We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So fascinating to walk in and watch the artist at work” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steven Whyte's Sculpture Studio and Gallery

Steven Whyte's Sculpture Studio and Gallery
Dolores between Fifth and Sixth, Carmel, CA 93921
8316201917
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 96 things to do in Carmel
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Internationally acclaimed figurative sculptor Steven Whyte invites you to witness the creative process in action. The studios serves as both the artist's gallery and working studio, showcasing his powerfully emotive work and offering visitors the opportunity to watch the sculptures take life. Featuring Whyte’s latest Fine Art Bronze Limited Editions, Private and Corporate Commissions, Portrait Busts, and National Monuments. Featured as one of The New York Times 'must visit' destinations, see on CNN and HLN.
Pacifica, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So fascinating to walk in and watch the artist at work”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

If you go, and you definitely should, be sure to bring a treat for Wellington, the resident dog. My teenage kids had fun petting him while I browsed the gallery . Steven Whyte is very talented and it was unique being able to just walk in and watch him at work. We enjoyed spending time in his gallery so much that we purchased a small sculpture of Wellington to bring home with us.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pebble Beach, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Talented sculptor, on-site and full of information. And the dog is cute!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Steven Whyte is usually at his studio, sometimes even working, always ready to discuss one of his works and full of clever anecdotes. The sculptures are evocative and thoughtfully created, each one with a personality of its own. Art claims its rightful home, and one of these creations is likely to claim yours - it's just a matter of choosing.

In a town where galleries often represent many artists, it's nice to visit one where you can discuss the process and the outcome with the artist himself.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Steven is a very talented artist and unlike some, is very approachable. Visitors to his gallery can see him at work and talk with him about his art, which is very unusual, as most artists have salespeople as buffers. Also make sure you visit with Welly, his four-legged salesman.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This artists skill speaks for itself and the staff is friendly and professional. Steven Whyte himself is charming and entertaining in his own right. A beautiful little shop full with artistic treasures!! I was delighted to leave with a piece for my own collection. . I highly recommend you see for yourself. I know I will always remember our lovely trip to California each time I look at the beautiful pieces I purchased.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lions Head, Ont, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hands-on studio to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Both my husband and I are artists in Canada, and when we visited Carmel last year, we wandered into Steven Whyte's studio by chance. What a great experience, to see works in progress and finished works. A real delight for other artists to share. Highly recommend a visit if you are in Carmel!

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steven Whyte's Sculpture Studio and Gallery also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Steven Whyte's Sculpture Studio and Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steven Whyte's Sculpture Studio and Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.