We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the Food Tour in Carmel-by-the-Sea with Me!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Food Tours

Carmel Food Tours
San Carlos St at 9th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921
+1 800-656-0713
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$69*
and up
Ranked #3 of 44 Activities in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Food tours, Sightseeing Tours, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Carmel Food Tours is a walking, tasting and cultural tour of beautiful downtown Carmel-by-the-Sea. Experience the most famous artist colony in California with a leisurely stroll through the heart of Carmel, taste a specially-selected variety of foods and wines from local restaurants and boutique shops, and become acquainted with the unique history and culture of this magical city.
tulsa oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Take the Food Tour in Carmel-by-the-Sea with Me!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Took the food tasting & cultural walking tour in Carmel. The guide was also the owner and she was most knowledgeable and enjoyable to spend time with. I would highly reccommend this 3 hour tour! The walking activity level was easy. The food "tasting" amount varied, depending on the restaurant or store you were visiting- although I would measure the amount of food as light, we did not end the tour hungry. Along with the introduction to various restaurants and food vendors, we were also introduced to a few short cuts/passageways. Made you feel like an insider in the community! I did the tour with a group of women and I must say that although we didn't know each other when we began, the food and wine helped foster fast friendships!
I would say the tour would be most interesting to adults and that singles would feel very comfortable.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staci G, Owner at Carmel Food Tours, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your detailed thoughts. We love to share our passion for Carmel and its terrific culinary jewels and appreciate your insights! ~CFT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    5
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stacy was fantastic. She created an itinerary that gave all if us a taste of Carmel both in history and gastromic surprise. We went back to Casonovas for dinner that evening. Highly recommend this experience. You won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staci G, Owner at Carmel Food Tours, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We love to hear that guests have returned to get a full experience from something they've discovered on the tour - thank you for sharing your positive thoughts and recommendations! ~CFT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you are a tourist (or local) in Carmel, you definitely want to take the Carmel-By-The-Sea Food Tour. My friends and I enjoyed not only tasting delicacies in the restaurants, but also we savored wines, olive oils, cheeses, and chocolates. We will long remember meeting the cordial merchants and being introduced to their quaint shops in this lovely village. Our guide, Stacey, was the best; she provided a most informative, well-paced, memorable adventure. We enjoyed your tour so very much and highly recommend it!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staci G, Owner at Carmel Food Tours, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We endeavor to provide this kind of great experience for all our guests, and are delighted that you took the time to share yours. We hope to see you in Carmel again soon! ~CFT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun food tour with delightful guide!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Deb is delightful and has a real passion for Carmel. She knows lots of people in town and can recommend the best places that the locals frequent. She made the tour very interesting, telling us a little history of the town, taking us through some of the hidden courtyards and showing us shops that taught us about their offerings. We learned about different types of charcuterie meats, about olive oils and vinegars and how Lula chocolates are made. We tasted varieties of cheeses and tasted three wines. We had bites of the specialties in two restaurants.

There were seven stops (two restaurants for seated service and five product shops where we stood during our tasting) and four of them would have offered free tastings of their goods to every customer. The wine would have cost $5. At one restaurant, we were served 12 gnocchi for 8 people to share - a bite and a half each. The other restaurant served two delicious 10" pizzas for 8 people to share. The foods were tasty, but not uniquely representing Carmel or California cuisine. Each of the two seated restaurants did seat at with tables set with cloth napkins and water, so that was positive and welcoming.

I have taken food tours in many different cities, and this was the most expensive and offered the smallest amount of food. For $65, I would expect seated service at four restaurants, with each person served his or her own plate of a specialty of the restaurant. Treat these guests like they are special with a small plate of your specialty dish and they will rave about your tour, your food and your restaurants.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staci G, Owner at Carmel Food Tours, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. As much as we appreciate the feedback here, we always encourage guests to let us know their impression - positive or negative - as it happens, so that we can make the changes necessary to leave them with a 5-star experience. We hope you'll visit again so that you can see first-hand the adjustments we've made since your tour. In the meantime, we deeply appreciate your insights. ~CFT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was a great tour and we were thoroughly surprised. Would do it again the next time I am in Carmel. Great way to see some of the restaurants. Recommend you book on your first day so you know where you want to go back to.

Visited July 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staci G, Owner at Carmel Food Tours, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are thrilled that you enjoyed yourselves (more than you thought!) and that we had the opportunity to meet such fantastic guests. ~CFT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmel Food Tours also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Carmel Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Food Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.