We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can do better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Colonial Terrace

Save Saved
You added The Colonial Terrace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Colonial Terrace
13th and San Antonio Streets, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Can do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for two nights. We reached carmel after nightfall and had a tough time finding the hotel. cant blame them though as they dont have door number. called the front desk couple of times and the lady very patiently guided us to the hotel. i must say that the ladies atthe front desk do a terrific job. they are friendly and always ready to give suggestions on activities that can make your stay pleasant.

The room that my wife and i stayed in was rather small, we did feel that price was on the higher side for an average room ( we paid $184 including tax) for a very standard room for each night.the toilet had a very obvious plumbing problem and one needed to use the plunger to declog ever so often . not exactly the experience you want on a hoilday or otherwise. Parking can be a pain if its full and we had to circle around a couple of times to find street parking.

breakfast was basic but well laid out. the beach is a short walk from the hotel . The biggest asset this hotel has is its staff, on the whole not convinced about the rates charged for this product.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    98
    43
    21
    15
See reviews for
39
179
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Hotel Tonight app had this listed and I took it. It is easy to find, a short distance from the beach and from fabulous restaurants. The receptionist served as a concierge as well, by making a reservation at a restaurant that served exactly what we were wanting for dinner! The room was great (vintage 1925-plus modern TV and Internet) with a fireplace. I would stay again anytime I was in the area!!!

Room Tip: I had no need for a pool or fitness area for my one night visit, but inquire if that is important to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Me & my wife took part of our honeymoon here & it was hands down the best part of the trip. The staff was very supportive & nice. Our room was very enjoyable. It had a partial ocean view with a fireplace & great bed. I've read some reviews that bashed this place & how small or dirty it was & that wasn't the case at all. Our bathroom was small but a lot of it is knowing what your paying for. We wanted a quiet, secluded, beautiful inn by the sea & it was perfect. The room is great sized, very clean & well maintained & u cannot beat the location. Literally 60 feet from Carmel beach, 17 mile drive is on the same street & it's right on the outskirts of downtown Carmel. Highly recommend this place for couples looking to get away together.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Carmel's best kept secret. Great location for a quiet restful stay. Receptionist and employees are very friendly and helpful. My room was small but quaint with fireplace bed was very comfortable. The lobby is very cosie and inviting with high-backed chairs and comfy pillows. One block away from Carmel Beach and an easy walk to Ocean Ave for dining and shopping.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

the room we stayed was very lovely with the fireplace. yes, the bathroom was alittle small, but who cares, how much time would you spend in the bathroom. the breakfast was the greatest ever, with egg, oatmeal, pastries, jellies, cream cheese. on top of the nice room and breaksfast, it is one street behind the ocean, so ou can hear the sound of the waves. we really enjoyed our time, the staff was very friendly, too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights. Although the room seemed small and aged a little, it grew on me during the stay. The bed was very comfortable and who can resist hearing the sounds of the ocean all day long. Only a block away from the beach and is in a very quiet area of Carmel. The continental breakfast was better than most I've seen and the staff are all very friendly. Met with a smile and pleasant greeting from the moment I arrived all the way through my stay and even at my departure. I would recommend staying hear if you are looking to get away from it all and just relax.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed four nights including over Christmas. The room was quite small and the walls were thin. They obviously didn't add any insulation into the walls when the building was converted from a private residence to basic hotel rooms. We could hear ordinary conversations from next door and at times the floor vibrated from the laundry at the end of the building. The B&B consists of a cluster of converted homes. The heater was generally noisy and always made a very loud BANG when it turned off. I've lived in homes with knocking hot water and steam pipes - this was much, much louder. If I ever stay here again, I'll be sure to avoid rooms 7 and 8. The common room was comfy though small for the number of guests the property can accommodate.

The good points are the grounds and location. The grounds were very nice and we enjoyed the variety of blooming plants and hedges. The beach is very close and it was nice to hear the ocean waves.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Colonial Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Terrace

Address: 13th and San Antonio Streets, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Terrace Inn is a 3-Diamond hotel in Carmel with a charming collection of 26 rooms and suites, many with views of Carmel Bay spread among seven buildings and lush garden landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Colonial Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Terrace Hotel Carmel
Colonial Terrace Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colonial Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.