We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smashing hotel & location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Village Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Carmel Village Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Village Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Ocean Avenue and Junipero Street, PO Box 5275, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
UK
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Smashing hotel & location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Lovely little place, very retro, excellent location, fabulous welcome and check in, hard to fault the place. Bathrooms are a tad tired, but certainly for the money we are paying, not anything to get too crabby about.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    112
    63
    24
    14
See reviews for
30
152
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

WARNING - THE CARMEL VILLAGE INN GIVES VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE!

The Carmel Village Inn, at Ocean and Junipero, is at the edge of downtown Carmel. A good location if one doesn't mind walking. The Inn is a 50's style drive-up motel with upgraded rooms that include comfy beds. The breakfast was slightly better than that at most drive-up motels. They had warm, watery, oatmeal, a few choices of cold cereal, milk, fresh fruit pieces, bread and a toaster, etc. One day there were warm waffle sections. And if you get to the breakfast room early enough you might get a piece of the minimal quiche.

If you are looking for a basic, clean, motel -- without much expectation for the included "full, hot breakfast," this is not a bad choice.

BUT, before you put your money down, make sure you know, and are happy with, what you are getting.

Our BIG complaint is the lack of management caring for the customer. Based on the Carmel Village Inn claims that we would get a $330 Carmel Escape for Two for $89, we purchased a Trubates voucher good for most days in a 6-month period. Unfortunately we were not able to coordinate our schedules with the Inn's list of available days and the special offer expired.

But, during the active period I spoke with staff many times. As the availability period was drawing to a close, it was always pointed out that the voucher is always good for the purchase value of $89.

Several weeks ago we were looking for a location to just get away for a few days. I remembered the voucher. While I didn't want to pay the advertised $330 a night, I thought I would check to see if the rates might be better in the middle of winter. It turned out that, if I stayed away from holidays and special events, I could get the same room with the same amenities for the senior rate of $79.

We booked two nights.

When I presented the voucher to use the $89 paid value against the bill, I was told they would not honor it because, they said, Trubates had not paid them.

I pointed out that they apparently contracted with Trubates to advertise for the Inn, and that is what brought us to the Inn for a stay - so the advertisement succeeded. Further, that it sounds like they had a problem with Trubates; and I, as a customer of the Inn, should not be penalized due to their problem with another business.

They did not agree and insisted I should pay them the full balance due.

Rather than have a big argument at the reception desk, I did that.

When we got home, we emailed the Inn manager and explained what happened in detail. It's been two weeks and they have not responded. So, we are compelled to give this business a bad rating. WE CANNOT RECOMMEND THE CARMEL VILLAGE INN.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have windows front and rear, while the backside of the first floor rooms in one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Large and clean rooms. Very good location, on Ocean avenue. Very close to restaurants, stores, supermarket and wineries. Very friendly staff.
Parking available. Excellent breakfast including fruits and juices.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Utah
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Let's start with the good, the location was great, couldn't have asked for a nicer location to to walk up and down the shopping area of Carmel.

The lobby area leaves a lot to be desired, and is usually a good way to judge the rooms. I was hesitant to stay here, but thought it has fairly good reviews so it can't be that bad.

It wasn't terrible, but out of the 5 hotels I stayed in on my road trip through California it was the worst.

They updated the rooms and bedding, but the pillow still felt like a brick. The bed was OK.

The room was very clean. The smell of cleaning products was so overpowering I had to open the windows and run the portable fan they have in the room, in January!

Maybe I am just spoiled but it just felt like an old small motel room.

Breakfast doesn't start until 7, which I also found a little annoying. Most places are at least serving coffee by 6:30. Had to leave so never got to try their breakfast.

If I was in Carmel again, I would pay the extra $20-$40 to stay in a nicer hotel.

Room Tip: If I was in Carmel again, I would pay the extra $20-$40 to stay in a nicer hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

While driving highway 1 we have had a very pleasant stay at the Inn.
A really nice hostess made us feel very welcome. The rooms are nice and clean with excellent beds.
Breakfast was serve in a basket at the door because there was no inside breakfast area.
They had made a nice special basket for my sons birthday :)
Although I am more a breakfast at the table person I really loved my stay is this charming village

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed here only for one night after our Big Sur route and before heading to the 17Mille road and up to SF.
The place is ok, pretty clean and with huge comfy beds. The bathroom and the carpets are a bit old... But the price is reasonable and the location is just great (city centre).
We also had breakfast in the inn, was not exceptional, but not bad at all. Many to choose and cozy ambience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor if you're heavy on lugagge, you'll avoid going up the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I booked in here mainly as they were right in the heart of Carmel but I would admit to some trepidation as some of the poor reviews combined with the low rate I was quoted for 2 rooms had me thinking.

I had no reason to worry. The staff at the reception were excellent and the rooms really well decorated. Yes they are small and to some degree a little "worn". They are however very clean and looked very nice. The previous night we stayed at a place that cost me over twice what this night cost for a very spectacular place but for the rates I was charged I am really very happy.

I guess the proof of that is that I would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: We had two connecting rooms on the ground floor (15 and 16 from memory). Great economical option for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Village Inn

Address: Ocean Avenue and Junipero Street, PO Box 5275, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Village Hotel Carmel
Carmel Village Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.