We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Village Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Village Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Village Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Ocean Avenue and Junipero Street, PO Box 5275, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cute little place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Nice little inn, just off the highway. Spent one night here on road trip from San Francisco to LA. No frills but perfectly adequate for a night. Inexpensive but included breakfast and free wifi. Just what we were looking for. Pleasant staff, clean. Only let down by our room being next to the maids quarters. They woke us up chattering. Room 9 I think, but if you're further away it wouldn't be a problem.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fraser H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Very basic hotel with an ideal location. Walking distance to shops in the center of Carmel, and even down to the beach! Driving distance to many other attractions. Clean place with decent service. Excellent choice for those who want to experience Carmel but can't afford the luxury hotels.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyberbagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

In a really good location for exploring carmel. Bed was very comfy and big. Bathroom a little dated but nothing to complain about. Good choice of continental breakfast and there was some hot selections too which were very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annanewty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed here recently for one night. Both the room and bathroom were small, and hasn't been updated in a couple decades (plus there was a lot of noise on the property). The pluses are the great location, friendly staff, free Wifi, and a wonderful free continental breakfast (quiche, roasted potatoes along with the usual items).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kitty52Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We only stayed here for one night, but it was a really nice experience. The room was nice decorated and was huge .

The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and everything was perfect during our stay.

What a pitty that we only stayed one night there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tati_Luz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
189 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed here for only one night. The location is close to the main street in Carmel so there is some slight noise from the traffic but at the same time it was a short walk down to the town center and beach. The room was a bit on the small side and not that modern but very clean. Wifi was free and worked well. There was a refrigerator, a kettle to boil water for coffee or tea and a television in the room. There is no safe. The bathroom had shower and bathtub. breakfast was very personal with newly baed muffins and nice omelette. The breakfast buffet also had many other things all you may need even if it wasnt a large one.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swedish_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and were very impressed. Our room was clean and maintained. We have stayed here before and we have seen improvements each year. They try to offer a great product. The breakfast is wonderful and we were so perplexed with the complaints we read about it.The food assortment is exactly everything we like. They make it in their kitchen right there. And they even had butter and margarine. For all four breakfasts my oatmeal was never watery. So it seems they are responsive to observations made on Trip Advisor. Carmel is lovely. We walked along the ocean every day and we do the 17 Mile Drive every year with a stop at the Pebble Beach Lodge. There are many restaurants within walking distance of the Inn. We will return here next year for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wOrldTrav39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#17 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#20 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Village Inn

Address: Ocean Avenue and Junipero Street, PO Box 5275, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Venere, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Carmel Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Village Hotel Carmel
Carmel Village Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing