We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, chaming place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Normandy Inn

Save Saved
You added Normandy Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Normandy Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Ocean Ave. between Monte Verde St. and Casanova St., Carmel, CA 93923   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Comfortable, chaming place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2005

We were checked in by a very efficient, but friendly receptionist and received a good price on the room, which was lovely. Very clean, lots of flowery things and wood panelling, including wood shutters over the windows. Breakfast was good quality and plenty of choice. If we ever returned to Carmel, I would definately stay there again. The dog that we went to stroke turned out to be a cat - its a big one!! However, this old moggy just added to the charm of the place. I would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    128
    42
    22
    12
See reviews for
41
195
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2005

We recenty stayed at this Inn and found the rooms to be charming and extremely clean. The location is perfect as you can walk to anything in the Carmel village area. The beach is a short walk down the hill about 10 minutes. We were very pleased with the accomodations overall. However, the breakfast provided was completey inadequate. There were no napkins and most of the food was gone by the time we arrived. There was no attendant on site and we decided to skip what was left and ate somewhere else. If you are hungry skip this buffet. We also found the check in staff extremely helpful but the person who checked us out barely spoke to us. It was an interesting experience? Overall, I would rate this Inn good for location and cleanliness not on it's breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2005

I am proud to write a review for the Normandy Inn. I stayed at The Normandy Inn with my girlfriend a few months back and just LOVED it! The fact of being 3 blocks from one of the BEST beaches (voted best/romantic beach not too long ago) in our great Country coupled with unique setting and EXCELLENT STAFF will have me back again in the future. Our room was very stylish, VERY clean and and exudeed utter class. The atmosphere of both the Hotel and the Staff was very Professional and gave us a very "at home" feel. A very well-runned establishment from top to bottom. Our hats are off to the Management of this lovely Hotel....they DEFINITELY know what they are doing! The Housecleaning Staff was excellent , too. Some of the most thorough and Happy workers we have ever seen. One of Our FAVORITE parts of our stay there was this BEAUTIFUL kitty-kat named "Mr. Taffy"!!!!!! He is the hotel "guard-kitty/celebrity" and is simply a JOY to be around! We understand He is an excellent MOUSER too! He was just TOO COOL!!!!!! We HIGHLY recommend staying at the Normandy Inn.....you'll be glad you did!

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2005

My son and I stayed here for two nights a few years ago. The price was much higher than many other places, but we thought it would be worth it. It really was not worth the rates. The room was very small, clean and nicely decorated. The only "view" out of the windows was the garbage can/dumpster area, and the noisy garbage collection truck came when we had gone back to the room to relax. The location was perfect. But I was disappointed enough that I would not consider staying there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2004

Everyone was very helpful, the room was great, including the rest room. When I needed to find a last minitue manicurest at 5 pm they pulled out the yellow pages and we called around. It was great to be right downtown. My sweetie and I especially loved the cat Mr Taffy. We said hello earlier upon meeting him in the lobby. We are both cat lovers and maybe he knew this as when we returned in the evening he escorted us to our room then came right in like it was his own and laid out looking like a lion. He stayed for an hour and let us know he wanted to leave by going to the door. Thanks for the great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southgate, mi
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2004

My husband was through Carmel before and noticed the Normandy Inn. Based on that, we called and reserved a room from September 15-16th not sure what to expect but hoping for the best. We were not disappointed. We loved it - our room was charming, decorated all in white and blue toile. The hotel is in a great location, a couple block from the shops, about 4 blocks to beach (awesome beach), a couple blocks to the beginning of the 17 mile drive and a few miles from Point Lobos (a great place to spend the better part of the day). The people at the front desk were very helpful, making dinner recommendations and helpful suggestions. We were surprised at the continental breakfast, it was very good. We would go back in a second

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2004

My husband and I just got back from the Normandy Inn (August 28 & 29, 2004) and we loved it. We got there through a hotel service at the last minute and had no idea what it would be like. Our first room was small but really cute and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and nice. The next morning we were supposed to leave for Monterey but we saw some of the rooms with fireplaces and vaulted ceilings on the way to breakfast and thought they were so darling we asked if we could get one. We made the mistake of checking out and going to Monterey, where our hotel (the Spindrift) was supposed to be fabulous. We hated that hotel; although the rooms were very quaint the smell of Fisherman's wharf made us sick and there were a lot of flies and my husband didn't think the rooms were very clean. We called back to the Normandy Inn and although they had already booked all of the vaulted ceiling rooms, they gave us a suite (2 small rooms, kitchenette) for the same price. The room was very cute with a bigger bath than the first room. The rooms in the 100's are the cutest and most romantic though and I would try and get one. The staff were all very nice (especially Dave at the front desk)and did as much as they could to accommodate us. We loved the cat, Mr. Taffy, and took pictures of him home with us to show to the 4 little kids we left there, while having a romantic, fabulous time at the Normandy Inn.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Normandy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Inn

Address: Ocean Ave. between Monte Verde St. and Casanova St., Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Normandy Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Normandy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Carmel
Normandy Inn Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Normandy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.