We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Village Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Village Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Village Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Ocean Avenue and Junipero Street, PO Box 5275, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Perfect location at the edge of Carmel, in walking distance of everything! Clean rooms, slightly dated and motel-style (the people above us clomped around a bit but that could be alleviated by staying on the top floor). Great value as we wanted two beds and got two twins (don't see that much!) which was perfectly adequate (and well-priced). Free included breakfast and parking right out front.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, choose the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    127
    77
    31
    21
See reviews for
35
182
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The people were nice, but this is an extremely average place..location too far to walk to the town or beach and rooms not large or nice. just plain. The service though is quite good.
Other places, closer to town and beach were far nicer and spacious and even cheaper!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Positioned perfectly for a visit to carmel by the sea. This place is cheaper and therefor not the best hotel i've ever stayed in but that's what you get. Don't get me wrong, i loved it. I was right where i wanted to be, walking distance from the beach, shopping, and food. All for a little less than everywhere else. This place has everything you need and nothing you don't. Have fun and enjoy the area!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is a very adequate hotel right at the beginning of the Carmel Village and at a bargin price. The rooms are very dated and the furniture is old, however, the place is very clean. The beds a very comfy and the linens excellent. This is a no frills place that wont set you back. The contentinal breakfast has quiche (so, so) nice slice fruits (mellons, pineapple and mango), all your bread products, blueberry muffins and waffles. There is also cereal, milk, juice and coffee. From upstairs you can see down the village and far off the ocean. This will definetly be the place we come for a bargin to see our daughter and her family. Free wifi too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

There are excellent prices to be had if you shop around and the $79 we ended up paying for this room was an absolute bargain.
Its central the rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, parking's free and it even included breakfast for us both.
Our only suggestion would be to avoid room 7 as it's very close to the stairs and you can hear other guests traipsing up and down

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, California, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Not worth the price on a holiday weekend... Check your windows! One of ours didn't lock and the other didn't even CLOSE! Handle was broken so you could just pull on it to open from outside! Plus for smokers is a nice partially enclosed (see photo showing shade umbrella on this site) patio with chairs and ash trays across from the lobby. And it was clean and comfy, if dated. But did not feel safe. Reported the window on saturday, but on Sunday when we checked out, the desk had not yet called maintenance... Two stars for clean and comfy and for breakfast with hot food.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Village Inn is on the corner of Ocean & Junipero and you can walk anywhere in town. One of the problems with this charming town is the aging hotels. This is an older hotel that could use a major renovation. The rooms could use updating, but I'm sure that we wouldn't have found the rates we enjoyed.
The staff was friendly. Our rooms cleaned as I would expect - and I am a little OCD about the cleanliness of my room. The breakfast served was enough to get you out the door to try some of Carmel's great restaurants. My only suggestion....butter not margarine! The beds were surprisingly comfortable. The towels could have been larger and fluffier, but I've had worse at Carmel hotels.

All in all, I wanted a convenient, clean place to sleep and the Village Inn was that.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and I would think this would be my preference again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carmel Inn & Suites
Carmel Inn & Suites
#23 of 23 in Carmel
3.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#17 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#20 of 23 in Carmel
3.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Village Inn

Address: Ocean Avenue and Junipero Street, PO Box 5275, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Carmel Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Village Hotel Carmel
Carmel Village Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.