmel travel up 11th ave to Dolores or San Carlos, turn left and you avoid the Ocean Ave traffic. Thank you Tim for the advice

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear BrianoGraeagle_CA: Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay here at the Colonial Terrace. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel’s staff to be fantastic. And thank you for your comments on the hotel’s new staff member Tim. I will be sure to pass your comments on to him. Once again thank you for staying with and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san carlos
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We have stayed here several times in the past and appreciate the upgrading they are doing. We also enjoy the gardens and the close proximity to the ocean. Town is nearby but not enough to be bothered by traffic and traffic noise.
Stayed here two nights recently and I did have a problem the second day with their housekeeping.
First off I found some large wadded up bundle of paper Kleenex?, toilet paper?, paper towels?, under my side of the bed. I know I did not leave it there., rather disgusting. Also, in leaving towels, they only left one hand towel for the two of us and they did not leave any more makeup removal towelettes. Small issues to be sure but when I brought it to their attention via email they did not seem too concerned about the issues and that bothered me more than anything.
We may look elsewhere next trip, good housekeeping is part of a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear roscoeSanCarlos: Let me start by thanking you for your continued business. Our repeat guests are very important to us and we appreciate your ongoing support. I do apologize that you felt that management did not seem concerned about the Housekeeping issue during your visit. It is our number one priority to ensure the complete satisfaction of our guests. We immediately addressed the issue you experienced with our entire Housekeeping department to ensure it would not happen again. Once again I am truly sorry for the oversight and hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed for four wonderful nights two weeks ago. We stayed in Room# 23A which is a King Suite. This room has three reading chairs, gas fireplace, kitchen, dining table, and a balcony with a filtered ocean view. The gardens and outdoor fireplace were both appreciated. This property is in a perfect location if you don't want to be in the middle of the village traffic. Beautiful Carmel Beach is 1/2 block away, along with Scenic Drive. In 15 minutes you can walk to town (it is uphill and dark at night, the hotel does have loner flashlights. Staff was very professional, even brought us a sharp knife to cut our fruit with!

Room Tip: Loved 23A. No one below and only half of a wall was shared. Ocean sounds and balcony with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Mom56CA: Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay in one of the hotel’s San Antonio Jr. Suite, 23A. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the hotel’s award winning gardens and outdoor fireplace. Thank you for your comments on the very professional staff and the hotel’s perfect location. Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Spent 2 nights...it was our first stop on our Pacific Coast Highway drive from San Francisco to Las Vegas. Great staff, beautiful property, clean room, near the beach, a beautiful walk into town...what more could we ask for? We'd stay here again in a heartbeat! Our only regret is that we only booked 2 nights...we wish we could've stayed longer!

Room Tip: We had the queen garden room as they were running a special at that time...well worth every penny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Charmaine P.: Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay here at the Colonial Terrace. I am glad that you found the hotel’s location and services to be ideal for you during your visit to Carmel. Thank you again for all your comments and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Spent 2 nights in march at this delightful hotel. Room, location, breakfast and staff were excellent. A few minutes walk to the beautiful beach and nice stroll into town. Got complimentary upgrade to suite which was unexpected. Left ipad charger behind. Hotel contacted us and arranged to ship to our next destination. Couldn't have been more helpful. Can't wait to return to this charming place. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Carmel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Suzanne N.: Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay here at the Colonial Terrace. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be charming. I do also enjoy the hotel’s location, as we are so close to the beach and a quick and easy walk to “downtown” Carmel. I am glad that we were able to quickly return the item you left behind and arrange it to be shipped to your next destination. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,280 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#17 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#20 of 23 in Carmel
3.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Lantern Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonial Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Terrace

Address: 13th and San Antonio Streets, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Colonial Terrace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Terrace Inn is a 3-Diamond hotel in Carmel with a charming collection of 26 rooms and suites, many with views of Carmel Bay spread among seven buildings and lush garden landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Colonial Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Terrace Hotel Carmel
Colonial Terrace Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colonial Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.