We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but Comfortable and Very Clean!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Village Inn

Save Saved
You added Carmel Village Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carmel Village Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Ocean Avenue and Junipero Street, PO Box 5275, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Morro Bay, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Basic but Comfortable and Very Clean!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Location is prime at the entrance of Carmel by the Sea. If you want sleep, ask for an upstairs room (which we did) and we were happy because we could tell the downstairs rooms, being right off the parking lot, might be a little noisy. Small, but very comfortable room. Little sitting area at entrance, comfy and cozy King bed, decent wifi (free) connection, and standard bathroom with small mini fridge. Despite what some reviews state (yes, this is an older hotel, and some of the features/amenities are dated), the rooms are impeccably spotless (except for the in room coffee maker, it was pretty dingy, and wasn't going to risk using it). Breakfast the next morning is decent, as long as you are patient with the crowds (enjoyed having a tray to take it back to the room so the Mrs. could sleep in). Waffles, fresh fruit, cereals, bakery items, and a nice hot egg dish made the day a good start. All in all, a good stay for 1 night, call ahead of time or look at their website for discount deals. Standard King rooms run anywhere between $119 and $149 off season, we got a room for $79, which made it worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs, only two floors of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    108
    61
    23
    13
See reviews for
30
146
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kristinehamn, Sweden
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Friendly staff.
We'd made reservation for one night only and we got a decent clean standard room. Just what we expected. No air conditioner though. Would have been appreciated.
There was a complimentary breakfast put outside your room in the morning in a cooler. Worked out fine for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have stayed at this motel the last five year on our wedding anniversary trip to Carmel. Although it's not fancy and could use some refurbishing, it is clean, the staff is friendly and helpful, you get a good breakfast in the morning. It's reasonably priced for downtown Carmel. And the best thing for us is, it is steps from downtown Carmel, across from Devendorf Park. Once we arrive we never have to get into our car again. Everything is within walking distance. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traverse city, mi
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a poor condition older motel with a much less than pleasent desk staff. Have stayed in many Carmel inns in the past. This was the most worn out by far. In the 3 nites here the desk employees never smiled or spoke unless they had to. In serious need of customer skills. No a/c. or ceiling fan. Got chilly one night and the heater did not work. If you require wifi go somewhere else. I couldn't go more than 15 minutes without getting dumped.
On the plus side it has a good location and the breakfast was very good but would not go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel was used for a quick stopover and we chose to stroll around the town that evening.
The room was clean but very dated. The coffee making facilities were in the bathroom ! The receptionist was very pleasant and answered all our questions politely.
The location was handy for the town centre and, as we booked online, it was reasonable considering where we were.

Room Tip: Our room was close to the office and we heard the workers start early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is an old fashioned motor lodge with exterior corridors. The room was dated, plain, and a little worn, but clean and neat. Breakfast in the lobby - good food and good selection. This is right downtown, so good location. All in all, not a bad place if you're just sleeping there. The price is competitive for the location, but seems high for the facility.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Inn for 1 night during a road trip. The inn is essentially a motel which offers free parking and a good location in Carmel.
The room we stayed in could have benefitted from an update, however it was clean and tidy. The bed was very comfortable and we were able to get a good nights sleep as there were no problems with noise.
The hotel provided a free breakfast which was very good!
The location is what sells this hotel. It was just a few minutes stroll down the road to the shops and restaurants. Be warned though Carmel is quite quiet, we found a few of the restaurants closed. Also it is generally quite expensive.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Village Inn

Address: Ocean Avenue and Junipero Street, PO Box 5275, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel Village Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Carmel Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Village Hotel Carmel
Carmel Village Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.