We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Village Inn

Save Saved
You added Carmel Village Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carmel Village Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Ocean Avenue and Junipero Street, PO Box 5275, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 22 hotels in Carmel
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Large and clean rooms. Very good location, on Ocean avenue. Very close to restaurants, stores, supermarket and wineries. Very friendly staff.
Parking available. Excellent breakfast including fruits and juices.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    108
    61
    22
    13
See reviews for
30
145
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, Utah
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Let's start with the good, the location was great, couldn't have asked for a nicer location to to walk up and down the shopping area of Carmel.

The lobby area leaves a lot to be desired, and is usually a good way to judge the rooms. I was hesitant to stay here, but thought it has fairly good reviews so it can't be that bad.

It wasn't terrible, but out of the 5 hotels I stayed in on my road trip through California it was the worst.

They updated the rooms and bedding, but the pillow still felt like a brick. The bed was OK.

The room was very clean. The smell of cleaning products was so overpowering I had to open the windows and run the portable fan they have in the room, in January!

Maybe I am just spoiled but it just felt like an old small motel room.

Breakfast doesn't start until 7, which I also found a little annoying. Most places are at least serving coffee by 6:30. Had to leave so never got to try their breakfast.

If I was in Carmel again, I would pay the extra $20-$40 to stay in a nicer hotel.

Room Tip: If I was in Carmel again, I would pay the extra $20-$40 to stay in a nicer hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

While driving highway 1 we have had a very pleasant stay at the Inn.
A really nice hostess made us feel very welcome. The rooms are nice and clean with excellent beds.
Breakfast was serve in a basket at the door because there was no inside breakfast area.
They had made a nice special basket for my sons birthday :)
Although I am more a breakfast at the table person I really loved my stay is this charming village

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed here only for one night after our Big Sur route and before heading to the 17Mille road and up to SF.
The place is ok, pretty clean and with huge comfy beds. The bathroom and the carpets are a bit old... But the price is reasonable and the location is just great (city centre).
We also had breakfast in the inn, was not exceptional, but not bad at all. Many to choose and cozy ambience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor if you're heavy on lugagge, you'll avoid going up the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I booked in here mainly as they were right in the heart of Carmel but I would admit to some trepidation as some of the poor reviews combined with the low rate I was quoted for 2 rooms had me thinking.

I had no reason to worry. The staff at the reception were excellent and the rooms really well decorated. Yes they are small and to some degree a little "worn". They are however very clean and looked very nice. The previous night we stayed at a place that cost me over twice what this night cost for a very spectacular place but for the rates I was charged I am really very happy.

I guess the proof of that is that I would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: We had two connecting rooms on the ground floor (15 and 16 from memory). Great economical option for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valley village
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The location of the Motel is great .... right in the heart of the Ocean Ave shopping area. Free parking and can walk everywhere, The rooms are really dated ,,,,old beat up furniture & carpets however, still comfortable with a decent bed & flat screen TV. Bathroom was a little updated with a new counter on an old cabinet. We were three couples and we enjoyed our stay, especially for only $79 a night. The breakfast was great. Yummy egg knish, waffles, cereal, hot oatmeal, freshly cut fruit & coffee & orange juice. Really good for a motel breakfast. The staff really needs some coaching in smiling and greeting guests. They were not rude, but lacked hospitality skills.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

For $234/night, the room is not worth it. The furniture are all outdated. The floor carpet is old.

Wrote an email to the manager about an inquiry but never got a response. This hotel is not even listed in the local tourist map.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Village Inn

Address: Ocean Avenue and Junipero Street, PO Box 5275, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel Village Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Carmel Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Village Hotel Carmel
Carmel Village Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.