We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Ocean View Suite is lovely!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Colonial Terrace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Colonial Terrace to your Saves list
The Colonial Terrace
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   13th and San Antonio Streets, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #13 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Grand Ocean View Suite is lovely!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel is quaint - the beds comfortable, breakfast was a nice surprise - very good continental breakfast in the lobby. Free wi-fi, clean, safe, beautiful view. Parking is a bit limited and the staff varied from excellent - night shift - to borderline rude - morning staff at the front desk couldn't be bothered to assist a guest who couldn't understand the toaster operation.

It did absolutely pour rain in the morning - which caused water to leak through the french doors into the room. Since we waited for the downpour to let up before heading across the open courtyard to check out we were leaving the room at 11:05 when the same front desk operator called to be sure we were leaving...seemed a little aggressive. (check out is 11) Especially since I had taken the time to put some towels down to catch the rain pouring into the main room.

Nice to have two bathrooms, two bedrooms in the suite - bathrooms definitely could use updating. Also convenient to have the kitchen and dining room which we used.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    172
    67
    26
    17
See reviews for
81
324
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I spent the night at The Colonial Terrace for our 6th wedding anniversary this past weekend. While we cannot credit The Colonial Terrace for the perfect weather, we had a great stay with them.
From the front desk staff that was kind and helpful at check in/out to our perfect room, we could not have asked for a more perfect setting to spend out trip.
As we drove out of town back to San Francisco, we both agreed that we should spend another weekend down there again, soon!

Room Tip: Ask for Room #28.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 953 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Walking the 'Golden Triangle" neighborhood early on fall mornings was a side benefit to staying at this property with my best friend of 35 years. Having the amazing Carmel beach so close by was a bonus.

The room was large and though it could use a bit of sprucing in the bathroom, we were happy for two nights on this nicely-landscaped property.

Would stay there again in the future and try to get a better online price next time, perhaps via Expedia or Hotels.com, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed with my family for on night in The Colonial Terrace and we loved it. The hotel with its several building is incredibly charming and at a great location just a row of houses from the sea. We had a room on the first floor with a beautiful view of the sea. The room was spacious and the bed amazing. The only critique I would have is breakfast, which is rather limited to essentially only sweet things, even the bread was cinnamon flavored. I can fully recommend this B&B and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Lovely Inn 1 block from the water.......large king room overlooking exquisite gardens, plenty of patio chairs and tables outside........wonderful breakfast...best of all....the FANTASTIC front desk staff.

Room Tip: Loved the King room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mckinney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

stayed 6 nights late Sept 12; Leslie and Crystal (staff) very helpful; room was small and somewhat outdated; moved after few days to more convenient room which although clean and cazy needed updating; Lobby area is very nice with continental breakfast; coffee/tea most any time; can walk to beach from this hotel, very convenient; best drive to downtown where parking is challenging; all in all very pleased;

Room Tip: away from front/noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed one night and it was just what we needed after hours in the car and windblown sight seeing! The lobby is beautiful with nice seating and a warm fireplace. Leslie, who checked us in, was very friendly and extremely helpful with dinner recommendations as well as sights to see. The room was on the terrace and had a wonderful King bed - we slept like babies. I would say the rooms are 'old school' with modern updating. Sink outside the toilet (love that). The place was built in the 20's and has all the charm and character but is updated and clean. I will say the one negative was the upholstered chairs needed to be re-upholstered. They were worn but clean but not comfortable to sit in. The bed was lovely though - did I tell you we slept like babies? LOL The continental breakfast was as you would expect - cereals, boiled eggs, breads, pasteries, etc. served on china. Love that. The grounds are impeccable and gardens are lush.

Best part of this place? Listening to the ocean lull you to sleep.... zzzzzz

Overall a good find - worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,280 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#17 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#20 of 23 in Carmel
3.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Lantern Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonial Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Terrace

Address: 13th and San Antonio Streets, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Colonial Terrace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Terrace Inn is a 3-Diamond hotel in Carmel with a charming collection of 26 rooms and suites, many with views of Carmel Bay spread among seven buildings and lush garden landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Colonial Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Terrace Hotel Carmel
Colonial Terrace Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colonial Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.