We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Village Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Carmel Village Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Village Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Ocean Avenue and Junipero Street, PO Box 5275, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Adequate for one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed here recently for one night. Both the room and bathroom were small, and hasn't been updated in a couple decades (plus there was a lot of noise on the property). The pluses are the great location, friendly staff, free Wifi, and a wonderful free continental breakfast (quiche, roasted potatoes along with the usual items).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    112
    63
    24
    14
See reviews for
30
152
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We only stayed here for one night, but it was a really nice experience. The room was nice decorated and was huge .

The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and everything was perfect during our stay.

What a pitty that we only stayed one night there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed here for only one night. The location is close to the main street in Carmel so there is some slight noise from the traffic but at the same time it was a short walk down to the town center and beach. The room was a bit on the small side and not that modern but very clean. Wifi was free and worked well. There was a refrigerator, a kettle to boil water for coffee or tea and a television in the room. There is no safe. The bathroom had shower and bathtub. breakfast was very personal with newly baed muffins and nice omelette. The breakfast buffet also had many other things all you may need even if it wasnt a large one.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and were very impressed. Our room was clean and maintained. We have stayed here before and we have seen improvements each year. They try to offer a great product. The breakfast is wonderful and we were so perplexed with the complaints we read about it.The food assortment is exactly everything we like. They make it in their kitchen right there. And they even had butter and margarine. For all four breakfasts my oatmeal was never watery. So it seems they are responsive to observations made on Trip Advisor. Carmel is lovely. We walked along the ocean every day and we do the 17 Mile Drive every year with a stop at the Pebble Beach Lodge. There are many restaurants within walking distance of the Inn. We will return here next year for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The Carmel Village Inn is located in the Carmel Village and walking distance to everything. Rooms are nice, large and clean and free WiFi, free parking and the best breakfast, all home made food, including the oatmeal.

Room Tip: Room 18, corner room, a little noisey as it's next to the main room. There's, also, a nice a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo - SP
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

The place is simple. No sophistication at all but it is fair. For USD 79 we were happy with the hotel. Stayed for one night, family of five. Everyone was exhausted after 30 hours of travel. The bed is huge, it embraces you. Silence was absolute, all we needed. The breakfast has sausages, frittata and potatoes. I liked it!
The beach is a 15min stroll away but the walk is worth it as the town is charming.
All restaurants are within les than 5 min away.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We enjoyed our 1night stay-clean and comfortable rooms and a decent rate (79$plus tax). Attention to details was found throughout the room and we enjoyed having a seating area inside and outside of the room.
It is right in the town centre and a short walk from the beach.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Village Inn

Address: Ocean Avenue and Junipero Street, PO Box 5275, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Village Hotel Carmel
Carmel Village Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.