We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Couple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Colonial Terrace

Save Saved
You added The Colonial Terrace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Colonial Terrace
13th and San Antonio Streets, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
Hughson, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great for Couple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Carmel is awesome. However, it has recently(in regards to my lifetime) become very commercial. Colonial Terrace has latched on to this. However, I can not blame them and we had a wonderful stay. We had a ocean view and great service. I would recommend to anyone looking for romance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear JoshuaClayton: Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay here at the Colonial Terrace. I am very happy that you had a wonderful stay with us and thank you for your comments on the staff. Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    104
    43
    21
    16
See reviews for
40
187
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Colonial Terrace. The staff were very accommodating. The grounds are meticulous and the rooms are wonderful. They brought to our room a small frig, microwave and a fold out table. All you need to do is ask. The ocean is one block away. out our window you could see the ocean. The room had a gas fireplace which kept us cozy in late November 2013. The weather was spectacular during the day and early evening. They serve an array of breakfast items in the morning (coffee, tea, juice's, milk, pastries cold and hot cereals along with fruit in season). In the evening there is a delightful smell lofting from the Lobby....Fresh Hot Cookies, coffee, tea, hot cocoa and milk. I can't say enough about the staff, they are amazing. Overall this place is a ten (10) in my book. I am born and raised San Jose, California, so I am familiar with Carmel. There is a lot of choices in hotels to stay at in and around the Monterey Peninsula and the value of The Colonial Terrace and their staff is priceless.

Room Tip: The first time we stayed we were in the garden area which seemed to be a little bit nosier. This ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Deanna: Thank you for your feedback on your recent stays here at the Colonial Terrace. I am very glad that you found the staff to very accommodating and I am happy you found the staff to be priceless. The staff does truly enjoy making our guests’ visits very memorable and take great pride in helping them to enjoy all that Carmel and the Colonial Terrace have to offer. Once again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We loved this B&B. The location is great. It is about a 10 minute walk to downtown Carmel and you can see and hear the ocean from the room. It is not actually on the beach but its only about a minute walk. We got a great deal last minute to stay here on 'Hotel Tonight' and feel like we got a great value. The staff was so accommodating and helpful. There are fire pits you can sit around at night on the property as well. It is such a nice place to stay if you want to get away and relax. We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a small room but it was nice and quaint. There was a little fireplace next to the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Susan M.: I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel’s location to be great. Thank you for your feedback on the staff and how accommodating and helpful they truly are. Once again thank you for your feedback on your stay and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We visited in early Dec 2013 when the weather was freezing - literally 32 degrees at dawn. But the staff made us feel warm with their hospitality and helpful suggestions. Only problem was the noise of downstairs neighbors who arose at 6am with the tv on high. This was unit 3. When booking ask for suggesions about more 'sound proof' units...there are several.
The breakfast is very nice with lots of choices - but don't expect bacon and eggs. You won't go away hungrey. The location is very handy for visiting all the local area. Just a few blocks from downtown Carmel but suggest driving. While there do the 17 Mile Drive. and don't be afraid to venture off the signed road. There are many houses, vistas and other things to see.

Room Tip: ask for a 'map' of the property to determine if there are adjoining or downstairs rooms that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear William T: Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay here at the Colonial Terrace. As you stated, it was unseasonably cold for Carmel this past December, but I am very happy that the hotel’s staff and hospitality they provided kept you warm. I am also glad that the hotel’s location was ideal for you while you were visiting the area. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The hotel is very modern and it's like a nice home.
The reception is a room with tables and sofa and it's the same place where breakfast is served.
Rooms are small but nice with a very comfortable bed.
The hotel is near to the beach and we liked a lot the experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Maxtheviper: Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay here at the Colonial Terrace. As you mentioned, we are very near the beach and I am very happy that you liked the experience you had and that you found the beds to be very comfortable. We look forward to your next stay with us, when you next visit from Italy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed here in mid November this year for two nights on our Carmel get away. The Colonial Terrace is a lovely place in a great location just a block or so from the beach. You can certainly hear the ocean as well as see it from here, although we chose a lesser expensive courtyard view room. We could see the ocean from a lovely little courtyard outside our room. The room was a bit small but adequate, and could have benefited by having an extra dresser or some piece of furniture that you could place your things on. The hot water in the bathroom took an interminably long time to warm up, making it necessary to turn on the hot water in the tub just to get it hotter quicker. Plus, the water had a bad smell, like rotten eggs, so hold your breath while brushing your teeth! We mentioned this to hotel staff, and they said they were "working on it". The breakfast that is included with the room is very nice, with quite a few choices, and is served in a prettily decorated lobby each morning. Although this hotel is located in a quiet residential neighborhood and is not too far from the heart of town to walk there, we did not attempt to walk to the restaurants at night because it is just too dark. They will lend you a flashlight, but the sidewalks in Carmel are often uneven, or even nonexistent in some places, and there are no street lights. So, enjoy the walk in the day time, but take your car after dark.

Room Tip: The walls are paper thin and you will hear your next door neighbors quite intimately. Don't know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Ravenmagniac: Thank you for your very detailed review on the Colonial Terrace. I am happy that overall you enjoyed your stay and found the location to be ideal. I do want to apologize that it took a while for the water to become hot. This is an issue that we are working on. Being a vintage property it does take a little bit for the water to warm up, however I was unaware that there was a bad smell to the water. Please know that our maintenance staff has addressed that issue shortly after you informed the Front Desk. Once again thank you for your feedback which is very important to us. As we begin planning our next remodel, your feedback will help us greatly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultonborough
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We planned one night in Carmel alone while on the west coast visiting our grown son. This was the perfect stay, close to the ocean and the village. Our room was nice, the staff was courteous and caring. We walked to the beach. Our room was cozy and clean.
We almost rated as excellent but breakfast is fine for continental and our tv remote (although who really cares) worked sometimes.
Over all a great experience. We would return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Sandra R.: Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay here at the Colonial Terrace. I am very glad that you found the room to be nice, clean and cozy and appreciate your recognition of our staff being courteous and caring. Additionally, thank you for informing us about the problem with the TV. Our maintenance staff has addressed that issue. Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Colonial Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Terrace

Address: 13th and San Antonio Streets, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Terrace Inn is a 3-Diamond hotel in Carmel with a charming collection of 26 rooms and suites, many with views of Carmel Bay spread among seven buildings and lush garden landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Colonial Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Terrace Hotel Carmel
Colonial Terrace Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colonial Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.