We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Village Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Village Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Village Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Ocean Avenue and Junipero Street, PO Box 5275, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ideal Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here, it is in the heart of Carmel, staff very friendly. The rooms are a bit tired looking, but the place is decently clean, the towels are spotless, we had to change a few of them but the staff were very accommodating. The internet was very good. Breakfast was a bit overwhelming, we had to wait for a seat to sit in the morning. The bed was very comfortable. Great location and comfortable room. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: don't choose number 10, it's situation directly under the stairs to the second floor and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    123
    70
    28
    18
See reviews for
35
169
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We thought this hotel was way over priced at $190 , the room smelt of sick and it was pretty shabby, we definitely wouldn't recommend., unfortunately we had no choice as we were exhausted. Positives the receptionist was helpful, bed comfy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carluke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Nice little inn, just off the highway. Spent one night here on road trip from San Francisco to LA. No frills but perfectly adequate for a night. Inexpensive but included breakfast and free wifi. Just what we were looking for. Pleasant staff, clean. Only let down by our room being next to the maids quarters. They woke us up chattering. Room 9 I think, but if you're further away it wouldn't be a problem.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Very basic hotel with an ideal location. Walking distance to shops in the center of Carmel, and even down to the beach! Driving distance to many other attractions. Clean place with decent service. Excellent choice for those who want to experience Carmel but can't afford the luxury hotels.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

In a really good location for exploring carmel. Bed was very comfy and big. Bathroom a little dated but nothing to complain about. Good choice of continental breakfast and there was some hot selections too which were very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed here recently for one night. Both the room and bathroom were small, and hasn't been updated in a couple decades (plus there was a lot of noise on the property). The pluses are the great location, friendly staff, free Wifi, and a wonderful free continental breakfast (quiche, roasted potatoes along with the usual items).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We only stayed here for one night, but it was a really nice experience. The room was nice decorated and was huge .

The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and everything was perfect during our stay.

What a pitty that we only stayed one night there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Village Inn

Address: Ocean Avenue and Junipero Street, PO Box 5275, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Carmel Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Village Hotel Carmel
Carmel Village Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.