We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Colonial Terrace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Colonial Terrace to your Saves list
The Colonial Terrace
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   13th and San Antonio Streets, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I had a great experience here. The room was clean, spacious and nicely updated. The breakfast offered a nice assortment of fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt and some choices that could be heated by staff. Seating provided in lobby area and outside. Staff very helpful in recommending restaurants, things to do in area. Beautiful grounds with loads of flowers short walk to lovely beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Catherine M: Thank you for staying with the Colonial Terrace during your visit to Carmel. I am delighted that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. We strive for excellence at every opportunity and I appreciate all your comments about the hotel and how friendly the staff is. I trust you will be back the next time you visit from Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    159
    57
    25
    17
See reviews for
66
294
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Colonial Terrace is a gem of a place. The property is lovely: beautiful flowers, tables with chairs outside the garden rooms. We will stay here again. The staff was very helpful. Also they have a nice continental breakfast and afternoon tea and cookies.

If you have a baby or a toddler, tell them ahead of time and they will set up a crib or a futon bed (what they did for our toddler). It worked out perfectly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Samantha E: I am thrilled to hear your positive comments about your recent stay at The Colonial Terrace. I am pleased that we were able to accommodate your family during your visit and that you enjoyed the property. As you know, we have beautiful gardens with a wide range of flowers that are truly a joy to look at. Thank you again for all your comments and we look forward to having your family stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at the Colonial Terrace for one night while traveling up the Pacific Coast Highway after a family wedding. We purposefully stayed in smaller hotels that offered a unique experience rather than the chain hotels on the bigger highways. We enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel and friendliness of the staff. Our room was VERY tiny, but it worked out fine. We were on the ground floor and did hear the footsteps of the people staying in the room above us. We enjoyed opening the windows at night and hearing the sound of the ocean as we went to sleep. The hotel is in a residential area that is a nice walk from the busier streets in Carmel. It is a block off the beach and very close to Carmel beach where we enjoyed a nice long walk in the morning. WE would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Mefland: Thank you for choosing to stay at the Colonial Terrace during your recent visit to Carmel. We strive for excellence at every opportunity and I appreciate all your comments about the hotel and how friendly the staff is. Being in the residential part of town does provide a tranquil environment that allows for guests to be able to hear the sound of the ocean from most rooms. I am very happy that you enjoyed the atmosphere and location we provide. I trust you will be back the next time you are visiting from Georgia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kahana, hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We went to the Colonial Terrace to celebrate our 46th Anniversary. The Hotel is very old. We were on the bottom floor. We could hear our neighbor's steps upstairs. We don't think it has any sound proofing. The grounds were beautiful and the location is perfect. Only two blocks away from the beach. What we liked best was walking around the neighborhood seeing the multi-million dollar homes right along the beach. Amazing! Every single house has different character! Tiny shower and bathroom. No small table in the room. Breakfast was very nice. We paid alot of money - over $200 for one night. I guess we are used to more modern places. I would not return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Lenea01: Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your recent visit to Carmel and the Colonial Terrace. I also enjoy walking around the neighborhood and seeing all the beautiful historic homes in this area and the beach is breathtaking. The Colonial Terrace is one of the original hotel accommodations in Carmel built in 1925. We do feature a variety of rooms, but being a historic property, each one is a little different in size and feel. We do offer rooms that are more private and would not have a room above. On your next visit to Carmel I hope you will give the Colonial Terrace another try. And please feel free to contact me personally so that I may assist with your reservation to ensure you receive a room that will meet your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed in a large room at the Colonial Terrace in late June. It was one of the few places in town that allowed kids under 12 (our son is 3). So, that was already a big plus.

The room was a nice size, clean, and had a small fridge and microwave. Parking was never a problem. Breakfast was nice, and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Damon T: I am delighted to hear your positive comments about your visit to the Colonial Terrace. I am also pleased we were able to accommodate your family during your visit to Carmel as we truly enjoy having families on property. We strive for excellence at every opportunity and I appreciate your comments about the hotel, as well as how extremely helpful and friendly the staff is. We look forward to having you and your family as our guests on your next visit to Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Second stay at this off-the-path hotel a few weeks back. Had the farthest south/west room in The Terrace. View of the ocean, gas fireplace, great built in bar. Walking distance to the beach and most of Carmel. Great staff and the grounds are superb. We asked for a fire on the patio and had an evening cocktail there as the sun went down.

A return is definitely in the works for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I were turned away from a B&B just down the street where we stayed on our honeymoon and where we wanted to stay again but this time for our eight year anniversary. The reason was that we had our 7month old son with us. Colonial heard our story and were so sweet to us. They gave us a complementary anniversary bottle of wine and made our room so comfortable. The staff was very professional and kind, very accommodating.

I asked my wife for her feedback and she stated from the other room: "Excellent!"

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Colonial Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Terrace

Address: 13th and San Antonio Streets, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Colonial Terrace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Terrace Inn is a 3-Diamond hotel in Carmel with a charming collection of 26 rooms and suites, many with views of Carmel Bay spread among seven buildings and lush garden landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Colonial Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Terrace Hotel Carmel
Colonial Terrace Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colonial Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.