We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Carmel CA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Colonial Terrace

Save Saved
You added The Colonial Terrace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Colonial Terrace
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   13th and San Antonio Streets, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 31 Carmel B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great find in Carmel CA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Carmel's best kept secret. Great location for a quiet restful stay. Receptionist and employees are very friendly and helpful. My room was small but quaint with fireplace bed was very comfortable. The lobby is very cosie and inviting with high-backed chairs and comfy pillows. One block away from Carmel Beach and an easy walk to Ocean Ave for dining and shopping.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    90
    41
    19
    15
See reviews for
37
165
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

the room we stayed was very lovely with the fireplace. yes, the bathroom was alittle small, but who cares, how much time would you spend in the bathroom. the breakfast was the greatest ever, with egg, oatmeal, pastries, jellies, cream cheese. on top of the nice room and breaksfast, it is one street behind the ocean, so ou can hear the sound of the waves. we really enjoyed our time, the staff was very friendly, too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights. Although the room seemed small and aged a little, it grew on me during the stay. The bed was very comfortable and who can resist hearing the sounds of the ocean all day long. Only a block away from the beach and is in a very quiet area of Carmel. The continental breakfast was better than most I've seen and the staff are all very friendly. Met with a smile and pleasant greeting from the moment I arrived all the way through my stay and even at my departure. I would recommend staying hear if you are looking to get away from it all and just relax.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed four nights including over Christmas. The room was quite small and the walls were thin. They obviously didn't add any insulation into the walls when the building was converted from a private residence to basic hotel rooms. We could hear ordinary conversations from next door and at times the floor vibrated from the laundry at the end of the building. The B&B consists of a cluster of converted homes. The heater was generally noisy and always made a very loud BANG when it turned off. I've lived in homes with knocking hot water and steam pipes - this was much, much louder. If I ever stay here again, I'll be sure to avoid rooms 7 and 8. The common room was comfy though small for the number of guests the property can accommodate.

The good points are the grounds and location. The grounds were very nice and we enjoyed the variety of blooming plants and hedges. The beach is very close and it was nice to hear the ocean waves.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night on our way up the coast. Lovely establishment in a quiet area. Beautiful courtyards and surrounds. Our courtyard queen room was comfortable and well set up. The staff were helpful, polite and friendly. Loved the breakfast and festive decorations in the lobby!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We booked for two nights as we love Caramel and have stayed numerous places over our 40 years. We were so content with our lovely room, ocean views, and really wonderful breakfast. However, my Husband caught a bug on our first night and was really ill. We asked to leave early and they gave us our money back for the second night. We were told in advance, no refunds for early check-out but they bent the rules for us which we so appreciate. We are definitely returning. What a gem.

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness center so I am unclear why I have to rate them. You walk to the beach fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel is quaint - the beds comfortable, breakfast was a nice surprise - very good continental breakfast in the lobby. Free wi-fi, clean, safe, beautiful view. Parking is a bit limited and the staff varied from excellent - night shift - to borderline rude - morning staff at the front desk couldn't be bothered to assist a guest who couldn't understand the toaster operation.

It did absolutely pour rain in the morning - which caused water to leak through the french doors into the room. Since we waited for the downpour to let up before heading across the open courtyard to check out we were leaving the room at 11:05 when the same front desk operator called to be sure we were leaving...seemed a little aggressive. (check out is 11) Especially since I had taken the time to put some towels down to catch the rain pouring into the main room.

Nice to have two bathrooms, two bedrooms in the suite - bathrooms definitely could use updating. Also convenient to have the kitchen and dining room which we used.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Colonial Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Terrace

Also Known As:
The Colonial Terrace Hotel
The Colonial Terrace Hotel Carmel
Colonial Terrace Inn
Address: 13th and San Antonio Streets, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Colonial Terrace 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Terrace Inn is a 3-Diamond hotel in Carmel with a charming collection of 26 rooms and suites, many with views of Carmel Bay spread among seven buildings and lush garden landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Colonial Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colonial Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.