We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Colonial Terrace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Colonial Terrace to your Saves list
The Colonial Terrace
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   13th and San Antonio Streets, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This motel was a short block from the beach, a great location but the pictures are a bit misleading. You really can't see the ocean from the rooms. The room was clean and the fireplace provided plenty of heat. The bathroom floor was old and looked dirty but it was just linoleum that needed to be replaced. The plumbing of the neighbors was very loud. The breakfast was ample - I was expecting just muffins and juice but there was fruit and quiche and yogurt too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Lawsonma: I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay here at the Colonial Terrace. I am glad that you enjoyed the ample breakfast we have and the newly added quiche. We do provide a variety of rooms and some do have ocean views while others have a courtyard or garden view, which seems to be the room type you had. I am sorry that you felt the pictures were misleading but not all the rooms on property come with an ocean view. But regardless of which room you reserve, our guests can always enjoy the ocean view while sitting in one of the outdoor patio areas around property. Thank you for all your comments and we look forward to having you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    129
    46
    23
    17
See reviews for
47
239
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a lovely overnight stay. The ocean view from our room was beautiful.
Location is very close to the water and not too bad of a walk into town. They did
a remodel not too long ago - our room was great other than some of the wallpaper
peeling off the wall. Would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Rob L: I am very happy that you enjoyed your one night stay at The Colonial Terrace. As you know, we are very near the water and are a short walk to downtown and I am happy that our location worked out so great for your stay. We are working on updating the rooms and amenities that we offer to guests. Removing the wallpaper in all bathrooms is one project we got started before the summer rush and will finish up during the winter season. Once again I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you as a guest again, maybe this time for longer than one night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This lovely, well-run inn is one block from the Carmel beach on a quiet residential street that offers parking for guests (something hard to come by in Carmel). The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, the gardens are beautiful and you can see the ocean from the terrace as you eat breakfast. A full continental breakfast is provided(cereal, baked goods, quiche, fruit, yogurt, etc), and cookies, coffee & tea are available throughout the day. Fireplaces in the rooms take the chill off the cool Carmel evenings and an outdoor fire pit is open to any guests who want to gather around a fire and chat. We'll go back!

Room Tip: The Garden View rooms are a bit smaller than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear: Susan O. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in Carmel at The Colonial Terrace. We strive for excellence at every opportunity and I appreciate your comments about the property and amenities that we provide. We do really have a wonderful location in Carmel and I am happy that you were able to enjoy everything we offer. Enjoying the outdoor fire pit with a glass of wine on a cool night is sure a great way to relax! I trust you will be back the next time you visit from New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We booked a suite with a wet bar and hot tub, kitchen etc... We got a small little room. We got a sorry. We could not cancel with out a huge service charge. When asked why the call is a suite when it is only one roam the answer was any hotel room is considered a suite. Furthermore the pictures show the hotel on the beach and it is 4 block from. A complete hype.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Sleeplessness:
I am very sorry to hear that the suite you reserved did not meet your expectations. While not knowing exactly which suite you stayed in, it sounds from your description to be our San Antonio Suite, which does offer a combined bedroom/living area, hot tub, ocean view and wet bar. For the most part, each of our suites does combine the bedroom and living area without a separating wall. I apologize that the description was not specific. We do, however, consider the suite to be larger than our standard rooms providing 350 or more square feet. Each also does offer the ocean view. I am also not clear on the photos you reference that show our hotel on the beach. Each of the images on our website does indicate how close we are to the beach but I am not finding any that show us directly on the beach. We are indeed only 1 block away. Again, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. If you have any additional comments or would like to discuss your recent stay further, please contact me directly at 831-624-2741. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I had a great experience here. The room was clean, spacious and nicely updated. The breakfast offered a nice assortment of fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt and some choices that could be heated by staff. Seating provided in lobby area and outside. Staff very helpful in recommending restaurants, things to do in area. Beautiful grounds with loads of flowers short walk to lovely beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Catherine M: Thank you for staying with the Colonial Terrace during your visit to Carmel. I am delighted that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. We strive for excellence at every opportunity and I appreciate all your comments about the hotel and how friendly the staff is. I trust you will be back the next time you visit from Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Colonial Terrace is a gem of a place. The property is lovely: beautiful flowers, tables with chairs outside the garden rooms. We will stay here again. The staff was very helpful. Also they have a nice continental breakfast and afternoon tea and cookies.

If you have a baby or a toddler, tell them ahead of time and they will set up a crib or a futon bed (what they did for our toddler). It worked out perfectly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Samantha E: I am thrilled to hear your positive comments about your recent stay at The Colonial Terrace. I am pleased that we were able to accommodate your family during your visit and that you enjoyed the property. As you know, we have beautiful gardens with a wide range of flowers that are truly a joy to look at. Thank you again for all your comments and we look forward to having your family stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at the Colonial Terrace for one night while traveling up the Pacific Coast Highway after a family wedding. We purposefully stayed in smaller hotels that offered a unique experience rather than the chain hotels on the bigger highways. We enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel and friendliness of the staff. Our room was VERY tiny, but it worked out fine. We were on the ground floor and did hear the footsteps of the people staying in the room above us. We enjoyed opening the windows at night and hearing the sound of the ocean as we went to sleep. The hotel is in a residential area that is a nice walk from the busier streets in Carmel. It is a block off the beach and very close to Carmel beach where we enjoyed a nice long walk in the morning. WE would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Mefland: Thank you for choosing to stay at the Colonial Terrace during your recent visit to Carmel. We strive for excellence at every opportunity and I appreciate all your comments about the hotel and how friendly the staff is. Being in the residential part of town does provide a tranquil environment that allows for guests to be able to hear the sound of the ocean from most rooms. I am very happy that you enjoyed the atmosphere and location we provide. I trust you will be back the next time you are visiting from Georgia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Colonial Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Terrace

Address: 13th and San Antonio Streets, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Colonial Terrace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Terrace Inn is a 3-Diamond hotel in Carmel with a charming collection of 26 rooms and suites, many with views of Carmel Bay spread among seven buildings and lush garden landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Colonial Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Terrace Hotel Carmel
Colonial Terrace Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colonial Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.